Menu

Adjudication process and criteria

The Trust has established an impartial expert advisory panel to assist and support the review, adjudication and selection of suitable residency candidates. The composition of the panel reflects the range of eligible artistic disciplines. Adjudicators review applications reflecting the artistic discipline(s) and expertise they represent as members of the advisory panel. Panel members include appointed representatives from: the Canadian Society of Painters in Water Colour; the Doris McCarthy Gallery (University of Toronto Scarborough); OCAD U; the Ontario Society of Artists; The Royal Conservatory of Music; and The Writers’ Union of Canada. Completed application forms (including references), curriculum vitae and portfolio are used to assess the suitability of candidates for a residency. This material is evaluated and ranked objectively and consistently by the advisory panel using assessment criteria. Here is an outline of the assessment process:

  • applications are screened by the Trust for eligibility and completeness
  • applicants will be notified by the Trust via email confirming receipt and completeness of the application
  • eligible and complete applications are reviewed and evaluated by the advisory panel
  • recommendations from the advisory panel are provided to the Trust
  • final decisions are made by the Trust
  • results of the adjudication are shared with the successful candidates by the Trust
  • all scheduling is coordinated by the Trust

Criteria

The assessment process encompasses a competitive evaluation of the applications, portfolio submissions, a review of the curriculum vitae and references, and the formal adjudication by the advisory panel. Applications are assessed against the following criteria:

  • Artistic merit: This component focuses on the artistic quality and originality, as demonstrated by the curriculum vitae and portfolio submission. It is also a reflection of the applicant’s recognition by his/her peers.
  • Impact: This component focuses on the potential contribution of the applicant’s proposed project and the outcomes on the artistic community, general public and the applicant himself/herself. This criterion also reflects the potential contributions to the art form, as well as the nature and quality of the public engagement.
  • Viability: This component focuses on the practicality of the project, the workplan, methodology, deliverables, timeline, resources and the demonstrated track record of the applicant.
  • Consistency with program vision: This component assesses how effectively and compatibly the proposed project supports and aligns with the Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence vision.
  • Mentorship: Each resident artist is required to provide a mentorship component in his/her proposal to support the development of an emerging artist or artists (see below).

Mentorship component

As part of the residency, artists are required to provide a mentorship opportunity to support the development of an emerging artist or artists. The mentorship opportunity should be suited to the mentor’s particular skillset and experience. It could include a workshop, lecture, critique, studio visit, coaching, etc. The mentorship can occur before, during or slightly after the residency and can take place in the artist’s home community or in the GTA (the Trust can help facilitate a relationship with a local school or arts program). Mentees can be individual emerging professional artists or students. As part of the application process, artists are asked to provide a mentorship plan that outlines the mentorship's form, how the mentee(s) will be chosen, when/where the mentorship will occur and a few key learning outcomes. Following the mentorship, the artist will be asked to provide the Trust with a brief summary of the experience.

Menu

Processus et critères de sélection

La Fiducie a constitué un comité consultatif d'experts impartiaux pour faciliter l'examen, le processus de sélection et la sélection de candidats pertinents au placement en résidence. La composition du comité reflète la variété des disciplines artistiques admissibles. Les évaluateurs examinent les demandes relevant de la ou des discipline(s) artistique(s) et du domaine d'expertise qu'ils représentent en qualité de membres du comité consultative. Les membres du comité comprennent des représentants nommés de la Société canadienne des peintres en aquarelle, de la galerie Doris McCarthy (Université de Toronto à Scarborough), de l'Université de l'EADO, de l'Ontario Society of Artists, du Conservatoire royal de musique et de la Writers’ Union of Canada. Les formulaires de demande dûment remplis (y compris les références), le curriculum vitae et le dossier de présentation sont utilisés pour évaluer la pertinence des candidats au placement en résidence. Ces éléments matériels sont évalués et classés par le comité consultatif avec objectivité et cohérence selon les critères d'évaluation. Voici les grandes lignes du processus d'évaluation :

  • Les demandes sont inspectées par la Fiducie pour voir si elles sont admissibles et complètes.
  • La Fiducie avise les candidats par courriel confirmant que la demande lui est parvenue et qu'elle est complète.
  • Les demandes admissibles et complètes sont examinées et évaluées par le comité consultatif.
  • Les recommandations du comité consultatif sont transmises à la Fiducie.
  • Les décisions finales sont prises par la Fiducie.
  • Les résultats du processus de sélection sont communiqués aux candidats retenus par la Fiducie.
  • L'ensemble du calendrier est coordonné par la Fiducie.

Critères

Le processus d'évaluation englobe l'évaluation concurrentielle des demandes et des dossiers de présentation, l'examen du curriculum vitae et des références, et l'évaluation formelle par le comité consultative. Chacun des critères énoncés ci-dessous a le même poids.

  • Valeur artistique : ce critère se focalise sur la qualité artistique et l'originalité, comme en témoignent le curriculum vitae et le dossier de présentation. Il reflète également la reconnaissance du candidat ou de la candidate par ses pairs.
  • Retombées : ce critère se focalise sur l'apport éventuel du projet proposé par le candidat ou la candidate et sur les résultats pour la communauté artistique, le grand public et le candidat ou la candidate. Il reflète également les apports éventuels à la forme d'art, de même que la nature et la qualité de l'intéressement du public.
  • Viabilité : ce critère se focalise sur l'aspect pratique du projet, le plan de travail, la méthodologie, les livrables, le calendrier, les ressources et les antécédents avérés du candidat ou de la candidate.
  • Cohérence avec la vision du programme : ce critère évalue l'efficacité et la compatibilité du projet proposé pour ce qui est d'appuyer et de respecter la vision du Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy.
  • Mentorat : Chaque artiste en résidence doit inclure une composante de mentorat dans sa proposition afin de favoriser le développement d’un ou plusieurs artistes émergents (voir la description ci-dissous).

Composante de mentorat

Dans le cadre de la résidence, les artistes doivent offrir une occasion de mentorat à un ou plusieurs artistes émergents. Le mentorat doit tenir compte des aptitudes et de l’expérience particulières du mentor. Il peut s’agir d’un atelier, d'un exposé, d’une critique, de la visite du studio, d’encadrement, etc. Le mentorat peut se produire avant, pendant ou juste après la résidence et peut avoir lieu dans la collectivité d'origine de l’artiste ou dans la RGT (La Fiducie peut aider à faciliter l’établissement d’une relation avec une école ou un programme artistique local). Les mentorés peuvent être des artistes professionnels émergents ou des étudiants. Dans le cadre du processus de demande, les artistes doivent fournir un plan de mentorat qui explique la forme du mentorat, comment le ou les mentorés seront choisis, quand et où le mentorat aura lieu et quelques résultats d’apprentissage clés. Après le stage de mentorat, on demandera à l’artiste de fournir à la Fiducie un bref sommaire de l’expérience.