



An agency of the Government of Ontario

Un organisme du gouvernement de l'Ontario

This document was retrieved from the Ontario Heritage Act Register, which is accessible through the website of the Ontario Heritage Trust at **www.heritagetrust.on.ca.** 

Ce document est tiré du registre aux fins de la *Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario*, accessible à partir du site Web de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien sur **www.heritagetrust.on.ca**.

IN THE MATTER OF THE ONTARIO HERITAGE ACT, R.S.O. 1980, CHAPTER 337

AND IN THE MATTER OF THE LANDS AND PREMISES KNOWN MUNICIPALLY AS 276 DIVISION STREET IN THE TOWN OF COBOURG IN THE PROVINCE OF ONTARIO.

## NOTICE OF INTENTION TO DESIGNATE

To:

Ontario Heritage Foundation, 77 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario. M7A 2R9.

TAKE NOTICE that the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Cobourg on the 13th day of June, 1983 established its intention to designate the land and building known municipally as 276 Division Street as a property of architectural and historical value or interest under part IV of The Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1980, Chapter 337.

STATEMENT OF REASONS FOR THE PROPOSED DESIGNATION::

"Trinity United (Wesleyan Methodist) Church located at 276 Division Street is recommended for designation for the following architectural and historical reasons: Erected in 1852 by Charles Pomeroy of Cobourg-builder and William G. Storms of Cumberland and Storms, Toronto-architect. Alterations and additions of 1901 were designed by Powers and Son, Belleville Architects, oak woodwork by Henderson Bros., Cobourg, Plastering by George Bond, Cobourg, Masonary by Jex & Co., Cobourg, Painting and Glazing by Dell and Throop of Cobourg.

This landmark of Cobourg remains in a much unaltered state from 1901 as it is the only church in Cobourg retaining its original spire (1852).

There are many stained glass windows dedicated to the memory of prominent citizens of Cobourg:

"The Sermon on the Mount" (Chancel) - Rev. Dr. Samuel S. Nelles, Chancellor of Victoria College and Professors William Kingston and John Wilson.(1901)

"The Good Samaritan" (South Transcept) - James Crossen, owner and operator of Crossen Car Works. (1901)

"The Good Shepherd" (North Transcept) - Dr. John Beatty and Eleanor Armstrong professor of Victoria College and former mayor of Cobourg. (1901)

"Christ the Light of the World" - D. H. Minaker and Margaret Jane Pringle. (1944)

"Christ and the Children" - originally erected in 1835 in the Congregational Church on King Street in memory of Mrs. William Hayden, wife of the first clergyman. Moved to Trinity United Church in 1944 and dedicated in memory of their grandson William Kerr and his wife Agnes Harcourt.

"Follow Me" - Dr. William W. Wade. (1978)

"Christ Enters Jerusalem" - John G. McNab. (1978)

"Christ's Nativity" - Constance Jamieson and Muriel Hayden. (1978)

"Christ's Nativity" - John Dumble Hayden and Linda Barbara Hayden. (1952)

"Blessing of Christ in the Temple - Helena Cooper and Alda Stinson.(1978)

"Young Jesus in the Temple" - Dr. William John Garland and Sarrah Tomblin Garland.(1966)

"Insignia of Epworth League" (over entrance and matching windows on either side) A young peoples group (circa 1870)

Two plaques - one in memory of the Rev. Professor Alfred H. Reynar and the other of Chancellor Nathanael Burwash and Professor Abram Bain. (1924)

Historically Trinity United (Wesleyan Methodist) Church began in 1824, one of its earliest pastors being the Rev. Egerton Ryerson, the founder of the Upper Canada Academy (later Victoria College) and a prominent Upper Canada Clergyman and educator. Known as "The College Church" for the professors and students made it their Church-home until the old college moved to Toronto in 1892 and became Victoria University. This church has occupied a large part of Cobourg's history and still remains a community oriented place."

Notice of objection to the proposed designation, together with a statement of the reasons for the objection and all relevant facts may be served on the Chief Administrative Officer of the Town of Cobourg before the 8th day of August, 1983.

Dated at the Town of Cobourg this 8th day of July, 1983.

B. W. Baxter, Chief Administrative Officer.