Menu

Program details

Residency applications limited to individuals

The house is a small, rustic cottage. While it has ample studio and workshop space, the house was built for one individual to inhabit. For this reason, only one person will be able to live and work at the Centre at any given time. The modest house cannot accommodate groups, couples or families. Family, colleagues and small groups of friends, however, are welcome to visit.

Eligible creative disciplines

It was McCarthy’s wish that her home be made available as a retreat for visual artists, musicians, writers or other professional artists. Eligible disciplines can include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • illustration
  • music composition
  • painting
  • performance art
  • photography
  • playwriting
  • poetry
  • printing
  • sculpture/installation
  • textile arts
  • writing

Professional artists

Applicants must be professional artists. A professional artist is defined as someone who: has developed skills through training and/or practice; is recognized by artists working in the same artistic tradition; has a history of public presentation or publication; or seeks payment for his/her work and actively practises his/her art. Short breaks in artistic work history are allowed. This definition is derived from the Ontario Arts Council.

Duration of residencies

The duration of each residency may vary from one to six months. Specific time frames will be confirmed with the successful candidate prior to commencement of his/her residency. A residency can start at any time during the year. There is no black-out period. Note that the Trust will require some time between residencies so that the site can be inspected and cleaned.

Frequency of application

An artist who has been awarded and has completed a residency at the Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence Centre at Fool’s Paradise is not eligible for a second residency.

Legal status

Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, or have an application pending for permanent residency status.

Ineligibility

The following are ineligible to apply for residencies:

  • groups, ensembles, collectives, co-applicants, producers, organizations
  • students enrolled in any educational institution or any learning program on a full-time or part-time basis at the undergraduate level of study
  • members of the advisory panel and their immediate families
  • individuals under the age of 18
  • staff and Board members of the Ontario Heritage Trust and their immediate families

Menu

Modalités du programme

Demandes de placement en résidence limitées aux personnes

La maison est un petit chalet rustique. Bien que disposant d'un vaste atelier, elle a été construite pour être habitée par une personne. C'est pourquoi une seule personne sera en mesure de vivre et de travailler au Centre à un moment donné. La modeste demeure ne peut pas accueillir des groupes, des couples ou des familles. Cependant, la famille, les collègues et de petits groupes d'amis pourront venir en visite.

Disciplines créatives admissibles

C'était le souhait de Doris McCarthy que sa maison soit mise à disposition comme retraite pour visualistes, musiciens, écrivains et autres artistes professionnels. Voici quelques disciplines admissibles :

  • Illustration
  • Composition musicale
  • Peinture
  • Arts du spectacle
  • Photographie
  • Dramaturgie
  • Poésie
  • Techniques d'impression
  • Sculpture/installation
  • Arts textiles
  • Écriture

Artistes professionnels

Les candidats doivent être des artistes professionnels. Artiste professionnel ou artiste professionnelle s'entend d'une personne qui a acquis des compétences par la formation et/ou la pratique, qui est reconnue par les artistes de même tradition artistique, qui a des antécédents en matière de présentation publique ou de publication, ou qui cherche à obtenir une rémunération pour son travail et pratique activement son art. Les courtes interruptions du parcours artistique professionnel sont tolérées. Cette définition vient du Conseil des arts de l'Ontario.

Durée des résidences

La durée de chaque résidence peut varier de un à six mois. Le calendrier précis sera confirmé avec le candidat retenu ou la candidate retenue avant le début de sa résidence. Une résidence peut débuter à tout moment de l'année. Il n'y a pas de période d'interruption. Notez que la Fiducie aura besoin de temps entre les résidences pour que le site puisse être inspecté et nettoyé.

Fréquence de demande

Un artiste ou une artiste ayant obtenu et effectué une résidence au Centre des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy du « Paradis d'une folle » n'est pas admissible à une seconde residence.

Statut juridique

Les candidats doivent être des citoyens canadiens ou des résidents permanents au Canada, ou avoir présenté une demande de résidence permanente en cours de traitement.

Non admissibilité

Les personnes suivantes ne sont pas admissibles à présenter une demande de placement en résidence :

  • groupes, ensembles, collectifs, cocandidats, producteurs, organismes;
  • élèves inscrits dans un établissement ou un programme d'enseignement de premier cycle à temps plein ou partiel;
  • membres du comité consultatif et leur famille immédiate;
  • personnes de moins de 18 ans;
  • membres du personnel et du conseil d'administration de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien et leur famille immediate.