Menu

In 1813, after 19 years as a fur trader with the North West Company, John Macdonell (1768-1850) retired to Hawkesbury Township with his wife, Magdeleine Poitras - a Métis born on the Manitoba section of the Qu'Appelle River - and their children.

Macdonell's home, known as Poplar Villa, is a graceful adaptation of the Palladian style. It served as a centre for his milling, general merchandising, warehousing and freight-forwarding business.

Using the commercial instincts he had honed in the competitive fur trade, Macdonell opened a general store in Pointe Fortune, served as a freight forwarder in the movement of goods from his property to Lachine, near Montreal, and sponsored the building of the Ottawa – the first steamboat on the Ottawa River. He also made noteworthy contributions to the region's public life as a judge in the Ottawa district (1816-25), and later as a member of the Upper Canada House of Assembly. Macdonell died in Pointe Fortune in 1850.

In 1882, the Williamson family bought the house. It remained in the Williamson family until the early 1960s. The Ontario Heritage Trust acquired it in 1978 to save it from demolition, and conducted extensive architectural and archaeological investigations on the property.

Seasonally open to the public (June-August), the site is operated by the Friends of Macdonell-Williamson House/Les Amis de la maison Macdonell-Williamson under a custodial agreement with the Trust.



NEW! Ongoing conservation work

Macdonell-Williamson House National Historic Site is notable for the quality and significance of its surviving decorative plaster details and paint finishes, as well as a large masonry fireplace and bake oven located in the basement. The Trust is undertaking a project in 2017-18 to conserve these significant historical features and to stabilize the carriage shed located near the house.

The Trust would like to acknowledge the Government of Canada’s financial support for this project and the Friends of Macdonell-Williamson House for their in-kind support.

Menu

En 1813, après avoir fait le commerce des fourrures pendant 19 ans pour la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest, John Macdonell (1768-1850) a pris sa retraite dans le canton de Hawkesbury avec son épouse, Magdeleine Poitras, une métisse née dans la partie manitobaine de la rivière Qu'Appelle, et leurs enfants.

La maison Macdonell, connue sous le nom de Villa du peuplier ou de Scotus et qui était une adaptation harmonieuse du style architectural palladien, regroupait ses activités de mouture, d'entreposage et de transit.

Exploitant les compétences qu'il avail acquises dans le commerce des fourrures, Macdonell ouvrit un grand magasin à Pointe Fortune, se fit transitaire des merchandises qui circulaient de son domaine jusqu'à Lachine, près de Montréal et parraina la construction de l'Ottawa, le premier bateau à vapeur sur la rivière des Outaouais. Il apporta une contribution notoire à la justice et à l'administration de la région; juge du district d'Ottawa (1816-25), il devint plus tard member de la Chambre d'assemblée du Haut-Canada. Il mourut à Pointe Fortune en 1850.

En 1882, la famille Williamson fit l'acquisition de la demeure. Elle resta dans la famille Williamson jusqu'au début des années 1960. La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en fit l'acquisition en 1978 pour la sauver de la démolition. Elle entreprit d'importantes recherches architecturales et des fouilles archéologiques.  

Ouvert de façon saisonnière (de juin à août), le site est exploité par l’organisme Friends of Macdonell-Williamson House/Les Amis de la maison Macdonell-Williamson en vertu d’une entente sur sa garde avec la Fiducie.



NOUVEAU! Travaux de conservation en cours

La maison Macdonell-Williamson est remarquable pour la qualité et la valeur de ses ornements en plâtre et de ses finis peints qui ont su résister au temps. Le lieu historique national se démarque aussi par son vaste foyer en maçonnerie et son four au sous-sol. La Fiducie entreprend en 2017-2018 un projet visant à conserver ces éléments historiques importants et à stabiliser le hangar qui abritait les voitures hippomobiles, situé près de la maison.

La Fiducie tient à remercier le gouvernement du Canada pour son soutien financier à ce projet ainsi que les Amis de la maison Macdonell-Williamson pour leur appui non financier.


Vous pourriez être aussi intéressé par