From a restored 19th-century pharmacy to the sweeping veranda of an Edwardian mansion, from an early fur-trading post to a city estate, the Ontario Heritage Trust holds 27 built heritage sites for the people of Ontario. Eleven of these properties have been designated as National Historic Sites.

Properties such as Fulford Place in Brockville, the Niagara Apothecary in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site in Dresden and Macdonell-Williamson House in East Hawkesbury attract thousands of visitors each year. Sites also serve as living museums, reception venues, leased spaces, offices and film locations, used and enjoyed by the people of Ontario and visitors to the province.

Many of the Trust's built properties are operated in partnership with local municipalities and community heritage groups. Working with these partners, the Trust ensures that these heritage sites will remain an important part of the lives of Ontario's communities.

Over the years, with financial assistance from government, the private sector and individuals, the Trust has undertaken extensive conservation work on these properties and their associated collections. By working to conserve our rich built and cultural heritage, the Trust helps us to celebrate the past and understand its importance for the present and the future.





Buildings by location

Central Ontario

Central Ontario Barnum House

In 1819, Barnum built a stylish house that stands today as one of Ontario's finest examples of Neo-Classical architecture. The building's composition is formal, with two symmetrical wings flanking a central temple structure ...

Barnum House

Central Ontario Scotsdale Farm

A working farm, Scotsdale presents visitors with 531 acres (215 hectares) of pastoral countryside. Superb hiking trails run through the farm's rolling hills and woodlands ...

Scotsdale Farm, Halton Hills

Eastern Ontario

Eastern Ontario Bethune-Thompson House

The Bethune-Thompson House in Williamstown owes its name to two prominent owners – the Reverend John Bethune and explorer David Thompson. But it was Peter Ferguson, an early settler, who first built a house on this site in 1784 ...

Bethune Thompson House 2015

Eastern Ontario Fulford Place

Walk the same halls as royalty. Get a rare glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of another era. Discover the story of Senator George T. Fulford, explore the grand Fulford mansion and marvel at the many original family furnishings. Stroll through the restored Olmsted Brothers gardens ...

Fulford Place, Brockville (Photo: Glyn Davies)

Eastern Ontario Homewood Museum

Although Homewood was constructed in the late Georgian style, the simplicity of some of its details, especially the shutters and metalwork, show a French-Canadian influence ...

Homewood Museum, Maitland

Eastern Ontario Inge-Va

Located in the heart of Perth, this late-Georgian stone residence was built in 1823 for Reverend Michael Harris, the first Episcopalian minister in the district ...

Inge-Va, Perth

Eastern Ontario Macdonell-Williamson House

John Macdonell's home, known as Poplar Villa, is a graceful adaptation of the Palladian style. It served as a centre for his milling, general merchandising, warehousing and freight-forwarding business

Macdonell-Williamson House

Eastern Ontario McMartin House

McMartin House displays many features of the American Federal style of architecture. This style was common in the eastern United States between 1780 and 1820 but was rare in buildings in Ontario ...

McMartin House, Perth

Greater Toronto Area

Greater Toronto Area Ashbridge Estate

The Ashbridge family was one of the founding families of Toronto (formerly York); they immigrated to York from Pennsylvania in 1793. They are also the only Toronto family to occupy their land continuously for 200 years ...

Ashbridge Estate 2016

Greater Toronto Area Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre

At this magnificent National Historic Site, you can bask in the gilded elegance of the Elgin Theatre, and then go upstairs to gaze in amazement at the leafy ceiling of the Winter Garden Theatre, seven storeys above the Elgin ...

Ewg

Greater Toronto Area Enoch Turner Schoolhouse

Toronto's Enoch Turner Schoolhouse is a provincially significant heritage site and the oldest school still standing in Toronto. Today, this historical property is a public museum and a conference and special events venue. The original one-room school was established in 1848 ...

Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Exterior 01

Greater Toronto Area Fool’s Paradise – Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence Centre

Fool’s Paradise was the home and studio of Canadian landscape artist, writer and educator Doris McCarthy (1910-2010). The site overlooks Lake Ontario along Toronto’s Scarborough Bluffs ...

Fool's Paradise, Scarborough

Greater Toronto Area George Brown House

This fine Second Empire-style house was built for George Brown between 1874 and 1876. The elegance of his residence reflects his prominence as a Father of Confederation, founder of The Globe newspaper (now the Globe and Mail) and a leading Liberal politician ...

George Brown House, Toronto

Greater Toronto Area Ontario Heritage Centre

When the principals of the Canadian Birkbeck Investments and Savings Company decided in 1907 to build their new office building, they chose a highly desirable site. They were the initial owner of what is today the Ontario Heritage Centre – the Ontario Heritage Trust's headquarters

Ontario Heritage Centre, Toronto

International

International Wolford Chapel

Wolford Chapel – a Trust-owned property in England – is associated with significant British elements of Ontario's heritage. It was built by John Graves Simcoe (1752-1806), the first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada ...

Wolford Chapel, England

Niagara Falls and Region

Niagara Falls and Region Niagara Apothecary

Step through the doors of the Niagara Apothecary and see how pharmacists practised their profession over 100 years ago. Liquor by the barrel or the bottle (and even by the glass), flavourings, paints, dyes, leeches, tobacco and snuff – these were the stock-in-trade of a 19th-century pharmacy...

Niagara Apothecary, Niagara-on-the-Lake

Northern Ontario

Northern Ontario Hudson's Bay Company Staff House

Moose Factory, an island just south of James Bay, was established in 1673 as the main trading post of the Hudson's Bay Company. It is Canada's oldest English-speaking community. The company's staff house and three servant houses recall the settlement's bygone era ...

Hudsons Bay Company Staff House

Northern Ontario Mather-Walls House

Mather-Walls House is a conservative wooden version of the exuberant Queen Anne style, designed by Winnipeg architect George Browne. It has a picturesque roof line, verandas, fine interior wood trim and hardware, and windows in a variety of shapes and forms decorated with panes of coloured glass ...

Mather-Walls House, Kenora

Northern Ontario Sir Harry Oakes Chateau

Explore the impressive chateau of the eccentric Sir Harry Oakes (1874-1943), the famous prospector of the gold-mining era that put Kirkland Lake on the map ...

Sir Harry Oakes Chateau, Kirkland Lake

Southwestern Ontario

Southwestern Ontario Duff-Baby House

Recognized among the most significant late eighteenth-century landmarks in Upper Canada, the house retains its original orientation to the river and reflects some of the principal themes and events shaping the province's early history ...

Duff Baby House

Southwestern Ontario Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site

Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site takes its name from Harriet Beecher Stowe's successful 1852 anti-slavery novel Uncle Tom's Cabin, featuring a character named Tom (loosely based on Josiah Henson). Henson's own story is told in his autobiography, first published in 1849 ...

Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site, Dresden


Buildings on a map

Loading map...

Qu'il s'agisse d'une pharmacie rénovée datant du XIXe siècle, de l’imposante véranda d'un manoir de style édouardien, d'un ancien poste de traite des fourrures ou d'une propriété en ville, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien administre 27 sites du patrimoine architectural dans l'intérêt de la population ontarienne. Onze d'entre eux ont été classés lieux historiques nationaux.

Des biens tels que la Place Fulford à Brockville, la Pharmacie du Niagara à Niagara-on-the-Lake, le lieu historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom à Dresden ou la maison Macdonell-Williamson à East Hawkesbury attirent chaque année des milliers de visiteurs. Ils servent aussi de musées vivants, de lieux de réception, d'espaces à louer, de bureaux et de plateaux de tournage. Ils sont utilisés et appréciés par les habitants de l'Ontario et les visiteurs de la province.

De nombreuses propriétés architecturales appartenant à la Fiducie sont administrées conjointement avec des municipalités et des groupes communautaires de préservation du patrimoine. En collaborant avec ces partenaires, la Fiducie garantit que ces sites du patrimoine continueront à représenter des éléments essentiels de la vie des collectivités de l'Ontario.

Au fil des ans, grâce à l'aide financière du gouvernement, du secteur privé et de particuliers, la Fiducie a entrepris des travaux de conservation considérables sur ces propriétés et sur leurs collections connexes. Grâce à ses efforts de conservation de notre patrimoine architectural et culturel dans toute sa diversité, la Fiducie nous aide à célébrer le passé et à comprendre son importance actuelle et future.



Bâtiments par lieu

Centre de l'Ontario

Centre de l'Ontario Maison Barnum

En 1819, E. Barnum fit construire une élégante demeure qui constitue aujourd'hui un bel exemple de l'architecture néo-classique de l'Ontario. La façade, constituée de deux ailes symétriques entourant une partie centrale, évoque un temple...

Barnum House

Centre de l'Ontario Ferme Scotsdale

Exploitation agricole, le Ferme Scotsdale est située au cœur de paysages pastoraux qui s'étendent sur 531 acres (215 hectares) de ravissants sentiers qui serpentent à travers des bosquets et des collines doucement vallonnées...

Ferme Scotsdale (Halton Hills)

Est de l'Ontario

Est de l'Ontario Maison Bethune-Thompson

La maison Bethune-Thompson, située à Williamstown, tire son nom de ses deux propriétaires les plus renommés, le révérend John Bethune et l'explorateur David Thompson. Elle fut cependant construite sur ce site, en 1784, par un des premiers pionniers, un certain Peter Ferguson...

Bethune Thompson House 2015

Est de l'Ontario Place Fulford

Empruntez les mêmes couloirs que la monarchie. Voici une occasion unique d’observer le mode de vie luxueux d’une ère révolue. Découvrez l’histoire du sénateur George T. Fulford, explorez la magnifique demeure des Fulford et admirez les pièces du mobilier original...

Place Fulford (Brockville)

Est de l'Ontario Musée Homewood

Bien que Homewood soit de style georgien tardif, la simplicité de certains détails, notamment les volets et la quincaillerie, dénote l'influence canadienne-française...

Musée Homewood (Maitland)

Est de l'Ontario Inge-Va

Sise au cur de Perth, cette maison de pierre, de style georgien tardif, fut construite en 1823 pour le révérend Michael Harris, premier pasteur épiscopalien de la région...

Inge-Va (Perth)

Est de l'Ontario Maison Macdonell-Williamson

La maison Macdonell, connue sous le nom de Villa du peuplier ou de Scotus et qui était une adaptation harmonieuse du style architectural palladien, regroupait ses activités de mouture, d'entreposage et de transit...

Maison Macdonell-Williamson (Pointe Fortune)

Est de l'Ontario Maison McMartin

La maison McMartin présente de nombreuses caractéristiques de l'architecture de style fédéral américain. Ce style était très répandu dans l'Est des États-Unis entre 1780 et 1820, mais peu fréquent dans les constructions en Ontario...

Maison McMartin (Perth)

Région du Grand Toronto

Région du Grand Toronto Domaine Ashbridge

La famille Ashbridge compte parmi les familles fondatrices de Toronto (anciennement York); ses membres ont émigré de Pennsylvanie à York en 1793. C'est aussi la seule famille de Toronto à avoir occupé son domaine sans discontinuité depuis 200 ans...

Ashbridge Estate 2016

Région du Grand Toronto Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden

Un superbe lieu historique national dont le premier étage est occupé par le théâtre Elgin à l'élégance scintillante et le niveau supérieur, sept étages plus haut, par le théâtre Winter Garden, au plafond en forme d'arcade de verdure...

Ewg

Région du Grand Toronto École Enoch Turner

L'école Enoch Turner de Toronto est un site majeur du patrimoine provincial et reste la plus vieille école existant dans la ville. De nos jours, ce lieu historique est un musée public et le lieu de conférences et d'événements spéciaux...

Enoch Turner Schoolhouse Exterior 01

Région du Grand Toronto Le « Paradis d'une folle » – Centre des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy

Le « Paradis d'une folle » était le domicile et l'atelier de la paysagiste, écrivaine et pédagogue canadienne Doris McCarthy (1910-2010). Le site surplombe le lac Ontario le long des falaises Scarborough de Toronto...

« Paradis d'une folle » (Scarborough)

Région du Grand Toronto Maison George Brown

Cette belle maison de style Second Empire a été construite pour George Brown entre 1874 et 1876. L'élégance de sa résidence reflète son importance en tant que Père de la Confédération, fondateur du journal le Globe (devenu le Globe and Mail) et politicien libéral de premier plan...

Maison George Brown (Toronto)

Région du Grand Toronto Centre du patrimoine ontarien

Lorsque les dirigeants de la Canadian Birkbeck Investments and Savings Company ont décidé en 1907 de construire leur nouvel immeuble de bureau, ils ont choisi un emplacement hautement convoité. Le 10, rue Adelaide était à un jet de pierre des rues Yonge et King...

Centre du patrimoine ontarien (Toronto)

International

International Chapelle commémorative Wolford

La chapelle Wolford - une propriété en Angleterre détenue par la Fiducie - est associée à des éléments britanniques importants du patrimoine ontarien. Elle a été construite par John Graves Simcoe...

Wolford Chapel 2015 Tessa J Buchan

Niagara Falls et la région

Niagara Falls et la région Pharmacie du Niagara

Franchissez les portes de la Pharmacie Niagara et voyez comment les pharmaciens exerçaient leur profession il y a plus de 100 ans, distillant les liqueurs qu'ils vendaient au baril, à la bouteille ou même au verre; manipulant parfums, pigments et colorants...

Pharmacie du Niagara (Niagara-on-the-Lake)

Nord de l'Ontario

Nord de l'Ontario Maison de la Compagnie de la baie d'Hudson

Moose Factory, île située au Sud de la baie James, fut dès 1673 le principal comptoir commercial de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Ses habitants forment la communauté de langue anglaise la plus ancienne du Canada...

Hudsons Bay Company Staff House

Nord de l'Ontario Maison Mather-Walls

La maison Mather-Walls est une version conservatrice en bois du style exubérant Reine Anne, conçue par l'architecte de Winnipeg, George Browne. Elle possède une pittoresque ligne de toit, des vérandas, une belle finition intérieure...

Maison Mather-Walls (Kenora)

Nord de l'Ontario Château Harry Oakes

Sir Harry Oakes était un personage excentrique et un célèbre chercheur d'or qui fit la réputation de Kirkland Lake. Son château impressionnant vaut le détour...

Château Harry Oakes (Kirkland Lake)

Sud-ouest de l'Ontario

Sud-ouest de l'Ontario Maison Duff-Bâby

Elle illustre parfaitement le style de la fin du XVIIIe siècle au Canada. Toujours orientée vers la rivière, elle rappelle les grands événements qui ont marqué les débuts de l'histoire de la province...

Duff Baby House

Sud-ouest de l'Ontario Le Site historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom

Le Site historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom tire son nom du roman à succès écrit en 1852 par Harriet Beecher Stowe pour dénoncer l'esclavage; ce roman intitulé La case de l'oncle Tom, met en scène un personnage du nom de Tom (et s'inspire librement de la vie de Josiah Henson)...

Le Site historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom (Dresden)


Bâtiments sur une carte

Loading map...