Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to search

Fulford Place (Brockville)

Fulford Place, Brockville (exterior)

287 King Street East, Brockville
Telephone: 613-498-3003
Email: fulford@heritagetrust.on.ca

Visit the new Fulford Place website

Sip tea on the sweeping veranda of this magnificent Edwardian mansion overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River. Experience the baronial feel of the Honduras mahogany ceilings and panelled walls in the dining room, library and grand hall. Marvel at the original tapestries, paintings and furnishings that made Fulford Place an ideal residence in which to entertain royalty and prime ministers.

Senator George Taylor Fulford made millions of dollars from "Pink Pills for Pale People" – a patent medicine he manufactured in Brockville and sold around the world. Fulford recognized the commercial potential of the readership developed by mass-circulation newspapers and built his business on saturation print advertising. He constructed Fulford Place, a 20,000-square-foot Edwardian mansion between 1899 and 1901. The original grounds were designed by Frederick Olmsted of the Olmsted landscaping firm, which also designed Central Park in New York City. Restoration of the Fulford gardens was one of the Ontario Heritage Trust's most exciting heritage garden conservancy projects. The restoration included the Italianate-style gardens, an elaborate triton fountain, statuary, stone walls and gates. Through generous donations from a number of individuals and organizations, the Trust restored the Italianate Garden, a key component of this nationally significant historic landscape.

Original tapestries, paintings, statuary and ceramics collected on the Fulfords' world travels are on display throughout the period rooms and are featured in special exhibits. The grand style of the Beaux Art house was ideally suited to the Fulfords, as they entertained Canadian Prime Ministers, British princes and the neighbouring well-to-do whose grand "cottages" lined the St. Lawrence River.

In 1987, George T. Fulford, the son of Senator Fulford, donated Fulford Place to the Ontario Heritage Trust. The contents of the mansion were later donated by his widow Jutta Fulford and his son George Fulford III. The Trust undertook an extensive restoration of the site with funds from the provincial government and opened it to the public as a house museum in June 1993. Seasonal exhibits in the gallery feature exotic works collected by the Fulfords on their world travels.

The Friends of Fulford Place Association, an incorporated volunteer body, assists the Trust in the operation and public interpretation of this National Historic Site. The Friends lead tours of the house and grounds, conduct research, create interpretive displays and raise funds for restoration and interpretive projects. The Trust's work at Fulford Place provides an example of how partnerships between public heritage organizations and local groups can work to conserve and promote a community's heritage.


See the provincial plaque commemorating Senator George Taylor Fulford ...

Fulford Place is owned and operated year-round by the Ontario Heritage Trust. Please call 613-498-3003 or email fulford@heritagetrust.on.ca for information about:

  • Renting our beautiful facilities for a meeting or reception
  • Our popular 45-minute guided tours of the mansion
  • Seasonal exhibits featuring the extensive collection
  • Public programs
  • Special Events and Christmas programs
  • Summer Ghost walks – Friday evenings in 2012 from July 13 to September 7; walks depart from Fulford Place at 8:30 p.m.
  • Summer Tearoom – Tuesday to Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Reservations recommended. Call 613-498-3003.

Museum hours

See the Fulford Place website for complete details.

Off-season hours

See the Fulford Place website for complete details.

Admission to Fulford Place

  • Adults: $5 + HST
  • Students: $4 + HST
  • Seniors: $4 + HST
  • Families (two adults and two children/students): $14 + HST
  • Children (6 and under): Free
  • Passport – combined admission to Homewood Museum: $6 + HST

Gift shop

When planning your visit to Fulford Place, be sure to leave some time to browse the Gift Shop. This newly opened Gift Shop features a wide variety of items with an Edwardian flare. All-occasion cards, beautiful writing paper, china, old-fashioned toys and books are just some of the items that await your buying pleasure. The hours of operation of the store correspond to those of the Museum.

Food for Friends
A collection of cherished recipes published by The Friends of Fulford Place

This unique, handwritten cookbook includes favourite recipes from members of The Friends of Fulford Place Association. From Pear Zucchini Bread and Bacon and Egg Muffins to Salmon and Leek Pie and Sticky Chicken, each recipe has been tested and will enhance your table. The cookbook also features recipes from Sarah Read – a saucier at Fulford Place in the 1960s – and an intriguing account of Fulford Place chef John Rayburn’s prepared feast in 1927 for Edward VIII (as Prince of Wales). Makes the perfect holiday gift!

Price: $15.95 plus HST, shipping and handling

For more information about Fulford Place, The Friends of Fulford Place Association or to purchase a copy of this cookbook, contact:

Pamela Brooks
Coordinator, Eastern Ontario Museum Sites
Ontario Heritage Trust
Fulford Place
287 King Street East
Brockville, Ontario
Telephone: 613-498-3003
Fax: 613-498-1050
Email: fulford@heritagetrust.on.ca
Website: www.heritagetrust.on.ca/fulfordplace

This is learning ... old-school

This is learning ... old-school

Visit the Enoch Turner Schoolhouse and see how education happened in an 1848 one-room schoolhouse in downtown Toronto
See what’s in our collections

See what’s in our collections

Explore the collection at Fulford Place
Heritage Matters
Heritage Matters
Explore the Trust's signature magazine online!