Menu

Resources

Ontario Heritage Act

The Ontario Heritage Act provides for the scope of study for a heritage conservation district – see Section 40.(2). The act also states what is required for the contents of an HCD plan – see Section 41.1.(5)

Terms of Reference for conducting an HCD study

In order for a municipality to undertake a study to create a Heritage Conservation District, it often provides a Terms of Reference document. This document outlines the scope of the study, relevant research, heritage evaluation, goals and objectives, and specific required tasks. The following examples show a variety of methods and processes involved in preparing HCD studies.

The City of Toronto has prepared the following report on developing a Terms of Reference document for creating a Heritage Conservation District: www.toronto.ca/heritage-preservation/pdf/hcd_policies.pdf.

The City of Burlington has prepared the following Terms of Reference document for an HCD study: http://cms.burlington.ca/Asset1641.aspx

Incentives

Municipalities have the authority to provide incentives to assist property owners within an HCD. Some municipalities provide grant programs, often a matching grant whereby the municipality and property owner equally share the cost of repair or restoration of heritage attributes. These types of programs vary from one municipality to another, so it is best to consult with your municipality to see if grant programs are available.

Municipalities may also provide tax rebate programs for properties protected under the Ontario Heritage Act. Again, these programs vary from one municipality to another, so consult with your municipality.

Consultants

Numerous consulting firms in Ontario have extensive experience dealing with heritage conservation district plans. Visit the Canadian Association of Heritage Professionals website to find a consultant and relevant information.

Municipal Official Plans

A municipality must refer to the establishment of heritage conservation districts in its Official Plan. The heritage designation of an individual property under Section 29 of the Ontario Heritage Act may also be considered within an HCD.

A city or town’s Official Plan provides guidance and long-term goals for planning and heritage conservation. The Official Plan provides a municipality with the legal authority to plan and protect its resources and may have specific requirements beyond the heritage conservation tools available in the Ontario Heritage Act.

Heritage policies and related planning tools are an important part of the Official Plan as seen in the following communities:

Other local planning tools include Community Improvement Plans, Secondary Plans and comprehensive zoning bylaws. These tools – when combined with heritage legislation – add to the protection and conservation of heritage resources.

Additional Ontario planning information

The Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport also provides general information on tools available for heritage conservation and the relationship to municipal planning and development. Resources include:

HCD studies in Ontario

Academic studies regarding the value of a heritage property and the changes and development of heritage conservation districts over time have been completed by the Heritage Resources Centre at the University of Waterloo. The HCD Study Summary Report is also a good reference for the diverse number of HCDs in Ontario.

HCD websites

Each HCD operates in its own manner; some have specific development review committees and others do not. For instance, within the City of Toronto, the residents of the Cabbagetown HCD District Advisory Committee have created their own website to assist those living in the district and visitors to the area.

International models

Heritage conservation districts are a common heritage planning tool throughout the world. The following examples are models and case studies with regard to heritage conservation districts beyond Ontario:

ICOMOS, the International Council on Monuments and Sites Charter for the Conservation of Historic Towns and Urban Areas (Washington Charter, 1987):

England

Wales

Conservation area policy in Wales dates back to the Civic Amenities Act of 1967. Largely the outcome of a Civic Trust initiative, this legislation in its early years reflected a growing concern about the effects of insensitive development on the historic built environment. Since that time, the legislative framework has been updated more than once. The Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act of 1990 was one such attempt to consolidate the evolving nature of the statutory guidance. See https://civictrustwales.wordpress.com/character-and-place for more information.

France

There are three types of heritage conservation areas covered by French legislation:

  • One such area includes the Secteur Sauvegardé – a zone designated within a town or city centre. The designation is usually accompanied by a Plan de sauvegarde et de mise en valeur (PSMV).At the discretion of the central government, designation in areas commonly called Malraux – after the minister who introduced the law and associated fiscal incentives – are available to those who invest in these areas. Having being superseded by the ZPPAUP, new designations are now rare (see below).
  • Another type of conservation area, the Zone de Protection du Patrimoine Architectural, Urbain et Paysager (ZPPAUP), post-dates the Secteur Sauvegardé, which it ismeant to replace. Determined by the local council, these heritage conservation areas are often smaller in size, and situated in rural locations around historical monuments or sensitive areas.
  • Lastly, despite being more for ecological interest, the Zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique (ZNIEFF)is another type of heritage conservation area.

In addition, « L’Association Nationale des Villes et Pays d’art et d’histoire et des Villes à secteurs sauvegardés et protégés » unites over 170 cities and villages containing a ZPPAUP with a means to share information about their heritage conservation experiences. (See www.an-patrimoine.org for more information.)

United States of America

Portland, Oregon

  • Portland has both historic districts and conservation districts. Historic districts have a higher status with considerable regulations and are usually listed as being of national historic importance. Conservation areas are more local and usually based on architectural styles and interest. See www.portlandonline.com/bps/index.cfm?c=44012&a=146263.

New York City, New York

  • Mandated with deciding which properties are worthy of landmark status, the Landmarks Preservation Commission is responsible for enacting regulations to protect both the esthetic and historic nature of landmark properties. The Commission is not only tasked with the preservation of unique buildings, but also the overall feel of neighbourhoods that have been designated as historic districts. There are 102 heritage districts in New York that are administered by the Historic Districts Council, a separate not-for-profit organization. See http://hdc.org/blog.

Los Angeles, California

  • In Los Angeles, historic districts are called Historic Preservation Overlay Zones (HPOZs). There are currently 24 HPOZs designated by the city, with about a dozen more in the planning process. See www.laconservancy.org/node/1466.

Menu

Ressources

Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario

La Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario décrit la portée de l'étude pour la désignation d'un district de conservation du patrimoine – voir paragraphe 40.(2). La loi indique également ce que le plan de district doit contenir – voir paragraphe 41.1 (1).

Cadre de référence pour mener une étude de DCP

Pour mener une étude en vue de créer un district de conservation du patrimoine, la municipalité fournit souvent un cadre de référence. Ce document présente la portée de l'étude, les recherches requises, l'évaluation du patrimoine, les objectifs et les opérations spécifiques nécessaires. Les exemples suivants illustrent plusieurs méthodes et processus entrant dans la préparation des études de DCP.

La ville de Toronto a rédigé le rapport ci-dessous indiquant comment établir un cadre de référence pour la création d'un district de conservation du patrimoine : www.toronto.ca/heritage-preservation/pdf/hcd_policies.pdf (en anglais seulement).

La ville de Burlingtona rédigé ce cadre de référence pour une étude de DCP : http://cms.burlington.ca/Asset1641.aspx (en anglais seulement).

Mesures incitatives

Les municipalités sont habilitées à offrir des mesures incitatives destinées à aider les propriétaires de biens se trouvant dans un DCP. Certaines municipalités proposent des programmes de subventions, souvent sous forme de subventions paritaires, qui permettent à la municipalité et au propriétaire de partager équitablement les frais de réparation ou de restauration des attributs patrimoniaux. Ce type de mesures variant d'une municipalité à l'autre, il est préférable de vous renseigner auprès de votre municipalité pour savoir si elle offre des programmes de subventions.

Il existe également des allègements fiscaux à l'initiative de certaines municipalités pour les biens protégés en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario. Là encore, ces programmes varient d'une ville à l'autre : adressez-vous à votre municipalité pour en savoir plus.

Consultants

De nombreuses sociétés d'experts-conseils en Ontario bénéficient d'une solide expérience en matière d’élaboration de plans de district de conservation du patrimoine. Rendez-vous sur le site Web de l'Association canadienne d'experts-conseils en patrimoine pour trouver un expert-conseil et obtenir des informations pertinentes.

Plans officiels municipaux

Le plan officiel d'une municipalité doit comporter des dispositions relatives à la constitution de districts de conservation du patrimoine La désignation patrimoniale d'un bien individuel en vertu de l'article 29 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario doit également être prise en compte dans le cadre d'un DCP.

Le plan officiel d'une ville établit des directives et des objectifs à long terme pour l'aménagement et la conservation du patrimoine. Il confère aux municipalités l'autorité juridique nécessaire pour planifier et protéger leurs ressources et peut comprendre des exigences spécifiques, outre les outils de conservation du patrimoine figurant dans la Loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario.

Les politiques patrimoniales et les instruments d'aménagement qui y sont liés représentent un élément important du plan officiel. C'est le cas dans les collectivités suivantes : 

On peut citer d'autres outils d'aménagement locaux tels que les plans d'amélioration communautaires, les plans secondaires et les règlements de zonage complets. Ces outils, associés à la législation en matière de patrimoine, constituent des ressources de protection et de conservation du patrimoine supplémentaires.

Informations complémentaires sur la planification en Ontario

Le ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport fournit également des informations générales sur les outils disponibles pour la conservation du patrimoine et en lien avec les politiques d'aménagement et de planification municipales. Parmi ces ressources, on peut citer :

Études sur les DCP en Ontario

Des études universitaires portant sur la valeur d'un bien patrimonial et l'évolution des districts de conservation du patrimoine dans le temps ont été menées par le Centre des ressources du patrimoine de l'Université de Waterloo. Le rapport récapitulatif de l'étude sur les DCP constitue également une bonne référence pour les différents DCP en Ontario.

Sites Web des DCP

Chaque DCP a son propre fonctionnement. Certains disposent de comités de révision des plans d'aménagement spécifiques, d'autres non. Par exemple, dans la ville de Toronto, les résidents membres du Cabbagetown HCD District Advisory Committee (Comité consultatif des DCP de Cabbagetown) ont créé leur propre site Web pour aider les habitants du district et les visiteurs.

Modèles internationaux

Les districts de conservation du patrimoine représentent un outil d'aménagement du patrimoine courant dans le monde entier. Les exemples suivants, qui dépassent les frontières de l'Ontario, peuvent servir de modèles et d'études de cas :

ICOMOS (Conseil international des monuments et des sites), Charte internationale pour la sauvegarde des villes historiques (Charte de Washington, 1987) :

Angleterre

Pays de Galles

La politique de conservation du pays de Galles remonte au Civic Amenities Act de 1967. Résultant en grande partie d'une initiative du Civic Trust (société de fiducie locale), cette loi reflétait à l'origine une inquiétude croissante vis-à-vis des effets du développement non raisonné sur le patrimoine architectural historique. Depuis cette époque, le cadre législatif a été revu et corrigé à maintes reprises. Le Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act de 1990 par exemple a tenté de consolider la nature fluctuante des orientations règlementaires. Rendez-vous sur le site https://civictrustwales.wordpress.com/character-and-place (en anglais) pour en savoir plus.

France

La législation française distingue trois types de zones de conservation du patrimoine :

  • La première est appelée secteur sauvegardé : il s'agit d'une zone désignée dans une ville ou un centre-ville. Cette désignation s'accompagne généralement d'un plan de sauvegarde et de mise en valeur (PSMV).Selon la loi dite Malraux (du nom du ministre qui en est à l'origine et qui a mis en place les encouragements fiscaux associés), l'État décide de la création de secteurs sauvegardés à l'initiative de ceux qui peuvent y investir. Surpassées par la ZPPAUP, les nouvelles désignations de ce type sont désormais rares (voir ci-dessous).
  • La zone de protection du patrimoine architectural, urbain et paysager (ZPPAUP) est ultérieure à la notion de secteur sauvegardé, qu'elle est censée remplacer. Désignés par le conseil municipal, ces espaces de conservation du patrimoine sont en général plus petits et situés en zone rurale, autour des monuments historiques ou des secteurs sensibles.
  • Enfin, même si elle a une vocation plus écologique, vient la zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique (ZNIEFF). 
  • De plus, « L’Association Nationale des Villes et Pays d’art et d’histoire et des Villes à secteurs sauvegardés et protégés » réunit plus de 170 villes et villages comptant une ZPPAUP, dans le but de partager leurs expériences de valorisation du patrimoine. (Rendez-vous sur le site www.an-patrimoine.org pour en savoir plus.)

États-Unis

Portland (État de l'Oregon)

Portland compte à la fois des quartiers historiques et des districts de conservation du patrimoine. Les quartiers historiques bénéficient d'un statut supérieur assorti de nombreux règlements et sont en général considérés comme des zones d'importance historique nationale. Les zones de conservation du patrimoine ont une portée plutôt locale et sont souvent liées à un type d'architecture particulier. Rendez-vous sur le site www.portlandonline.com/bps/index.cfm?c=44012&a=146263 (en anglais seulement).

New York (État de New York)

Chargée de décider quels biens méritent le statut de monument historique, la Landmarks Preservation Commission est responsable de la promulgation de règlements destinés à protéger à la fois la nature esthétique et historique du patrimoine. Elle a pour mission non seulement de préserver des bâtiments uniques, mais aussi de conserver l'aspect général des zones qui ont été désignées quartiers historiques. On dénombre à New York 102 districts patrimoniaux, gérés par le Historic Districts Council, un organisme à part entière sans but lucratif. Rendez-vous sur le site http://hdc.org/blog (en anglais seulement).

Los Angeles (État de Californie)

À Los Angeles, les quartiers historiques sont appelés « Historic Preservation Overlay Zones » (HPOZ). Désignés par la ville, ils sont actuellement au nombre de 24, auxquels il faut ajouter une douzaine de zones en cours de développement. Rendez-vous sur le site www.laconservancy.org/node/1466 (en anglais seulement).