Menu

What is Fool's Paradise?

In 1939, Doris McCarthy bought a 12-acre (4-hectare) property overlooking the Scarborough Bluffs. Her mother called the property a “fool’s paradise” because she thought it extravagant that a young art teacher would spend more money than she earned in a year for undeveloped, isolated pasture land. McCarthy embraced the disapproving moniker and the property became known as Fool’s Paradise.

McCarthy designed and built her home herself, beginning with a small cottage in 1940 and moving in permanently in 1946. The property is an expression of McCarthy’s creativity and character. It is maintained essentially as she left it – in an effort to conserve and protect the spirit and fabric of the place.

McCarthy donated the property to the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1998 to conserve its scenic, esthetic, natural and cultural values, with the wish that it would become an artist-in-residence centre and venue for heritage activities following her death.

Fool’s Paradise is a unique heritage site that boasts a rustic, whimsical cottage, mature trees, an adjacent ravine, a pond and open space with expansive vistas above the majestic Scarborough Bluffs overlooking Lake Ontario. Quiet and picturesque, the site is just 13 miles (21 km) east of downtown Toronto.

In 2000, the pedestrian trail in the Bellamy Ravine on the east side of the property was officially named Doris McCarthy Trail in honour of her work. Several acres of land in the ravine were donated to the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority.

Menu

Qu'est-ce que le « Paradis d'une folle »?

En 1939, Doris McCarthy fait l'acquisition d'une propriété de 12 acres (4 hectares) surplombant les falaises Scarborough. Sa mère la surnomme le « paradis d'une folle » parce qu'elle trouve extravagant qu'une jeune professeure d'art dépense plus d'argent qu'elle n'en gagne en un an pour un pâturage non bâti et isolé. Doris adopte le sobriquet désapprobateur et la propriété devient connue sous le nom de « Paradis d'une folle » (« Fool’s Paradise »).

Elle conçoit et construit elle-même son domicile, en commençant par un petit chalet en 1940, avant de s'y installer définitivement en 1946. La propriété est l'expression de sa créativité et de sa personnalité. Afin de préserver et de protéger l'esprit et le caractère de l'endroit, il est maintenu à peu de choses près dans l'état où elle l'a laissé. 

En 1998, Doris fait don de la propriété à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien pour en conserver les caractéristiques pittoresques, esthétiques, naturelles et culturelles, exprimant le souhait qu'elle devienne, à sa mort, un centre d'accueil d'artistes en résidence et d'activités patrimoniales.

Le « Paradis d'une folle » est un site patrimonial unique doté d'un chalet rustique et fantaisiste, d'arbres mûrs, d'un ravin adjacent, d'une mare et d'un espace vert offrant de vastes panoramas par-delà les majestueuses falaises Scarborough qui surplombent le lac Ontario. Calme et pittoresque, le site se trouve à 13 milles (21 km) à peine à l'est du centre-ville de Toronto. 

En 2000, le sentier pédestre situé dans le ravin Bellamy, sur le flanc est de la propriété, a officiellement été baptisé sentier Doris McCarthy en hommage à son œuvre. Plusieurs acres de terrain ravineux ont été cédés à l'Office de protection de la nature de Toronto et de la region.