Clarke Property - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Clarke Property

The Clarke property is located on the northern Bruce Peninsula and features spectacular views of the Lake Huron shoreline with numerous bays, low headlands, shoals and small islands. This 40-hectare (99-acre) property features globally rare alvar habitats, which are open habitats with thin or absent soil cover over calcareous bedrock (limestone or dolostone). Although alvar habitats can endure extreme climactic conditions (such as flooding, drought and variable temperatures), they are still among the most species-rich ecosystems in the world.

The Clarke property hosts the alvar pavement habitat type, which occurs on exposed bedrock that has less than 2 centimetres (1 inch) of soil. Although vegetation is patchy, bushes, mosses and lichens dominate the property. Numerous ponds, rich fens and other wetland communities contribute to the unique heritage value of the Clarke property.

The Clarke property was generously donated to the Ontario Heritage Trust by Dr. William Clarke and Margaret Clarke in 1984.

Heritage value

The Clarke property is recognized as part of the provincially significant Cape Hurd-Baptist Harbour Life Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI). This ANSI supports high ecological diversity with 35 ecotypes, seven of which are globally and provincially rare alvar vegetation community types. Several provincially rare species such as the dwarf lake iris, ram’s head lady slipper, northern dropseed, eastern Massasauga rattlesnake and Queen snake have been observed on this property. It also falls within important winter deer ranges, contains suitable habitat for migratory land and water birds, and serves as a corridor for the movement of small fish species, invertebrates, semi-aquatic mammals, reptiles and amphibians.

La propriété Clarke - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La propriété Clarke

La propriété Clarke est située au nord de la péninsule Bruce et offre des panoramas spectaculaires sur les rives du lac Huron avec ses nombreuses baies, ses caps bas, ses hauts-fonds et ses petites îles. Cette propriété de 40 hectares (99 acres) abrite des habitats de type alvar, rares à l’échelle mondiale, qui sont des habitats ouverts avec une couche de sol mince ou inexistante sur un substrat rocheux calcaire (calcaire ou dolomie). Bien que les habitats de type alvar puissent supporter des conditions climatiques extrêmes (telles que les inondations, la sécheresse et les fortes variations de température), ils comptent toujours parmi les écosystèmes les plus riches en espèces au monde.

La propriété Clarke abrite le type d'habitat de pavage de l'alvar, qui apparaît sur un substrat rocheux apparent avec moins de 2 centimètres (1 pouce) d’épaisseur de sol. Bien que la végétation soit clairsemée, les buissons, les mousses et les lichens sont les espèces dominantes de la propriété. De nombreux étangs, de riches tourbières et d'autres communautés vivant dans les zones humides contribuent à l’importance patrimoniale singulière de la propriété Clarke.

La propriété Clarke a été généreusement donnée à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en 1984, par le Dr William Clarke et Margaret Clarke.

Importance patrimoniale

La propriété Clarke est reconnue comme faisant partie de la zone d'intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) d’importance provinciale touchant les sciences de la vie de la région du cap Hurd et du havre Baptist. Cette ZINS préserve une grande diversité écologique avec 35 écotypes, dont sept sont des formes de communautés végétales d'alvars rares au niveau mondial et provincial. Plusieurs espèces inhabituelles au niveau provincial, telles que l’iris lacustre, le cypripède tête-de-bélier, le sporobole à glumes inégales, le massasauga et la couleuvre royale ont été observées sur cette propriété. Par ailleurs, elle se situe sur une importante aire d'hivernage pour les cerfs, comporte un habitat approprié pour les oiseaux migrateurs terrestres et aquatiques, et sert de couloir pour le déplacement des petites espèces de poissons, des invertébrés, des mammifères semi-aquatiques, des reptiles et des amphibiens.