Notable women

The story

“For me, Ontario is not only where I live, it’s where I studied, where I have had my career, and where I have the privilege of being elected to represent my fellow citizens.” Madeleine Meilleur as Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services


Women whose experiences and accomplishments help us better to understand the significance of Franco-Ontarian heritage and culture to the province


Notable experiences and achievements of francophone women in Ontario


17th century to the present


Throughout Ontario


To help us understand the perspectives and experiences of women in the history of the French experience in Ontario

From the first known female landholder in present-day Ontario to activists, artists and politicians, the French experience in the province has been greatly enriched and enlivened by the presence of a number of remarkable women. Their stories provide unique and important insights into Franco-Ontarian identity and culture.

Over time, the Trust will continue to feature new and engaging snapshots about francophone women who have made, or are continuing to make, a difference through their careers, creative endeavours, community activism and involvement, and more. Watch for more snapshots!

Des femmes remarquables - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Des femmes remarquables

L’histoire

« À mes yeux, l’Ontario est non seulement le lieu où je vis, mais également celui où j’ai étudié, où j’ai fait carrière et où j’ai le privilège d’être élue pour représenter mes concitoyens. » Madeleine Meilleur comme ministre de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels de l’Ontario

Qui

Femmes dont les expériences et réalisations nous aident à mieux comprendre l'importance de la culture et du patrimoine franco-ontariens pour la province

Quoi

Expériences et réalisations remarquables de femmes francophones en Ontario

Quand

XVIIe siècle à nos jours

Tout l'Ontario

Pourquoi

Nous aider à comprendre les points de vue et les expériences des femmes au cours de l'histoire de l'expérience française en Ontario

De la première propriétaire foncière connue dans l'actuel Ontario aux activistes, artistes et politiciennes, la présence d'un certain nombre de femmes remarquables a grandement enrichi et animé l'expérience française dans la province. Leurs histoires livrent des aperçus uniques et essentiels de l'identité et de la culture franco-ontariennes.

Au fil du temps, la Fiducie continuera de proposer de nouveaux instantanés intéressants sur les femmes francophones qui changent ou ont changé les choses, notamment par le biais de leur carrière, de leurs entreprises créatives, ou de leur activisme et de leur participation communautaires. Restez à l'affût pour parcourir davantage d'instantanés!

Instantanés