Quebec, 1608-09 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Quebec, 1608-09

In the winter of 1607-08, Sieur de Monts returned to the French court and convinced King Henri IV to continue with the colonization project in New France and to extend de Monts’s trade monopoly for one year. Although Champlain was keen to return to the St. Lawrence Valley, de Monts anticipated establishing a colony farther south. In the end, a compromise was reached and, in the spring of 1608, two ships sailed to the St. Lawrence Valley to establish a permanent settlement, and a third sailed to Acadia to restore settlement there.

Champlain was appointed commander of the mission and given the title “lieutenant for the country of New France.” He sailed for Tadoussac on April 13, 1608, and met his colleague and friend Pont Gravé at that location on June 3. Several young men were on the voyage, including Étienne Brûlé and Nicolas Marsolet, but no women or members of the clergy made the trip.

Soon after his arrival, Champlain set about exploring the lower Saguenay River with permission from his Montagnais (Innu) colleagues. He then sailed up the St. Lawrence River in search of a permanent site for settlement, which he found at the place Aboriginal peoples called Kebec, meaning “where the river narrows.” On July 3, 1608, work commenced on a “habitation” on the site the French renamed Quebec.

The purpose of the settlement was clear: to intercept furs being transported to Tadoussac to ensure that illegal and competing traders did not get to them first, and to strengthen alliances with the Aboriginal peoples of the Great Lakes area. Champlain’s men laboured tirelessly to erect the habitation, plant gardens and complete other tasks necessary to the successful establishment of the settlement. Not all were content with the hard life of the new colony, however, and in the fall of 1608, Champlain became aware of a plot to assassinate him and destroy the habitation.

The plot was initiated by Jean Duval, who apparently was motivated by the possibility of reward from de Monts’s Basque competitors from Spain, who had been trading on the St. Lawrence River for many years and resented de Monts’s intrusions. On discovering this conspiracy, Champlain executed the ringleader and sent his co-conspirators back to France in chains.

The following winter was particularly difficult for the Quebec settlers and the Montagnais (Innu) people. A good number of the settlers died of scurvy and dysentery before the warm weather returned. The remaining members of the colony rejoiced at the first run of fish in the St. Lawrence River and at the arrival of provisions from France in June of 1609.

Québec : 1608-1609 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Québec : 1608-1609

À l’hiver 1607-1608, le sieur de Monts retourne à la cour du roi de France et convainc Henri IV de poursuivre le projet de colonisation en Nouvelle-France et de proroger son monopole de commerce pour une année supplémentaire. Bien que Champlain souhaite vivement retourner dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent, de Monts compte établir une colonie plus au sud. Un compromis est trouvé et, au printemps 1608, deux navires appareillent à destination de la vallée du Saint-Laurent afin d’y fonder un établissement permanent, alors qu’un troisième se dirige vers l’Acadie pour y restaurer l’établissement existant.

Champlain se voit octroyer un poste de commandement de la mission et reçoit le titre de « lieutenant de la Nouvelle-France ». Il fait voile vers Tadoussac le 13 avril 1608 où il rencontre son collègue et ami Pont-Gravé le 3 juin. Plusieurs jeunes hommes font partie du voyage, dont Étienne Brûlé et Nicolas Marsolet, mais l’expédition ne compte aucune femme ni aucun ecclésiastique dans ses rangs.

Peu de temps après son arrivée, Champlain part explorer le Saguenay inférieur avec la permission de ses compagnons montagnais (innus). Ensuite, il remonte le Saint-Laurent afin d’y repérer un site d’établissement permanent, qu’il trouve à un endroit que les Autochtones appellent Kebec, ce qui signifie « où l’eau se rétrécit ». Le 3 juillet 1608 commencent les travaux de construction d’une « habitation », sur le site rebaptisé Québec par les Français.

L’objet de l’établissement est double : intercepter les fourrures transportées vers Tadoussac pour éviter que les marchands concurrents et illégaux ne s’en emparent; et renforcer les alliances avec les Autochtones de la région des Grands Lacs. Les hommes de Champlain travaillent sans relâche pour bâtir l’habitation, aménager des potagers et réaliser les autres tâches nécessaires à la réussite de l’établissement. Toutefois, tous ne sont pas satisfaits des conditions de vie difficiles au sein de la nouvelle colonie. À l’automne 1608, Champlain est avisé qu’il est la cible d’un complot visant à l’assassiner et à détruire l’habitation.

Ce complot est fomenté par Jean Duval, motivé selon toute vraisemblance par la possibilité d’une récompense de la part des concurrents basques espagnols s’opposant à de Monts, qui commercent sur le Saint-Laurent depuis de longues années et ne tolèrent pas le monopole du sieur de Monts. Découvrant ce complot, Champlain fait exécuter le conspirateur, puis renvoie ses complices en France dans les fers.

L’hiver suivant est particulièrement difficile pour les colons du Québec et les Montagnais (Innus). Bon nombre de colons périssent du scorbut et de la dysenterie avant le retour des beaux jours. Les autres membres de la colonie se réjouissent à la vue des premières prises de poisson dans le Saint-Laurent et à l’arrivée des vivres venus de France en juin 1609.