Menu

Toronto's Enoch Turner Schoolhouse is a provincially significant heritage site and the oldest school still standing in Toronto. Today, this historical property is a public museum and a conference and special events venue.

The original one-room school was established in 1848 by Enoch Turner (1792-1866), a wealthy brewer and philanthropist, to educate the children in the poor neighbourhood surrounding his brewery. Because many of the area's immigrant families were from County Cork in Ireland, the neighbourhood became known as Corktown – a nickname it still carries today.

Turner supplied funds to construct the Schoolhouse and the land was donated by the adjacent Little Trinity Church. In 1849, the school opened with space for 240 pupils and Turner paid for its operation for three years. It was the first free school in Toronto.

The design of the one-storey Gothic revival-style brick schoolhouse is attributed to architect Henry Bowyer Lane (1817-78). In 1869, the building was expanded to the west with an addition designed by noted Toronto architectural firm Gundry and Langley. The addition is a particularly early work by Henry Langley, who opened his own practice that same year, following the death of Thomas Gundry. Langley went on to become one of the most influential 19th-century architects in Ontario, designing important Toronto landmarks such as the Metropolitan United Church (56 Queen Street East), McMaster Hall (273 Bloor Street West) and the Bank of British North America (49 Yonge Street).

Enoch Turner founded his free school following the Common Schools Act of 1847. After the act was passed, municipalities had the power to raise funds for public education through taxation. However, city officials were unwilling to introduce such taxes, and as a result, all schools that benefited from any kind of public support were closed for a year. This prompted Turner to establish the Schoolhouse, which was as a critical catalyst in the development of a provincially supported free school system.

In 1850, school trustees were elected by the public to oversee educational funding. Free public education officially began in 1851, transferring the school to the city. In 1859, the school and property were returned to Little Trinity parish, and from the 1860s to the 1960s the Schoolhouse served as a parish hall and Sunday school for the church. By the late 1960s, the Schoolhouse had fallen into disrepair and was threatened with demolition.

To protect the schoolhouse and raise funds for its restoration, the Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Foundation was established in 1971. After extensive interior and exterior renovations, the Schoolhouse opened as a living history site and conference and reception centre. In March 2008, the ownership and operation of the Schoolhouse were transferred to the Ontario Heritage Trust from the Foundation. The Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Foundation continues as an independent charitable organization, working with the Trust to support the programming and operation of the Schoolhouse.

Note: This site is fully accessible.


You may also be interested in

Menu

L'école Enoch Turner de Toronto est un site majeur du patrimoine provincial et reste la plus vieille école existant dans la ville. De nos jours, ce lieu historique est un musée public et le lieu de conférences et d'événements spéciaux.

L'école initiale comportant une seule salle fut fondée en 1848 par Enoch Turner (1792-1866), riche brasseur et philanthrope, pour donner une éducation aux enfants des quartiers pauvres des alentours de sa brasserie. Comme de nombreuses familles immigrantes du comté de Cork, en Irlande, s'établirent là, le quartier devint plus connu sous le nom de Corktown, un surnom qu'il porte toujours.

M. Turner offrit les fonds nécessaires à la construction de l'école, et l'église Little Trinity adjacente fit don du terrain. En 1849, l'école ouvrit ses portes et accueillit 240 élèves, et M. Turner paya ses frais de fonctionnement pendant trois ans. Ainsi naquit la première école gratuite de Toronto.

La conception de l'école de brique d'un étage, de style néogothique, est attribuée à l'architecte Henry Bowyer Lane (1817-1878). En 1869, son flanc ouest fut agrandi, avec une extension conçue par le célèbre cabinet d'architectes torontois, Gundry and Langley. Il s'agit d'un ouvrage particulièrement précoce de Henry Langley, qui ouvrit sa propre étude la même année, suite au décès de Thomas Gundry. Par la suite, M. Langley devint l'un des architectes les plus influents du 19e siècle en Ontario, à l'origine de certains bâtiments parmi les plus remarquables de Toronto, comme l'église unie Metropolitan (56, rue Queen Est), McMaster Hall (273, rue Bloor Ouest) et la Bank of British North America (49, rue Yonge).

Enoch Turner fonda son école gratuite suite à la ratification de la Common Schools Act en 1847. Dès lors que cette loi fut votée, les municipalités bénéficièrent du pouvoir de récolter des fonds, grâce à des impôts, pour financer une éducation publique. Cependant, les fonctionnaires de la ville étaient réticents à l'introduction de tels impôts et, par conséquent, toutes les écoles ayant bénéficié du soutien public furent fermées pendant un an. M. Turner décida donc de fonder l'école, qui fut un catalyseur essentiel pour le développement d'un système éducatif gratuit, financé par la province.

En 1850, des conseillers scolaires furent élus par le public afin de superviser le financement de l'éducation. L'éducation publique gratuite vit officiellement le jour en 1851, et la gestion de l'école incomba à la municipalité. En 1859, le bâtiment et le terrain furent rendus à la paroisse de Little Trinity, et des années 1860 aux années 1960, l'école servit de hall paroissial et d'école dominicale pour l'église. À la fin des années 1960, l'école tombait en ruines par manque d'entretien, et était menacée de démolition.

Afin de protéger l'école et de financer sa restauration, la Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Foundation fut fondée en 1971. Après sa rénovation intérieure et extérieure complète, l'école rouvrit ses portes en tant que site historique vivant et centre de conférences et de réceptions. En mars 2008, l'acte de propriété et l'exploitation de l'école furent confiés à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien par la Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Foundation. Cette dernière survit en tant qu'organisme caritatif indépendant, travaillant en collaboration avec la Fiducie à la programmation et la gestion de l'école.

Remarque : Ce site est entièrement accessible.


Vous pourriez être aussi intéressé par