Barrow Bay: Dobson/Nakashima and Deal properties - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Barrow Bay: Dobson/Nakashima and Deal properties

Barrow Bay comprises the Dobson/Nakashima and Deal properties  and are located east of Barrow Bay in the Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula, County of Bruce. These properties feature amazing views of crystal-clear blue water along the coastline of Georgian Bay.

The Ontario Heritage Trust took ownership of these properties in 1998 with a management agreement with the Bruce Trail Conservancy. The 27.7 hectares (68 acres) of escarpment coast are dominated by sugar maple hardwood forests, with open shoreline, coniferous forests and talus communities also represented. Barrow Bay supports 268 documented species, including 132 plant species and 36 faunal species. Four species were observed on the property that are classified as species at risk that are provincially and/or federally protected.

Heritage value

These properties are part of the provincially significant Barrow Bay South Life Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI), which contains rare species–including hart’s-tongue fern, round-leaved ragwort, eastern wood-pewee and wood thrush. The majority of these properties is a cliff and talus ecosystem with a unique, mature sugar maple forest community, and the presence of multiple permanent springs and seeps along the escarpment edge.

Barrow Bay : propriétés Dobson/Nakashima et Deal - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Barrow Bay : propriétés Dobson/Nakashima et Deal

Barrow Bay comprend les propriétés Dobson/Nakashima et Deal et est située à l’est de Barrow Bay, dans la municipalité de Northern Bruce Peninsula, du comté de Bruce. Ces propriétés offrent une vue imprenable sur l’eau bleue cristalline le long du littoral de la baie Georgienne.

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien a pris possession de ces propriétés en 1998, dans le cadre d’un accord de gestion avec la Bruce Trail Conservancy. Les 27,7 hectares (68 acres) de côte escarpée sont dominés par des forêts de feuillus d’érables à sucre, avec des communautés côtières, des conifères et des escarpements. Barrow Bay abrite 268 espèces documentées, dont 132 espèces végétales et 36 espèces fauniques. Quatre des espèces qui ont été observées sur la propriété sont classées comme espèces en péril et sont protégées au niveau provincial et/ou fédéral.

Importance patrimoniale

Ces propriétés font partie des zones d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINC) d’importance provinciale du sud de Barrow Bay (science de la vie), qui abritent des espèces rares, notamment la scolopendre d’Amérique, le séneçon à feuilles obovales, le pioui de l’Est et la grive des bois. La majorité de ces propriétés se compose d’un écosystème de collines et d’escarpements avec des forêts uniques d’érables à sucre matures et de multiples sources permanentes le long de l’escarpement.