Menu

Walk the same halls as royalty. Get a rare glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of another era. Discover the story of Senator George T. Fulford, explore the grand Fulford mansion and marvel at the many original family furnishings. Stroll through the restored Olmsted Brothers gardens and immerse yourself in Ontario’s rich heritage.

Senator George Taylor Fulford made millions of dollars from "Pink Pills for Pale People" – a patent medicine he manufactured in Brockville and sold around the world. Fulford recognized the commercial potential of the readership developed by mass-circulation newspapers and built his business on saturation print advertising. He constructed Fulford Place, a 20,000-square-foot Edwardian mansion between 1899 and 1901. The original grounds were designed by Frederick Olmsted of the Olmsted landscaping firm, which also designed Central Park in New York City. Restoration of the Fulford gardens was one of the Ontario Heritage Trust's most exciting heritage garden conservancy projects. The restoration included the Italianate-style gardens, an elaborate triton fountain, statuary, stone walls and gates. Through generous donations from a number of individuals and organizations, the Trust restored the Italianate Garden, a key component of this nationally significant historic landscape.

Original tapestries, paintings, statuary and ceramics collected on the Fulfords' world travels are on display throughout the period rooms and are featured in special exhibits. The grand style of the Beaux Art house was ideally suited to the Fulfords, as they entertained Canadian Prime Ministers, British princes and the neighbouring well-to-do whose grand "cottages" lined the St. Lawrence River.

In 1987, George T. Fulford, the son of Senator Fulford, donated Fulford Place to the Ontario Heritage Trust. The contents of the mansion were later donated by his widow Jutta Fulford and his son George Fulford III. The Trust undertook an extensive restoration of the site with funds from the provincial government and opened it to the public as a house museum in June 1993. Seasonal exhibits in the gallery feature exotic works collected by the Fulfords on their world travels.

The Friends of Fulford Place Association, an incorporated volunteer body, assists the Trust in the operation and public interpretation of this National Historic Site. The Friends lead tours of the house and grounds, conduct research, create interpretive displays and raise funds for restoration and interpretive projects. The Trust's work at Fulford Place provides an example of how partnerships between public heritage organizations and local groups can work to conserve and promote a community's heritage.

Note: This site is fully accessible.

Fulford Place is owned and operated year-round by the Ontario Heritage Trust. Please call 613-498-3003 or email fulford@heritagetrust.on.ca for information about:

  • Renting our beautiful facilities for a meeting or reception
  • Our popular 45-minute guided tours of the mansion
  • Seasonal exhibits featuring the extensive collection
  • Public programs
  • Special events and Christmas programs

More information:

Menu

Empruntez les mêmes couloirs que la monarchie. Voici une occasion unique d’observer le mode de vie luxueux d’une ère révolue. Découvrez l’histoire du sénateur George T. Fulford, explorez la magnifique demeure des Fulford et admirez les pièces du mobilier original de la famille. Promenez-vous dans les jardins restaurés des frères Olmsted et immergez-vous dans le riche patrimoine de l’Ontario.

Le sénateur George Taylor Fulford fit fortune en réussissant à commercialiser les « pilules Pink pour personnes pâles », spécialité pharmaceutique de sa composition, fabriquée à Brockville et vendue dans le monde entier. Fulford comprit très vite tout le potentiel commercial que représentaient les journaux à grande circulation, et il bâtit son empire en y faisant une publicité intensive. Il fit construire la Place Fulford, une demeure de style édouardien de près de 20 000 pieds carrés, entre 1899 et 1901. Les jardins furent conçus par Frederick Olmsted, de la compagnie d'aménagement paysager Olmsted, qui fut également l'architecte-paysagiste de Central Park, à New York. La restauration des jardins de la Place Fulford a été l'un des projets de conservation des jardins du patrimoine les plus passionnants. La restauration a inclut les jardins à l'italienne, une fontaine de triton ouvragée, des statues, le mur de pierre et les grilles. Grâce à de généreux dons de la part de nombreux particuliers et organismes, la Fiducie a restauré le jardin italianisant, un composant essentiel de ce paysage historique d'importance nationale.

Les tapisseries, les peintures, les statues et les objets en céramique d'origine, collectionnés par les Fulford lors de leurs voyages à travers le monde, sont exposés dans les salles d'époque et font l'objet d'expositions spéciales. Le style majestueux des beaux-arts convenait aux Fulford qui recevaient des Premiers ministres, des princes britanniques et leurs riches voisins dont les magnifiques « chalets » bordaient le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

En 1987, George T. Fulford II, fils du précédent, fit don de la Place Fulford à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Son contenu ful ultérieusement donné par son fils George (III) et sa mère, veuve, Mme Jutta Fulford. La Fiducie entreprit une importante rénovation des lieux avec des fonds du gouvernement provincial et l'ouvrit au public comme musée en juin 1993. Les expositions saisonnières de la galerie d'art présentent les œuvres d'art exotiques dont les Fulfords firent l'acquisition au cours de leurs voyages.

L'association des amis de Fulford Place, officiellement incorporée, aide bénévolement la Fiducie à administrer et à présenter au public ce site historique national. L'association des amis de la Place Fulford, un organisme de bénévoles constitué en personne morale, aide la Fiducie à administrer ce site historique national et à le présenter au public. Cette association organise des visites guidées de la demeure et des jardins, effectue des recherches, organise des expositions et recueille des fonds. Les travaux de la Fiducie à la Place Fulford montrent l'importance des partenariats entre les organismes publics du patrimoine et les groupes locaux au plan de la conservation et de la promotion du patrimoine communautaire.

Remarque : Ce site est entièrement accessible.

La Place Fulford appartient à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien qui l'administre. Elle est ouverte toute l'année. Appelez le 613 498-3003 ou envoyez un courriel à fulford@heritagetrust.on.ca pour de plus amples renseignements sur :

  • Louez nos magnifiques installations pour une réunion ou une réception
  • Nos visites guidées populaires de la demeure, de 45 minutes
  • Les expositions saisonnières portant sur l'importante collection
  • Les programmes publics
  • Les événements spéciaux et les programmes de Noël

Plus amples renseignements :


Vous pourriez être aussi intéressé par