Menu

The following were the artists in residence in 2015:

Hussein Janmohamed – singer, composer and conductor from Coquitlam, British Columbia


Hussein Janmohamed is a composer, conductor and singer who is passionate about choral music.  He is the first Doris McCarthy Artist in Residence at Fool's Paradise, where he will compose choral music exploring sonic intersections of the Muslim world in a contemporary Canada. Hussein is a South Asian Ismaili Muslim born in Kenya, raised in Alberta and nurtured in British Columbia. Throughout his life, Hussein found inspiration in choral music and congregational singing in the prayer hall to connect with the spirit and to transform the negativity of racism and discrimination into a positive life force. Group singing became the bridge for him to build relations with others and simultaneously to reconcile his plural Canadian and Muslim identities. Hussein is dedicated through choral composition, performance and education to give people of all backgrounds a chance to sing and make music together that enriches Canadian society through celebration of our cultural diversity. He currently sings with the Elmer Iseler Singers as the 2014-15 James T. Chestnutt Choral Scholar. For more information, visit www.husseinjanmohamed.com.


Todd Stewart – printmaker from Montreal, Quebec


Todd Stewart is an artist working primarily in illustration and printmaking. Born in Regina, Saskatchewan and now living in Montreal, Stewart creates silkscreened pieces that consciously allow for open interpretation and multiple perspectives. They reflect a search for meaning in both familiar and unfamiliar landscapes. His pieces are built by exposing the control and precision of illustration to the unpredictability and chance inherent to the printmaking process. He has exhibited his works in private and public spaces across Canada.


Kate Wilson – painter from Toronto, Ontario


Kate Wilson is a Toronto-based visual artist whose practice includes site-specific wall drawing projects and digital painting. Wilson has been exhibited nationally and internationally, and is a recipient of awards from the Toronto Arts Council, Ontario Arts Council and the Canada Council for the Arts, including the Canada Council International Residencies, Paris. Wilson’s work can be found in private, corporate and public gallery collections, including the Canada Council Art Bank, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Tom Thomson Art Gallery, Museum London, Saint Mary’s University Art Gallery and the BMO Financial Group. Wilson is represented by General Hardware Contemporary, Toronto. For more information, visit www.katewilsonprojects.com.


Lydia Adams – choral musician and composer from Caledon East, Ontario


Lydia Adams has dedicated her career to the growth of Canadian choral music. She is the Artistic Director of both the Elmer Iseler Singers and the Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto, national leaders in commissioning, premièring, performing and recording Canadian choral works. A native of Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Adams received her musical education at Mount Allison University, New Brunswick, the Royal College of Music and the National Opera Studio, London, England. She has conducted choral works of many Canadian composers and has toured extensively and guest conducted throughout Canada and the United States. Recently, she conducted a tour of the world’s first Cree opera, Pimooteewin: The Journey, by Tomson Highway and Melissa Hui. Her own compositions are performed worldwide. In June 2009, Adams won the prestigious Ontario Premier’s Finalist Award for Excellence in the Arts, recognizing her outstanding achievement and contribution to arts and culture. She has also been honoured by the City of Scarborough, the Women’s International Network and the Ontario Choral Federation. For her work as an Artist in Residence at Doris McCarthy’s home, Lydia will be working on a new choral work inspired by members of the Mount Allison Community who were lost in the First World War. (Photo: Pierre Maravel)


Jan Coates – children’s author from Wolfville, Nova Scotia


Jan Coates lives and writes in her now-empty nest in Wolfville, Nova Scotia with her husband and their Golden Irish "puppy." Coates has been writing for young readers since 2000 and has written many books since then, including her young adult novel, A Hare in the Elephant's Trunk, which was a Governor General's Literary Award finalist in 2011. When she's not at her laptop or thinking about her characters, Coates enjoys playing badminton, going to the gym, spending time at the cottage and thrift-store shopping. While retreating to Fool's Paradise, she'll spend time writing a middle-grade novel set partially during the original settlement of Lunenburg, Nova Scotia in 1753. For more information, visit www.jancoates.ca.


Gerald Hill – writer/poet from Regina, Saskatchewan


Two-time winner of the Saskatchewan Book Award for Poetry, and winner of second place for Poetry in the 2011 CBC Literary Awards, Gerald Hill will publish his 6th collection, Hillsdale Book, in 2015 with NeWest Press. Sub-sets of that book appeared in 2012 as Hillsdale, a Map, produced with designer Jared Carlson, and Streetpieces, a chapbook produced by David Zieroth at The Alfred Gustav Press in Vancouver. Active for many years as both organizer of and participant in workshops and readings, conferences and courses, Hill has just retired from his career teaching English and Creative Writing at Luther College at the University of Regina. For more information, visit www.geraldhill.ca.

Menu

Les artistes suivants ont été en résidence en 2015 :

Hussein Janmohamed – chanteur, compositeur et chef de chœur de Coquitlam (Colombie-Britannique)


Compositeur, chef de chœur et chanteur passionné de musique chorale, Hussein Janmohamed est le premier artiste en résidence Doris McCarthy au « Paradis d'une folle » (Fool's Paradise). Il y composera de la musique chorale en explorant les carrefours acoustiques qu'offre le monde musulman dans le Canada d'aujourd'hui. Musulman ismaélien d'Asie du Sud, Hussein est né au Kenya et a grandi en Alberta avant de s'installer en Colombie-Britannique. Tout au long de sa vie, la musique chorale et le chant religieux de la salle de prière lui ont apporté un souffle qui lui permet d'être en connexion avec l'esprit et de transformer la négativité du racisme et de la discrimination en une force de vie positive. Le chant en groupe est devenu un pont grâce auquel il a pu tisser des liens avec d'autres tout en réconciliant son identité canadienne et son identité musulmane. La composition, l'interprétation et la formation en musique chorale sont les instruments avec lesquels Hussein est déterminé à donner aux personnes de tous horizons l'occasion de se réunir pour chanter et créer de la musique qui enrichit la société canadienne en célébrant sa diversité culturelle. Hussein chante actuellement au sein de l'ensemble vocal Elmer Iseler Singers dans le cadre de la bourse d'études en chant choral du programme James T. Chestnutt, dont il est le récipiendaire pour l'année 2014-2015. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous rendre sur www.husseinjanmohamed.com (en anglais seulement).


Todd Stewart – graveur de Montréal (Québec)


Todd Stewart est un artiste spécialisé en illustration et en gravure d’art. Il est né à Regina, Saskatchewan, et habite désormais Montréal. Ses sérigraphies sont délibérément conçues pour permettre de multiples perspectives et interprétations. Elles reflètent la quête de sens dans des paysages tant familiers qu’inconnus. Les œuvres de Todd Stewart confrontent la maîtrise et la précision de l’illustration au caractère imprévisible et hasardeux du processus de gravure. Todd Stewart expose dans des espaces publics et privés au Canada.


Kate Wilson – peintre de Toronto (Ontario)


Kate Wilson est une visualiste torontoise dont les projets vont du dessin mural spécialement inspiré par le site à la peinture numérique. Exposée au Canada et dans le monde entier, l’artiste a été distinguée par le Toronto Arts Council, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et le Conseil des arts du Canada, notamment dans le cadre de son programme de résidences internationales à Paris. Les œuvres de Kate Wilson peuvent être admirées dans des galeries privées comme publiques et viennent également enrichir diverses collections d’œuvres d’art d’entreprise. Parmi les dépositaires figurent notamment la Banque d’œuvres d’art du Conseil des arts du Canada, l’Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, la Tom Thomson Memorial Art Gallery, Museum London, la Saint Mary’s University Art Gallery et BMO Groupe financier. Kate Wilson est représentée par General Hardware Contemporary, Toronto.


Lydia Adams – musicienne et compositrice en musique chorale de Caledon East (Ontario)


Durant toute sa carrière, Lydia Adams s’est consacrée à la promotion de la musique chorale. Elle est la conseillère artistique des Elmer Iseler Singers et de l’Amadeus Choir of Greater Toronto, deux leaders nationaux en matière de commande, de représentation, d’exécution et d’enregistrement d’œuvres chorales canadiennes. Néo-Écossaise née à Glace Bay, Lydia Adams étudie la musique à l’Université Mount Allison, au Nouveau-Brunswick, avant de se rendre à Londres (Angleterre) où elle fréquente le Royal College of Music et le National Opera Studio. Par la suite, elle collaborera avec de nombreux compositeurs canadiens et officiera sur une multitude de tournées, dirigeant même des chœurs au Canada et aux États-Unis en qualité de chef invitée. Dernièrement, elle a dirigé les chœurs du premier opéra en cri du monde : Pimooteewin (Le Voyage) de Tomson Highway et Melissa Hui. Ses propres compositions sont jouées à travers le monde. En juin 2009, Lydia Adams a remporté le prestigieux Prix du premier ministre pour l’excellence artistique de l’Ontario en hommage à ses réalisations exceptionnelles et en remerciement de sa contribution aux arts et à la culture. Elle a également été honorée par la ville de Scarborough, par le Women’s International Network et par Choirs Ontario. Dans le cadre du Centre de résidence artistique Doris McCarthy, Lydia Adams travaillera sur une nouvelle œuvre chorale inspirée par les membres de la collectivité de Mount Allison disparus pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. (Photo : Pierre Maravel)


Jan Coates – auteure de livres pour enfants de Wolfville (Nouvelle-Écosse)


C’est à Wolfville en Nouvelle-Écosse que Jan Coates écrit et habite désormais seule avec son époux et leur chiot Golden Irish. Jan Coates écrit pour les jeunes lecteurs depuis l’an 2000. Depuis, elle a publié de nombreux ouvrages dont un roman pour les adolescents, « A Hare in the Elephant's Trunk », qui a été finaliste du Prix littéraire du gouverneur général en 2011. Lorsqu’elle n’est pas en train de réfléchir aux personnages de ses romans ou d’écrire, Jan Coates aime jouer au badminton, faire de la gymnastique, passer du temps dans sa maison ou bien encore faire du magasinage dans des magasins d’aubaines. Au « Paradis d’une folle », elle se concentrera sur l’écriture d’un roman destiné aux enfants de 10 à 13 ans, dont l’intrigue se déroulera notamment à l’époque de la colonisation de Lunenburg, Nouvelle- Écosse, en 1753. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous rendre sur www.jancoates.ca (en anglais seulement).


Gerald Hill – écrivain/poète de Regina (Saskatchewan)


Lauréat à deux reprises du prix de poésie de la Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan Book Award for Poetry), Gerald Hill a également été classé à la deuxième place des Prix littéraires Radio-Canada 2011 dans la catégorie poésie. Sa sixième collection, intitulée Hillsdale Book, sera publiée en 2015 chez NeWest Press. Des extraits de cet ouvrage ont été utilisés en 2012 dans l'élaboration de la carte Hillsdale, a Map, en collaboration avec le concepteur Jared Carlson, ainsi que dans Streetpieces, livre de colportage produit par David Zieroth chez The Alfred Gustav Press à Vancouver. Gerald organise et participe à des ateliers, à des récitations, à des conférences et à des cours depuis de nombreuses années. Professeur d'anglais et de création littéraire au Luther College de l'Université de Regina, il vient de prendre sa retraite. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous rendre sur www.geraldhill.ca (en anglais seulement).