Shifting the narrative - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Shifting the narrative

In Canada and throughout North America, an important conversation is happening about the historical value of statues, memorials and place names, about who we honour in society for their contributions and how. It has brought some critical thinking about our history and heritage, discussions that have stretched beyond professional forums to more public debate about who or what should be commemorated and how those decisions are made. There are strong opinions on all aspects of the discussion, and it’s a conversation that needs to be heard. The underlying question is about what we value and who we want to be.

This is part of a broader discourse about whose history is told, about gender, people of colour and the economically disenfranchised, and others whose stories have been overlooked or intentionally omitted from the authorized discourse. It’s about what we conserve and how such choices are made; about decolonizing history; about building bridges of reconciliation and creating a sense of belonging. This should come as no surprise. Think for a moment about how we have gotten here. In terms of our public history, we’ve created a national identity expressed through historic sites and monuments focused on forts, institutions, historic sites and collections; defined by society’s most influential communities; and based on western European traditions of the monumental, the grand, rare and impressive. Widespread enthusiasm for the celebration of milestones measured from the date of Confederation has left us with a collection of sites and stories drawn more from western European expressions of value than from a Canadian-specific experience.

Over the past several years, the Trust has made a concerted effort to share stories of all of the people of Ontario – providing a forum to look back over more than 10,000 years at the people who have called this province home. The Trust continues to re-define the narrative – to ensure that the heritage we protect and the stories we tell are a respectful, accurate and authentic portrayal of the peoples who have lived on and contributed to this land known as Ontario.

We are working with communities across the province to share their own stories in their own voices, to celebrate the diversity of experiences, languages, customs and perspectives of different people and different places. This approach is embodied in the way the Trust forms policy, the way it listens and acts, and fundamentally how it respects others. As individuals, organizations and communities, we have the ability to choose what we pass along to those who follow.


Heritage Matters provides a forum where many writers have shared their unique stories, perspectives and areas of expertise:

Shifting the Narrative, Autumn 2018:

My Ontario, A Vision Over Time, February 2017

  • Page 8: The heart of North America, by Konrad Sioui
  • Page 9: The conscience of our province, by the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell
  • Page 14: The Black history of Ontario inspires and defines who I am, by Dr. Afua Cooper
  • Page 24: The Métis sash, by M. Margaret Froh
  • Page 28: Making history, by David Rayside
  • Page 29: Descendants de la Vallée du Saint-Laurent, by Joëlle Roy
  • Page 33: Reflections on my hometown, by Adrienne Shadd
  • Page 33: Walking with the water, from a Great Lakes Commons interview with Josephine Mandamin
  • Page 35: Celebrating the history of Toronto’s Jewish cemeteries, by Ellen Scheinberg

Play. Endure. Inspire. Ontario’s sport heritage, February 2015

  • Page 9: Aboriginal athletes: Competing for recognition, by Janice Forsyth
  • Page 12: Disability in sport, by David Legg and Ian Brittain

Understanding the French experience in Ontario, May 2012

Celebrating the International Year for People of African Descent, November 2011

Celebrating Ontario’s places of worship, September 2009

  • Page 8: Religious freedom in the promised land, by Steven Cook and Wilma Morrison
  • Page 10: Toronto’s synagogues: Keeping collective memories alive, by Jennifer Drinkwater
  • Page 16: The changing face of worship, by Laura Hatcher

Here are some Ontario provincial plaques that showcase the stories of different nations and communities, and add to our understanding:

•    Battle of Moraviantown, 1813 (Battle of the Thames)
•    Chief Francis Pegahmagabow, 1889-1952
•    Chloe Cooley and the 1793 Act to Limit Slavery in Upper Canada
•    Hugh Burnett and the National Unity Organization
•    Jean Lumb, C.M., 1919-2002
•    Jean-Baptiste Lainé Site
•    Jeanne Lajoie, 1899-1930
•    Sexual Diversity Activism at the University of Toronto
•    The Anishinaabeg at Lake of Bays
•    The Banwell Road Area Black Settlement
•    The Franco-Ontarian Flag

Revoir le point de vue historique - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Revoir le point de vue historique

Au Canada et partout en Amérique du Nord, la valeur historique des statues, des monuments commémoratifs et des noms de lieux, de même que les personnes que nous honorons dans la société pour leur contribution et leur savoir-faire soulèvent un important débat. De là sont nées une réflexion critique sur notre histoire et notre patrimoine et des discussions qui sont passées des tribunes professionnelles à un débat public plus approfondi sur qui ou quoi devrait être commémoré et sur la manière dont ces décisions sont prises. Des opinions vigoureuses appuient tous les aspects de la discussion et ces échanges doivent être entendus. La question sous-jacente porte sur ce que nous valorisons et qui nous voulons être.

Cette réflexion s’inscrit dans un discours plus vaste sur le point de vue historique adopté, sur le genre, les personnes de couleur et les groupes marginalisés sur le plan économique, et sur les autres communautés dont l’histoire est ignorée ou volontairement passée sous silence dans le discours officiel. Il s’agit de savoir ce que nous conservons et comment sont faits ces choix, de décoloniser l’histoire, de construire des passerelles en faveur de la réconciliation et de créer un sentiment d’appartenance. Au bout du compte, cette évolution n’a rien de surprenant si l’on retrace les faits qui nous ont menés jusqu’ici. À travers notre histoire publique, nous avons forgé une identité nationale qui est incarnée par des lieux historiques et des monuments tels que des forts, des institutions et des collections, définie par les communautés les plus influentes de la société et fondée sur des traditions d’Europe occidentale qui valorisent ce qui est monumental, grandiose, rare et impressionnant. L’engouement suscité par la célébration des grandes dates ayant marqué l’histoire depuis la naissance de la Confédération nous a légué un héritage de sites et de récits davantage inspirés du mode d’expression des valeurs occidentales que d’une expérience canadienne proprement dite.

Depuis plusieurs années, la Fiducie a mis en œuvre des efforts concertés pour dévoiler l’histoire de tous les peuples ontariens - créant ainsi une tribune permettant de remonter dans plus de 10 000 ans d’histoire des personnes qui ont élu domicile dans cette province. La Fiducie continue de remodeler le récit pour garantir que le patrimoine que nous protégeons et les histoires que nous racontons sont une représentation respectueuse, exacte et authentique des personnes qui ont vécu dans ce territoire appelé Ontario et y ont contribué.

Nous collaborons avec les communautés de toute la province dans le but de raconter leur histoire avec leurs propres voix, de célébrer la diversité des expériences, des langues, des coutumes et des points de vue parmi des peuples différents venus d’horizons divers et variés. Cette approche se reflète dans la manière dont la Fiducie élabore la politique, dont elle écoute, dont elle agit et, fondamentalement, dont elle respecte autrui. À titre de personnes, d’organisations et de communautés, nous sommes aptes à choisir ce que nous transmettons à ceux qui suivent.


Questions de patrimoine offre une tribune où de nombreux auteurs ont fait part de leurs histoires uniques, de leurs points de vue et de leurs sphères de compétence :

Revoir le point de vue historique, Automne 2018:

MonOntario – une vision au fil du temps, Février 2017

  • Page 8 : Le coeur de l’Amérique du Nord, par Konrad Sioui
  • Page 9 : La conscience de notre province, par l’honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell
  • Page 14 : L’histoire des Noirs de l’Ontario m’inspire et me définit, par Afua Cooper
  • Page 24 : La ceinture fléchée des Métis, par M. Margaret Froh
  • Page 28 : Fait historique, par David Rayside
  • Page 29 : Descendants de la Vallée du Saint-Laurent, par Joëlle Roy
  • Page 33 : Réflexions sur ma ville natale, par Adrienne Shadd
  • Page 33 : Marcher près de l’eau, d’après une entrevue avec Josephine Mandamin
  • Page 35 : Souligner l’histoire des cimetières juifs de Toronto, par Ellen Scheinberg

Jouer. Persévérer. Inspirer. Le patrimoine sportif de l’Ontario, Février 2015

  • Page 9 : Les athlètes autochtones : Entrer en lice pour la Reconnaissance, par Janice Forsyth
  • Page 12 : La place du handicap dans le sport, par David Legg et Ian Brittain

Comprendre l’expérience française en Ontario, Mai 2012

Célébration de l’Année internationale des personnes d’ascendance africaine, Novembre 2011

Célébration des lieux de culte de l’Ontario, Septembre 2009

  • Page 8 : Liberté religieuse sur la terre promise, par Steven Cook et Wilma Morrison
  • Page 10 : Les synagogues de Toronto : entretenir les mémoires collectives, par Jennifer Drinkwater
  • Page 16 : La physionomie changeante du culte, par Laura Hatcher

Voici quelques plaques provinciales ontariennes qui célèbrent les histoires de différentes nations et communautés et qui nous aident à mieux comprendre :