Gesher Theatre’s The Dybbuk (presented by Show One Productions) - Ontario Heritage Trust

Gesher Theatre’s The Dybbuk (presented by Show One Productions)

The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre

Saturday, September 29, 2018 at 8 p.m.

Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 3 p.m.

2018-Gesher-Theatre-Dybbuk.jpg#asset:29323

Eerily Beautiful. Powerfully Haunting. An exquisite spectacle of love beyond death from Israel’s acclaimed theatre company.

Direct from Israel, and in celebration of the 70th anniversary of the establishment of the Jewish state, the internationally acclaimed Gesher Theatre presents the North American premiere of The Dybbuk. This spellbinding event takes audiences on a mesmerizing journey through Jewish folklore and the spiritual world. Blending comedy and tragedy, mysticism and psychology, the evocative work is awash in spectacular imagery, rich emotion and theatrical magic. The Dybbuk follows Hanan, a young, destitute yeshiva student who meets his untimely demise. Trapped between two worlds, Hanan’s spirit will not let go of his one true love, Lea – and he struggles from beyond the grave to return to her. On the day of Lea’s wedding to another man, Hanan’s restless soul returns as a dybbuk – a malicious spirit – to possess a host and halt the nuptials.

Gesher is Hebrew for “bridge” – and the company has lived up to this name by spanning the gap between Russian and Israeli cultures. Formed in 1991 by a group of Russian immigrant actors, Gesher has established itself as one of Israel’s most dynamic, prolific and internationally lauded theatre innovators.

Performed in Hebrew with English and Russian surtitles.

For more information, call Ticketmaster at 1-855-622-ARTS (2787) or visit www.ticketmaster.ca, or buy them at the Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre box office (Tuesday to Saturday, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., or until show time on performance days; closed Sunday and Monday).

Location:

Elgin Theatre
189 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario

Map

The Dybbuk (Le Dibbouk) du théâtre Gesher (présenté par Show One Productions) - Ontario Heritage Trust

The Dybbuk (Le Dibbouk) du théâtre Gesher (présenté par Show One Productions)

Le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden

Le samedi 29 septembre 2018 à 20 h

Le dimanche 30 septembre 2018 à 15 h

2018-Gesher-Theatre-Dybbuk.jpg#asset:29323

Étrangement beau. Puissant et poignant. Une magnifique prestation témoignant du pouvoir de l’amour au-delà de la mort, offerte par une compagnie théâtrale israélienne acclamée.

Directement d’Israël, à l’occasion du 70e anniversaire de la création de l’État juif, la troupe Gesher, de renommée internationale, présente la première nord-américaine de la pièce The Dybbuk (Le Dibbouk). Cette envoûtante prestation entraîne les spectateurs dans un fascinant voyage dans l’univers folklorique et spirituel juif. Entremêlant la comédie et la tragédie, le mysticisme et la psychologie, cette pièce évocatrice et émouvante est empreinte d’une imagerie spectaculaire et d’une forte magie théâtrale. Le Dibbouk raconte l’histoire de Hanan, un jeune élève démuni d’une yeshiva qui connaît une fin prématurée. Piégé entre deux mondes, l’esprit de Hanan n’abandonnera pas son unique véritable amour, Lea, et combattra outre-tombe pour retourner vers elle. Le jour du mariage de Lea avec un autre homme, l’âme tourmentée de Hanan revient sous la forme d’un dibbouk, un esprit malin, qui habite le corps d’un hôte et interrompt la cérémonie nuptiale.

Gesher signifie « pont » en hébreu. La compagnie qui en porte le nom jette un pont entre les cultures russe et israélienne dans ses créations. Fondé en 1991 par un groupe de comédiens immigrants d’origine russe, le théâtre Gesher s’est bâti une réputation mondiale comme l’un des plus dynamiques, prolifiques et novateurs d’Israël.

Pièce jouée en hébreu avec des surtitrages en anglais et en russe.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, appeler Ticketmaster au 1 855-622-ARTS (2787) ou visiter www.ticketmaster.ca. Il est aussi possible d'acheter les billets à la billetterie du Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden (les horaires de la billetterie sont les suivants : du mardi au samedi, de 11 h à 17 h, ou jusqu’à l’heure de la représentation les jours de spectacle; le guichet est fermé les dimanche et lundi).

Lieu :

Théâtre Elgin
189, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)

Carte