Menu

Step back in time to 1800. Get a glimpse of the life of Dr. Solomon Jones (1756-1822), a United Empire Loyalist and the area’s first physician. Explore one of Ontario’s oldest houses, view original Jones family furnishings and heirlooms, and discover the story behind the internationally known Red Fameuse apple. See where seven generations of the Jones family chose to call home and immerse yourself in Ontario’s rich heritage.

Many United Empire Loyalists settled in the St. Lawrence valley after the American Revolution. Jones and his three brothers arrived in Augusta Township in 1784 to take up lands granted to them by the government. He commissioned Louis Brière, a Montreal mason and contractor, to build a "gentleman's residence" in stone overlooking the river in 1799. Although Homewood was constructed in the late Georgian style, the simplicity of some of its details, especially the shutters and metalwork, show a French-Canadian influence. Located just outside the village of Maitland, near Brockville, Homewood became the home for six generations of the Jones family. In the 1940s, Justus Jones, the last owner, constructed an addition that matched the design of the original home.

In addition to being a surgeon, Jones was an accomplished farmer and avid grower of fruit trees. His great-grandson, Harold Jones, followed in his footsteps and received international recognition for developing the Jones Red Fameuse apple in the early 1900s. Between 1900 and 1930, Homewood was the St. Lawrence Fruit Station, a division of the federal Central Experimental Farms in Ottawa. Many of the station's original trees are still bearing fruit in the restored orchard today.

In 1965, Justus Jones sold the property to the DuPont Corporation, an international chemical company, but continued living on the site until his death in 1972. DuPont developed a portion of the property as a chemical plant and donated Homewood along with 4.5 hectares (11 acres) of land to the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1974. The Trust restored the site with the help of the Grenville County Historical Society and the Canadian Parks Service.

Menu

Remontez le cours du temps jusqu’en 1800. Renseignez-vous sur la vie du Dr Solomon Jones, un Loyaliste de l’Empire-Uni et le premier médecin de la région. Explorez une des plus vieilles demeures de l’Ontario, admirez le mobilier d’origine et les objets de la famille Jones et découvrez l’histoire qui se cache derrière la pomme Red Fameuse, connue dans le monde entier. Voyez où sept générations de la famille Jones ont élu domicile et immergez-vous dans le riche patrimoine de l’Ontario.

Après la Guerre d'Indépendance américaine, nombre de Loyalistes de l'Empire uni s'établirent dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent. Le docteur Solomon Jones (1756-1822) et ses trois frères arrivèrent dans le canton d'Augusta en 1784 pour occuper des terres qui leur avaient été concédées par le gouvernement. Jones engagea, en 1799, Louis Brière, maçon et entrepreneur montréalais, pour lui construire une «gentilhommière» en pierre donnant sur le Saint-Laurent. Bien que Homewood soit de style georgien tardif, la simplicité de certains détails, notamment les volets et la quincaillerie, dénote l'influence canadienne-française. Sise juste à l'extérieur du village de Maitland, près de Brockville, Homewood abrita six générations de la famille Jones. Dans les années 1940, son
dernier propriétaire, Justus Jones, ajouta une aile dans le style du corps principal du bâtiment.

Chirurgien de profession, le docteur Jones était aussi un agriculteur accompli, passionné par les arbres fruitiers qu'il faisait pousser sur sa propriété. Son arrière-fils, Harold Jones, suivit ses traces et acquit une réputation internationale pour avoir produit, au début du siècle, la pomme Jones Red Fameuse. Entre 1900 et 1930, Homewood devint la station fruitière du Saint-Laurent, division des fermes expérimentales fédérales (Ottawa). Dans le verger actuel, qui a retrouvé son aspect d'antan, un grand nombre des arbres de l'époque portent toujours des fruits.

En 1965, Justus Jones vendit la propriété à DuPont, société multinationale de produits chimiques, mais il demeura dans la maison jusqu'à sa mort en 1972. DuPont en transforma une partie en usine chimique et, en 1974, céda Homewood, ainsi que 11 acres (4,5 hectares) de terrain à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. La Fiducie restaura les lieux avec l'aide de la société historique du comté de Grenville et le Service canadien des parcs.

Vous pourriez être aussi intéressé par