Explore Macdonell-Williamson House this summer - Ontario Heritage Trust

Explore Macdonell-Williamson House this summer

Macdonell Williamson House

Weekends from Saturday, June 29 to Sunday, September 1, 2019 – from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Macdonell-Williamson House(Photo: Carl Bigras)

This National Historic Site in eastern Ontario dates back to the early 1800s when retired fur trader John Macdonell retired here with his wife and children. Macdonell’s home, known as Poplar Villa, is a graceful adaptation of the Palladian style. It served as a centre for his milling, general merchandising, warehousing and freight-forwarding business.

After Macdonell died, the Williamson family bought the house in 1882. The house remained in their family until the 1960s. It was then purchased by the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1978 and is today run as a museum.

This summer, visit Macdonell-Williamson House and learn more about the history of this little-known eastern Ontario site.

Hours:

Open weekends from June 29 to September 1, 2019 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Tours:

Guided tours for groups of 10 or more are available on request. The cost is $10 per person – which includes admission, guided commentary and a full English tea. To reserve your spot, call 613-676-2228 or email housemw1817@bell.net. Operated in partnership with the Friends of Macdonell-Williamson House.

For more information, visit our website.

Location:

Macdonell-Williamson House
25 Rue des Outaouais
Chute-à-Blondeau, Ontario

Map