Ontario Land Trust Alliance conference

Expanding Horizons: Address to the opening plenary session of the conference of the Ontario Land Trust Alliance

Thomas H.B. Symons, C.C., O.Ont, FRSC, LL.D., D.Litt., D.U., D.Cn.L., FRGS, KSS – Chairman, Ontario Heritage Trust

It is a pleasure to be here this morning and to bring greetings to the conference from the Board of Directors of the Ontario Heritage Trust.

It is also wonderful to be among people who believe, as we do, in the importance of preserving Ontario’s rich and diverse heritage and, indeed, who are actively engaged in doing so in a number of significant ways.

I am also pleased to welcome the conference to Peterborough, which has been my home since I moved here as the founding President of Trent University nearly 50 years ago. Peterborough is a lively and engaging community and that time has flown by. With its rich legacy of natural, cultural and built heritage, Peterborough is a particularly appropriate setting in which to explore the theme you have chosen for your conference: Expanding Horizons.

In its efforts to preserve, protect and promote its historical resources, Peterborough has acted as a strong heritage steward and has developed a close working relationship with the Ontario Heritage Trust. The city has also begun to recognize that heritage, arts and culture are not three separate entities, but integral parts of each other, as reflected in its recent Doors Open Ontario and Culture Days celebrations.

This recognition of the integrated nature of heritage, arts and culture is being embraced by citizens and local governments across the province, and indeed the country, as they draw on these creative forces to stimulate the economy, foster innovation and enhance the quality of life within their communities.

There is an important role in this process for those who work together to preserve and to care for our province’s natural spaces. As the full and stimulating program for this conference illuminates, the preservation of heritage is an interdisciplinary venture. It is most successful when people from a wide array of backgrounds work together for a common cause. The diverse biographies of the conference presenters speak to the broad range of skills and expertise that is necessary to the project of land acquisition and conservation, with its environmental, economic, legal and political implications.

I am sure that this conference will provide a wonderful forum for mutual education as you come together this weekend to discuss the challenges and rewards associated with your work, and to develop and expand your strategies for the future.

The conference program also presents some particularly interesting opportunities to learn about the built, cultural and natural heritage of the Peterborough area and, indeed, how it intersects and co-exists on the varied landscapes of this region.

One need not venture more than 100 feet from where we are meeting before encountering one of the city’s most significant heritage features, the Otonabee River. In fact, Samuel de Champlain himself might have travelled right past the back door of the Holiday Inn on this waterway during his journey south from Huronia with his Aboriginal allies in 1615. In less than five years time, the celebrations of his great voyage of discovery and exploration in the heartland of Ontario will remind us all of the natural role and importance of the broader Trent-Severn route in Canadian history. The heritage, historical, educational, social and cultural needs and potential of this waterway are great. They serve as a constant reminder of the need for collaborative and creative approaches to the preservation and presentation of Ontario’s heritage resources before it is too late. In every corner of Ontario, it is a race against time. Every day, significant natural sites are damaged and heritage buildings are destroyed. We must move on these matters with a greatly heightened sense of urgency.

Returning to your program, I note the opportunity to participate in a heritage walk later this afternoon to see some of Peterborough’s historical sites. I do hope that you will enjoy learning more about the city’s heritage, which includes over 100 properties designated under Section 29 of the Ontario Heritage Act. It also includes two Ontario Heritage Trust easement properties – St. John’s Anglican Church, constructed in 1834, and the 1884 Peterborough CPR Station – as well as 10 provincial plaques and three national historic sites. I am delighted that the tour winds up at the Canadian Canoe Museum, which has itself become a symbol of Canadian heritage. It is the custodian of a priceless legacy. Yet, the fact that this great and unique national asset is struggling to stay afloat should tell us that there is much to be done to awaken Canadians to their heritage.

This afternoon’s workshop at the Rice Lake Plains also seems a wonderful chance to learn more about the region’s significant natural heritage and how it has been influenced by, and intersects with, important elements of cultural heritage. It is not only a landscape that supports unique natural heritage features, such as the Alderville Black Oak Savanna, but also one that speaks to the continued relationship and contributions of First Nations people to this area.

The workshop structure of your conference is also demonstrative of how a diverse group of partners can join together in a spirit of co-operation, in pursuit of a common heritage goal, in this instance under the umbrella of the Rice Lake Plains Joint Initiative. I understand that the initiative celebrated its seventh anniversary earlier this month. Those involved are to be commended for their continued efforts to preserve the significant heritage aspects of this varied landscape. Their publications and events indicate the great scope for public education and involvement in their initiatives and efforts.

I note with interest, too, tomorrow’s field workshop at Young’s Point. Your tour of the Young’s Point Lock Station, the Dance Nature Sanctuary and Young’s Point Conservation Area seems both comprehensive and indicative once again of the important relationships between natural, cultural and built heritage that play out on landscapes across Ontario.

As Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust, I am very glad that our agency holds conservation easement interests in both the 1920s Leidra Lodge vacation property, and the 78-acre property adjacent to Otonabee Conservation’s holdings, which were donated to the Trust by June Ardiel in 2004 and 2007 respectively.

The 78-acre property, which abuts Young’s Point Conservation Area, contains a portion of approximately 100-year-old white pine forest that has been used as a nursery stock and seed bank by the Ministry of Natural Resources. I am pleased that the sympathetic stewardship of June Ardiel’s Young’s Point heritage holdings will be assured in perpetuity by the Trust’s involvement as easement holder.

I am further delighted by the numerous productive and co-operative partnerships that the Trust has been able to develop as a result of its involvement with these properties. This is the essence of heritage preservation!

Throughout my remarks thus far, I have alluded to the importance of taking a broad and holistic approach to the preservation of heritage. Many years ago, decades actually, when I became Chairman of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, we thought we knew what heritage was. It was the older buildings and what went with them. Today, we recognize and embrace a much broader notion of heritage as the total environment inherited from the past. It includes our tangible legacy of physically touchable things: buildings and structures of every sort; industrial sites; archaeological sites; archives; artifacts and material items; and, also, cemeteries, gardens, landscapes and, of course, natural resources.

As well, heritage includes our intangible legacy of customs, values, knowledge and beliefs. It is the sum of all we have and are, of the total historical experience of our society to this moment. More recently, this broad notion of heritage has begun to be integrated into our celebrations of arts and culture in communities across the province. I believe this can have only positive implications, both from the perspective of heritage and from the perspective of building community.

Of course, a wider definition of heritage calls for expanded collaboration and co-operation between those individuals, organizations and institutions committed to its cause. An illustrative example from the Trust’s portfolio of conservation easements is Ruthven Park in Cayuga. This 1,600-acre property was donated by the Thompson Family in 1994 to the Lower Grand River Land Trust, and is subject to a hybrid cultural/natural conservation easement to conserve its extensive cultural and natural heritage attributes, which include Carolinian forests, active farm fields, wetlands, meadows, two cemeteries and a 19th-century Greek Gothic revival-style mansion. In 1995, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada recognized Ruthven Park as a national historic site for its architectural and historic significance. As such, it exists as a wonderful example of what can result from collaborative efforts on the part of governmental and non-governmental organizations representing local, provincial and federal interests.

I am certain that as members of land trusts, naturalist clubs, heritage conservancies, conservation authorities and other worthwhile organizations of this kind, many of you who are here today have also participated in, and continue to be engaged with, projects of your own that embrace this broad definition and therefore call for an expanded approach to collaboration and co-operation in the common cause of heritage.

The forthcoming 400th anniversary of Champlain’s great voyage of discovery through the Canadian heartland should cause us to think creatively of programs and arrangements to observe and to celebrate anniversaries of significance in the history of our country. We are on the brink of a period in which our country should be celebrating a remarkable cluster of notable anniversaries. In addition to the 400th anniversary of Champlain’s pioneering journey, there will shortly be upon us the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812, the 150th anniversary of the meeting of the Fathers of Confederation in 1864, and the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation in 1867. The Diamond Jubilee of our Queen in just two years’ time reminds us that the celebration of heritage may find cause in human and personal anniversaries, as well as in the marking of wars and constitutional events, or the observance of nature and the built environment. Let us not forget, too, the 100th anniversary next year, in 2011, of the establishment by Sir Wilfrid Laurier and J.B. Harkin of the Dominion Parks Service, the first national parks service in the world.

These are landmark events in our culture and history, in our shared experience, that present to us in the near future a great challenge. They provide a rare and special opportunity for Ontario’s land trust movement and kindred organizations to assert and expand the part they play in our society. In preparation for this challenge, those who care about heritage – natural, built or cultural – would do well to expand the extent and pace of their educational and advocacy activities.

There is so much more to be done! We need to continue to foster this holistic and co-operative approach to heritage concerns, to draw together members from the organizations that I have mentioned, and also representatives of museums, art galleries, architectural conservancies and historical societies; genealogists, librarians, archivists; business people and fundraisers; young people, First Nations, new Canadians and interested community organizations of whatever sort. If it is to have a viable future in our country, heritage must become the business of everyone, a combined operation in which all who care about it are joined together in common cause in a spirit of creativity and collegiality. As the theme of your conference so aptly suggests, we must continue expanding our horizons, so that we are ultimately able to address all interdisciplinary questions of heritage, whether built, cultural or natural, as related parts of one concern, and not in isolation from one another.

May I conclude – as one citizen and as Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust – by thanking you for all the important work you are doing to identify, preserve and promote our province’s rich heritage. The work in which you are engaged is of immense importance to the future of our environment, and to our society, if Canadians are to know and understand themselves. It is fundamental to our sense of community and identity, and to our distinctiveness and diversity. It is fundamental to our heritage. Indeed, it may well be key to our country’s survival as an independent nation in North America.

In this time of accelerating homogenization into the great republic to the south, it is how we conserve, respect and display our own heritage that may make the difference. Ours is a vast and wonderful heritage of which Ontarians and Canadians should be proud, and that we should guard jealously. If we continue to desecrate our landforms and natural heritage, and to obliterate our historical and man-made heritage, the prognosis is not good. I am an optimist, however, and in part because of you and what you do and stand for, I continue to travel hopefully.

I wish you continued success in all of your future endeavours. Thank you.

La conférence de l'Ontario Land Trust Alliance - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La conférence de l'Ontario Land Trust Alliance

Élargir les horizons : Discours à l’occasion de la séance plénière d’ouverture de la conférence de l’Ontario Land Trust Alliance

Thomas H.B. Symons, C.C., O.Ont, FRSC, LL.D., D.Litt., D.U., D.Cn.L., FRGS, KSS – Président, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien

Je suis ravi d’être parmi vous ce matin pour présenter mes salutations aux participants à la conférence au nom du conseil d’administration de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien.

C’est également un plaisir d’être entouré de personnes qui considèrent, comme nous, qu’il est important de préserver le patrimoine riche et diversifié de l’Ontario, et dont l’action concrète en la matière revêt différentes forms.

Je suis également ravi d’accueillir la conférence à Peterborough, où je réside depuis que je m’y suis installé en tant que président fondateur de l’Université Trent il y a près de 50 ans. Peterborough est une collectivité dynamique et stimulante et je n’ai pas vu le temps passer. La richesse de son patrimoine naturel, culturel et architectural en fait un lieu tout à fait approprié pour aborder le thème choisi pour votre conférence : « Élargir les horizons ».

Dans le cadre de ses efforts de conservation, de protection et de promotion de ses ressources historiques, Peterborough a joué un rôle essentiel en matière d’intendance du patrimoine et noué des relations de travail étroites avec la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. La ville a aussi commencé à reconnaître que le patrimoine, les arts et la culture ne constituent pas des entités distinctes, mais qu’ils sont interdépendants, comme les récentes célébrations organisées dans le cadre de Portes ouvertes Ontario et de la Fête de la culture l’ont prouvé.

Les citoyens et les responsables locaux de toute la province, et à vrai dire du pays dans son ensemble, reconnaissent également la nature intégrée du patrimoine, des arts et de la culture, dans la mesure où ils s’appuient sur ces forces créatrices pour stimuler l’économie, favoriser l’innovation et améliorer la qualité de vie au sein de leurs collectivités.

Les personnes qui travaillent de concert pour préserver et prendre soin des espaces naturels de notre province ont un rôle important à jouer dans ce processus. Comme le programme complet et stimulant de cette conférence le met en lumière, la préservation du patrimoine est une entreprise interdisciplinaire. Les meilleurs résultats sont obtenus lorsque des personnes provenant d’horizons divers s’associent pour défendre une cause commune. La variété des biographies des conférenciers illustre le large éventail de compétences et d’expertise qui est nécessaire dans le cadre du projet d’acquisition et de conservation des terres, compte tenu de ses implications environnementales, économiques, juridiques et politiques.

Je suis persuadé que cette conférence offrira une tribune de discussion formidable pour vous permettre, durant cette fin de semaine, d’apprendre les uns des autres, de débattre ensemble des défis et des aspects gratifiants associés à votre action, ainsi que d’élaborer et d’étoffer vos stratégies pour l’avenir.

Le programme de la conférence offre aussi certaines possibilités particulièrement intéressantes pour découvrir le patrimoine architectural, culturel et naturel de la région de Peterborough et les liens concrets qu’il entretient avec les paysages variés de ce territoire.

Il suffit de s’aventurer à une centaine de pieds d’ici pour découvrir l’une des caractéristiques patrimoniales les plus importantes de la ville, la rivière Otonabee. En réalité, il se peut que Samuel de Champlain lui-même soit passé par cette voie navigable, derrière l’Holiday Inn, durant le périple qui l’a mené vers le Sud, depuis la Huronie, avec ses alliés autochtones, en 1615. Dans moins de cinq ans, les festivités célébrant l’incroyable voyage qui lui a permis de découvrir et d’explorer le cœur de l’Ontario nous rappelleront à toutes et à tous le rôle et l’importance de la grande voie navigable Trent-Severn dans l’histoire du Canada. Les besoins et le potentiel de cette voie navigable aux plans patrimonial, historique, éducatif, social et culturel sont immenses. Ceci nous rappelle constamment qu’il est nécessaire d’adopter des stratégies collaboratives et novatrices pour préserver et mettre en valeur les ressources patrimoniales de l’Ontario avant qu’il ne soit trop tard. Une course contre la montre s’est engagée aux quatre coins de l’Ontario. Chaque jour, des sites naturels importants sont détériorés et des bâtiments patrimoniaux sont détruits. Nous devons de toute urgence avancer sur ces sujets.

Pour en revenir à votre programme, je note que vous organisez, plus tard cet après-midi, une promenade patrimoniale à la découverte de certains des lieux historiques de Peterborough. J’espère que vous apprécierez d’en apprendre plus sur le patrimoine de la ville, qui comprend plus de 100 propriétés désignées aux termes de l’article 29 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario. La ville compte également deux propriétés protégées par une servitude de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien – la St. John’s Anglican Church, construite en 1834, et la gare du CFCP de Peterborough, qui date de 1884 – ainsi que dix plaques provinciales et trois lieux historiques nationaux. Je suis ravi que la visite s’achève par le Musée canadien du canot, qui est lui-même devenu un symbole du patrimoine canadien. L’édifice abrite des pièces d’une valeur inestimable, mais le fait que cette ressource nationale aussi importante que singulière doive lutter pour se maintenir à flot nous prouve qu’il y a beaucoup à faire pour que les Canadiennes et Canadiens prennent conscience de leur patrimoine.

L’atelier organisé cet après-midi dans les plaines du lac Rice constitue également une occasion formidable de se renseigner sur le patrimoine naturel important de la région et sur les liens qu’il entretient avec certaines caractéristiques essentielles du patrimoine culturel qui l’ont influencé. Le paysage présente non seulement des caractéristiques du patrimoine naturel singulières, comme la savane à chênes noirs d’Alderville, mais il symbolise aussi la continuité des liens tissés avec les membres des Premières Nations dans cette région et de leurs contributions.

L’organisation de votre conférence sous forme d’ateliers montre par ailleurs comment divers partenaires peuvent se regrouper dans un esprit de coopération pour chercher à atteindre un objectif patrimonial commun, sous l’égide, dans ce cas précis, de la Rice Lake Plains Joint Initiative. J’ai cru comprendre que l’initiative a célébré son septième anniversaire plus tôt ce mois-ci. Les participants doivent être félicités pour leurs efforts continus visant à préserver les caractéristiques patrimoniales importantes de ce paysage varié. Leurs publications et les manifestations qu’ils organisent montrent combien leurs initiatives et leurs efforts en matière d’éducation publique et d’engagement sont vastes.

Par ailleurs, je note avec intérêt que vous organisez demain un atelier sur le terrain, à la pointe Young. Votre itinéraire passant par l’écluse de la pointe Young, le Dance Nature Sanctuary et la zone de protection de la nature de la pointe Young semble tout à fait exhaustif et illustre, une nouvelle fois, l’importance des relations entre le patrimoine naturel, culturel et architectural qui caractérisent les paysages de tout l’Ontario.

En tant que président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, je me réjouis que notre organisme détienne une servitude protectrice du patrimoine pour conserver Leidra Lodge, un chalet de vacances datant des années 1920, ainsi que la propriété de 78 acres adjacente aux terrains détenus par Otonabee Conservation. La propriétaire de ces biens, Mme June Ardiel, en a fait don à la Fiducie, respectivement en 2004 et 2007.

La propriété de 78 acres, qui jouxte la zone de protection de la nature de la pointe Young, comprend une partie d’une forêt de pins blancs vieille d’environ un siècle qui a été utilisée par le ministère des Richesses naturelles pour produire du matériel de pépinière et en tant que banque de semences. Je suis ravi que la Fiducie ait la chance d’assurer à perpétuité l’intendance des propriétés patrimoniales de Mme June Ardiel à la pointe Young.

Je me réjouis tout autant que cela ait permis à la Fiducie de nouer bon nombre de partenariats productifs et collaboratifs. C’est l’essence même de la préservation du patrimoine!

Tout au long de ce discours, j’ai fait allusion à l’importance d’adopter une approche globale et holistique en matière de préservation du patrimoine. Il y a de nombreuses années, en réalité plusieurs décennies, lorsque je suis devenu président de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, on pensait que le patrimoine désignait les bâtiments anciens et tout ce qui va avec. Aujourd’hui, il est reconnu et admis que cette notion est beaucoup plus large et qu’elle englobe l’environnement global hérité du passé. Le patrimoine inclut des éléments concrets que l’on peut toucher : des bâtiments et des structures de toutes sortes, des sites industriels et archéologiques, des archives, des artéfacts, des documents et du matériel, ou bien encore des cimetières, des jardins, des paysages et, bien sûr, des richesses naturelles.

Mais le patrimoine inclut également des éléments abstraits, comme les coutumes, les valeurs, les connaissances et les croyances. C’est la somme de tout ce que nous avons et de tout ce que nous sommes, c’est-à-dire de tout ce que notre société a connu et produit jusqu’à ce jour. Plus récemment, les collectivités de toute la province ont commencé à intégrer cette notion élargie du patrimoine dans le cadre des festivités qu’elles organisent pour célébrer les arts et la culture. J’estime que les implications ne peuvent être que positives, tant sur le plan du patrimoine qu’en matière de création d’un esprit communautaire.

Bien entendu, cette définition élargie du patrimoine exige une collaboration et une coopération accrues entre les personnes, les organisations et les institutions qui en défendent la cause. Ruthven Park, à Cayuga, est un exemple caractéristique des nombreuses servitudes protectrices du patrimoine détenues par la Fiducie. En 1994, la famille Thompson a fait don à la Lower Grand River Land Trust de cette propriété de 1 600 acres qui fait l’objet d’une servitude protectrice du patrimoine culturel et naturel pour conserver ses nombreuses caractéristiques en la matière, incluant des forêts caroliniennes, des terres agricoles cultivées, des terres humides, des prés, deux cimetières et un manoir de style néo-gothique grec datant du XIXe siècle. En 1995, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a désigné Ruthven Park comme lieu historique national en raison de son importance architecturale et historique. Cet exemple magnifique montre ce qui peut être réalisé grâce aux efforts de collaboration entre le gouvernement et les organismes non gouvernementaux qui défendent des intérêts aux niveaux local, provincial et federal.

Je suis persuadé que beaucoup d’entre vous ici présents aujourd’hui ont également participé, et continuent de participer, en tant que membres de fiducies foncières, de clubs de naturalistes, d’organismes de conservation du patrimoine, d’offices de protection de la nature et d’autres organisations utiles de ce type, à des projets spécifiques qui répondent à cette définition élargie et qui nécessitent donc d’adopter une approche plus globale afin de collaborer et de coopérer pour défendre la cause commune du patrimoine.

L’approche du 400e anniversaire de l’incroyable voyage qui a permis à Champlain de découvrir le cœur du Canada devrait nous amener à faire preuve de créativité afin d’élaborer des programmes et de conclure des ententes pour rappeler et célébrer les anniversaires des événements qui ont marqué l’histoire de notre pays. Durant la période qui s’ouvre, le Canada célébrera plusieurs anniversaires importants. Le 400e anniversaire du voyage de Champlain sera rapidement suivi par le 200e anniversaire de la guerre de 1812, par le 150e anniversaire des rencontres des Pères fondateurs de la Confédération, en 1864, et par le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, en 1867. Comme le rappelle le Jubilé de diamant de Sa Majesté la Reine, qui aura lieu dans seulement deux ans, la célébration du patrimoine peut revêtir des formes diverses, qu’il s’agisse de l’anniversaire de personnalités, de la commémoration de guerres ou d’événements constitutionnels ou bien de festivités liées à la nature et au milieu bâti. N’oublions pas non plus que l’année 2011 marquera le 100e anniversaire de la création de la Division des parcs du Dominion, le premier service national des parcs au monde, par Sir Wilfrid Laurier et J.B. Harkin.

Ces événements marquants pour notre culture, notre histoire et notre expérience commune constituent un défi important dans un avenir proche. C’est une occasion rare et particulière pour les fiducies foncières et les organismes apparentés en Ontario de faire valoir leur rôle dans notre société et de l’étoffer. Pour se préparer à ce défi, les défenseurs du patrimoine naturel, bâti ou culturel ont tout intérêt à élargir la portée et à accélérer le rythme de leurs activités éducatives et de défense des interest.

Il reste tant à faire! Nous devons continuer d’encourager cette approche holistique et collaborative en matière de préoccupations patrimoniales, afin de permettre aux membres des organismes que j’ai mentionnés de se rassembler et de collaborer avec des représentants de musées, de galeries d’art, d’organismes de conservation du patrimoine architectural et de sociétés historiques, avec des généalogistes, des bibliothécaires et des archivistes, avec des chefs d’entreprises et des agents de financement, ainsi qu’avec des jeunes, des membres des Premières Nations, des néo-Canadiennes et néo-Canadiens et des membres de toutes sortes d’organismes communautaires manifestant un intérêt en la matière. Pour en assurer l’avenir dans notre pays, il faut que le patrimoine devienne l’affaire de tous et qu’il fasse l’objet d’une collaboration dont tous les acteurs unissent leurs efforts pour défendre une cause commune dans un esprit de créativité et de collégialité. Comme l’indique si pertinemment le thème de votre conférence, nous devons continuer d’élargir nos horizons afin de pouvoir, au final, répondre à tous les enjeux interdisciplinaires liés au patrimoine bâti, culturel ou naturel, en les considérant comme des éléments interdépendants au lieu de les traiter séparément.

Permettez-moi de conclure – en tant que citoyen et président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien – en vous remerciant pour tout ce que vous faites afin de recenser, de préserver et de promouvoir le riche patrimoine de notre province. Votre action est essentielle pour l’avenir de notre environnement et de notre société et pour permettre aux Canadiennes et Canadiens de savoir et de comprendre qui ils sont. Elle est essentielle pour notre sentiment communautaire et identitaire ainsi que pour notre spécificité et notre diversité. Elle est essentielle pour notre patrimoine. En effet, il se pourrait bien que cela soit un élément clé permettant à notre pays de subsister en tant que nation indépendante en Amérique du Nord.

En ces temps d’homogénéisation galopante avec nos grands voisins du Sud, il se pourrait que la façon dont nous conservons, respectons et exposons notre propre patrimoine fasse toute la différence. Notre patrimoine est riche et extraordinaire : les Ontariennes et Ontariens et les Canadiennes et Canadiens devraient en être fiers et il convient de le préserver jalousement. Si nous continuons de détériorer nos terres et notre patrimoine naturel et de faire table rase de notre patrimoine historique et bâti, le pronostic n’est pas bon. Mais je suis optimiste de nature et c’est en partie grâce à vous, à votre action et aux valeurs que vous défendez, que je continue d’être plein d’espoir.

J’espère que vos activités futures continueront d’être couronnées de succès.

Je vous remercie.