Menu

Discover the story behind every door | Doors Open Ontario kicks off April 23

TORONTO – From April to October, the Ontario Heritage Trust invites you to explore Ontario’s heritage treasures during Doors Open Ontario 2016. The season kicks off April 23 in Guelph and runs on weekends throughout the summer and fall with events in 43 communities across the province.

Satisfy your curiosity and get behind normally closed doors to experience intriguing interiors, where you will be inspired by rare and exceptional materials, craftsmanship and design. From historical houses to modern marvels of construction, Doors Open Ontario has something for everyone!

Doors Open Ontario 2016 focuses on the province’s rich legacy of medical science and innovation. The number of innovations in medical science, procedures and technology conceived in Ontario is extensive and their stories fascinating. Join us on a journey of discovery. Featured sites include hospitals, medical schools and laboratories that showcase Ontario’s and Canada’s achievements in medicine. Learn more about ingenious innovators and their remarkable discoveries while you uncover the places that made medical history. Many of the participating sites offer special activities, such as tours, exhibitions and demonstrations – all free of charge.

For detailed event information and interactive tools to help you plan your Doors Open Ontario experience, visit www.doorsopenontario.on.ca.

Doors Open Ontario is a program of the Ontario Heritage Trust, with funding support from the Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund and the Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation.

Quotes

“For 15 years, the Ontario Heritage Trust and its partners have provided opportunities for Ontarians to learn about their rich history and diverse cultures by experiencing our heritage at Doors Open Ontario events. This year, we are shedding light on places associated with medical science and innovation. Hospitals, universities, laboratories, medical schools and museums are participating in Doors Open Ontario and telling the story that medicine has played in our lives. We invite you to explore these and other engaging aspects of our history, identity and cultural heritage at events across the province!” – Thomas H.B. Symons, Chair, Ontario Heritage Trust

“Since it began, Doors Open Ontario has allowed millions of people to glimpse into some of our province’s most fascinating cultural sites. Not only does the program boost local economies, but it also raises awareness of and interest in heritage conservation. I encourage Ontarians and visitors to get out and discover the unique story and experience waiting behind every door.” − Michael Coteau, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Quick facts

  • Doors Open Ontario 2016 features hundreds of communities participating in 43 events across the province.
  • Nine out of 10 Ontarians live in a community that has hosted a Doors Open Ontario event.
  • Since its inception, Doors Open Ontario has attracted 6.2 million visitors to explore over 15,000 amazing sites.
  • Visitors to Doors Open Ontario events have spent over $53 million to support local economies.

Learn more

Find out more about Doors Open Ontario 2016 and participating communities at www.doorsopenontario.on.ca.

Contact

For more information about Doors Open Ontario 2016, contact Kimberly Murphy at 416-325-5032 or kimberly.murphy@heritagetrust.on.ca

The Trust is an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario’s heritage.

- 30 –

Menu

Découvrez ce qui se cache derrière chaque porte | Lancement de Portes ouvertes Ontario le 23 avril

TORONTO – D’avril à octobre, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien vous invite à profiter de l’édition 2016 de Portes ouvertes Ontario pour partir à la découverte des joyaux du patrimoine de la province. La saison sera lancée le 23 avril à Guelph et se poursuivra les fins de semaine, tout au long de l’été et de l’automne, dans 43 collectivités partout en Ontario.

Saisissez l’occasion de satisfaire votre curiosité et de fureter dans les coulisses de lieux et intérieurs captivants, normalement fermés, et d’y admirer des styles exceptionnels ainsi que des matériaux et savoir-faire rares. Portes ouvertes Ontario offre la possibilité de franchir le seuil d’un éventail de bâtiments, des maisons historiques aux merveilles contemporaines de la construction.

L’édition 2016 de Portes ouvertes Ontario est axée sur le riche héritage de la province dans les domaines des sciences médicales et de l’innovation. Nombreuses sont les innovations en sciences, technologies et procédés médicaux en Ontario, et le récit de chacune est passionnant. Un parcours de découverte unique est proposé cette année. Parmi les lieux en vedette figurent des hôpitaux, des écoles de médecine et des laboratoires qui mettent en valeur les réalisations de l’Ontario et du Canada en médecine. Apprenez-en davantage au sujet de grands esprits novateurs et de leurs découvertes ingénieuses, alors que se révèleront à vos yeux des lieux remarquables qui ont jalonné l’histoire médicale. Bon nombre des sites participants offrent des activités spéciales, telles des visites guidées, des expositions et des démonstrations – le tout gratuitement.

Pour obtenir des précisions sur les événements et des outils interactifs pour mieux planifier votre expérience de Portes ouvertes Ontario, consultez www.doorsopenontario.on.ca/Accueil.aspx

Portes ouvertes Ontario est un programme de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien bénéficiant d’un financement du Fonds pour les manifestations culturelles de l’Ontario et de la Société du Partenariat ontarien de marketing touristique.

Citations

« Depuis 15 ans, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien et ses partenaires ont offert aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens différentes occasions d’en apprendre davantage sur leur riche histoire et diverses cultures en partant à la découverte de nos lieux patrimoniaux grâce à Portes ouvertes Ontario. Cette année, nous attirons l’attention sur des lieux associés aux sciences médicales et à l’innovation. Des hôpitaux, des universités, des laboratoires, des écoles de médecine et des musées participent à Portes ouvertes Ontario et racontent l’histoire des contributions de la médecine dans nos vies. Nous vous invitons à explorer ce volet et d’autres aspects fascinants de notre patrimoine historique, identitaire et culturel dans divers événements tenus dans l’ensemble de la province. » – Thomas H.B. Symons, président, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien

« Depuis son lancement, Portes ouvertes Ontario a permis à des millions de personnes d’avoir un aperçu de quelques-uns des sites culturels parmi les plus fascinants de notre province. Outre le coup de pouce donné aux économies locales, ce programme suscite l’intérêt à l’égard de la conservation du patrimoine et sensibilise à son importance. J’encourage les Ontariennes et Ontariens ainsi que nos visiteurs à faire le détour, à célébrer l’histoire et vivre une expérience unique, et à découvrir ce qui se cache derrière chaque porte. » − Michael Coteau, ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport

Faits en bref

  • Portes ouvertes Ontario 2016 met en valeur des centaines de collectivités participant à 43 groupes d’événements organisés dans toute la province.
  • Neuf Ontariennes et Ontariens sur dix vivent dans une collectivité qui a organisé un événement dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Ontario.
  • Depuis son lancement, Portes ouvertes Ontario a attiré 6,2 millions de visiteurs curieux d’explorer plus de 15 000 lieux extraordinaires.
  • Les visiteurs ont dépensé plus de 53 millions de dollars pour soutenir les économies locales.

Pour en savoir davantage

Renseignez-vous sur Portes ouvertes Ontario 2016 et les collectivités participantes à www.doorsopenontario.on.ca.

Personne-ressource

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Portes ouvertes Ontario 2016, veuillez vous adresser à Kimberly Murphy en composant le 416-325-3052 ou en envoyant un courriel à kimberly.murphy@heritagetrust.on.ca

La Fiducie est un organisme du gouvernement de l'Ontario ayant pour mission d'identifier, de préserver, de protéger et de promouvoir le patrimoine ontarien.

– 30 –