Menu

Introduction

The Ontario Heritage Act (OHA) empowers municipalities and the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport to designate property of cultural heritage value or interest. Recognizing the importance of heritage sites to the collective memory of all Ontarians, the OHA requires that the province keep an official record of all properties and heritage conservation districts designated under the act, and of any other properties that the Minister considers to be of cultural heritage value or interest.

The OHA Register is a central repository of legal documents, including designation bylaws, statements of cultural heritage value or interest, descriptions of heritage attributes, notices of council decisions, approvals for alterations and ministerial orders.

The Ontario Heritage Act Register serves many purposes, most important of which is to provide a central, public database of all heritage properties designated under the Ontario Heritage Act. Other purposes include:

  • to provide a public research tool
  • to offer backup records for municipal clerks/staff, local heritage committees, councillors and other government officials
  • to provide municipalities, the Trust and the Province with comparables for heritage identification and evaluation
  • to spread awareness of heritage conservation with accurate information on which sites are protected
  • to ensure that heritage properties are considered according to the procedures laid out in the OHA

Menu

Introduction

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario (LPO) habilite les municipalités et la ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport à désigner des biens d’une valeur ou d’un intérêt culturel patrimonial. Reconnaissant l'importance des sites patrimoniaux pour la mémoire collective des Ontariennes et des Ontariens, la Loi exige que la province tienne un registre de tous les biens et de tous les districts de conservation du patrimoine désignés aux termes de la Loi, et de tous les autres biens qui, de l’avis de la ministre, ont une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel.

Le registre aux fins de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario est un recueil central de documents juridiques, notamment de règlements désignant des biens, de déclarations attestant d'une valeur ou d'un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel, de descriptions d'attributs patrimoniaux, d'avis de décisions de conseils municipaux, d'approbations de transformation et d'arrêtés ministériels.

Le registre aux fins de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario a plusieurs finalités, la plus importante étant de constituer une base de données centrale et publique sur tous les biens du patrimoine désignés aux termes de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario. Voici quelques exemples de ses autres finalités :

  • proposer un outil de recherche public;
  • servir de registre de secours au personnel et aux secrétaires municipaux, aux comités locaux du patrimoine, aux conseillers et aux autres représentants de l'administration;
  • mettre à la disposition des municipalités, de la Fiducie et de la province des données comparables pour l'identification et l'évaluation du patrimoine;
  • sensibiliser la population à la conservation du patrimoine en fournissant des renseignements précis sur les sites protégés;
  • veiller à ce que les biens du patrimoine soient désignés selon les procédures énoncées par la LPO.