Ontario Heritage Trust announces Thomas Symons Award for Commitment to Conservation - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Ontario Heritage Trust announces Thomas Symons Award for Commitment to Conservation

TORONTO – The Ontario Heritage Trust is pleased to announce the creation of a new award to recognize excellence in heritage conservation in Ontario – the Thomas Symons Award for Commitment to Conservation.

This new award, part of the Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards program, is named in honour of the former Chair of the Trust from 2010 to 2017, Professor Thomas Symons. Professor Symons’ dedication to protecting and promoting Ontario’s heritage over his career has had a significant impact in Ontario and across Canada.

The Thomas Symons Award will recognize individuals who have made defining contributions to heritage conservation throughout their professional careers. The broad range of heritage endeavours would include cultural and natural heritage, intangible cultural heritage, sustainability and biodiversity. Recipients’ work must demonstrate leadership, commitment, creativity, positive and significant impact to their field within the province and good conservation practices. Eligible nominees must reside in Ontario and must have spent their career in the field of conservation.

“Professor Symons' unparalleled body of work has changed the landscape of conservation in Ontario,” said Trust Board Chair Harvey McCue. “The Trust is proud to honour his achievements and, through the naming of this annual award, inspire the important work of others to come.”

“I am touched and delighted by the action of the Ontario Heritage Trust in establishing this award,” said Professor Symons. “I am honoured to be associated in this way with individuals who have given in their professional life such profound service to heritage conservation.”

The inaugural award will be presented at the Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards ceremony during Heritage Week in February 2020, and thereafter awarded annually. Nominations for the Trust’s recognition programs for 2020, including this award, will open this spring and close on September 30, 2020.

About Thomas Symons

Thomas H.B. Symons, C.C., O.Ont. FRSC, LL.D., D.U., D.Litt., D.Cn.L., FRGS, KSS, served as Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust from 2010 to 2017. Throughout Professor Symons’ expansive career, he has made an indelible mark on history, higher education and heritage preservation in Ontario, across Canada and around the world. A well regarded educator at the University of Toronto, Professor Symons served as the founding president of Trent University, which opened in 1964. Under his guidance, Trent established the country’s first Indigenous Studies program, followed by a Canadian Studies program, making the University a leader in interdisciplinary research. Professor Symons has chaired or served on numerous boards and commissions concerned with intellectual, cultural and historical issues, and with international academic and cultural relations. He is a past chair of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, the Commission on Canadian Studies, the National Statistics Council, and the Association of Commonwealth Universities. He also served as Chair of the Ontario Human Rights Commission from 1975 to 1978, spearheading major revisions to the province’s Human Rights Code. He is a companion of the Order of Canada, and in 2002 he was also awarded the Order of Ontario. He possesses a true passion for scholarship and for the heritage of Ontario and has made an enormous impact on the Ontario Heritage Trust through his scholarship, volunteerism and guidance.

Quick facts

  • The Ontario Heritage Trust administers recognition programs for excellence in heritage, including the Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards and the Young Heritage Leaders awards, which have recognized 4,891 people since 2000.
  • Individuals’ professional work over their career was previously ineligible for the Trust’s recognition programs. This new award fills a gap in the Trust’s awards program and in the broader heritage sector in Ontario.

Learn more

Contact

For more information about the Thomas Symons Award for Commitment to Conservation, contact David Leonard at 416-314-3586 or David.Leonard@heritagetrust.on.ca.

About the Ontario Heritage Trust

The Ontario Heritage Trust (the Trust) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries. The Trust identifies, protects, promotes and conserves Ontario’s heritage. The Trust conserves provincially significant cultural and natural heritage, interprets Ontario’s history, educates Ontarians of its importance in our society, and celebrates the province’s diversity. The Trust envisions an Ontario where the places, landscapes, traditions and stories that embody our heritage are reflected, valued and conserved for future generations.

-30-

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien annonce l'attribution du prix Thomas Symons pour l'engagement en faveur de la conservation - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien annonce l'attribution du prix Thomas Symons pour l'engagement en faveur de la conservation

TORONTO – La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien a le plaisir d'annoncer la création d'un nouveau prix destiné à reconnaître l'excellence en matière de conservation du patrimoine en Ontario : le prix Thomas Symons pour l'engagement en faveur de la conservation.

Ce nouveau prix, qui fait partie du programme des Prix du lieutenant-gouverneur pour réalisations en matière de conservation du patrimoine ontarien, est nommé en l'honneur de l'ancien président de la Fiducie de 2010 à 2017, le professeur Thomas Symons. Le dévouement du professeur Symons envers la protection et la promotion du patrimoine de l'Ontario tout au long de sa carrière a eu un impact important en Ontario et dans tout le Canada.

Le prix Thomas Symons récompensera les personnes qui ont apporté une contribution déterminante à la conservation du patrimoine tout au long de leur carrière professionnelle. Le large éventail d'activités liées au patrimoine comprendrait le patrimoine culturel et naturel, le patrimoine culturel immatériel, la durabilité et la biodiversité. Les travaux des récipiendaires doivent faire preuve de leadership, d'engagement et de créativité; avoir un impact positif et important dans leur domaine au sein de la province; mettre de l’avant de bonnes pratiques de conservation. Les candidats admissibles doivent résider en Ontario et avoir passé leur carrière dans le domaine de la conservation.

« L'ensemble des travaux du professeur Symons a changé le paysage de la conservation en Ontario, a déclaré Harvey McCue, président du conseil d'administration de la Fiducie. Le Fiducie est fière d'honorer ses réalisations et, en donnant ce nom à ce prix annuel, d'inspirer l'important travail des autres à venir ».

« Je suis touché et ravi de l'action de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien qui a créé ce prix » a déclaré le professeur Symons. Je suis honoré d'être associé à des personnes qui ont rendu dans leur vie professionnelle un service aussi profond à la conservation du patrimoine ».

Le prix inaugural sera remis lors de la cérémonie de remise des Prix du lieutenant-gouverneur pour réalisations en matière de conservation du patrimoine ontarien pendant la semaine du patrimoine en février 2020 et sera ensuite décerné chaque année. Les nominations pour les programmes de reconnaissance de la Fiducie pour 2020, y compris ce prix, s'ouvriront au printemps et se termineront le 30 septembre 2020.

À propos de Thomas Symons

Thomas H.B. Symons, C.C., O.Ont. FRSC, LL.D., D.U., D.Litt., D.Cn.L., FRGS, KSS, a été président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien de 2010 à 2017. Tout au long de sa carrière, le professeur Symons a laissé une marque indélébile sur l'histoire, l'enseignement supérieur et la préservation du patrimoine en Ontario, au Canada et dans le monde entier. Éducateur réputé de l'Université de Toronto, le professeur Symons a été le président fondateur de l'Université Trent, qui a ouvert ses portes en 1964. Sous sa direction, Trent a créé le premier programme d'études autochtones du pays, suivi d'un programme d'études canadiennes, faisant de l'université un leader dans la recherche interdisciplinaire. Le professeur Symons a présidé de nombreux conseils et commissions s'occupant de questions intellectuelles, culturelles et historiques, ainsi que de relations universitaires et culturelles internationales, ou en a été membre. Il a été président de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, de la Commission des études canadiennes, du Conseil national de la statistique et de l'Association des universités du Commonwealth. Il a également été président de la Commission des droits de la personne de l'Ontario de 1975 à 1978 et a été le fer de lance de révisions majeures du Code des droits de la personne de la province. Il est compagnon de l'Ordre du Canada et, en 2002, il a également reçu l'Ordre de l'Ontario. Il possède une véritable passion pour l'érudition et le patrimoine de l'Ontario, et il a eu un impact énorme sur la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien grâce à son érudition, son bénévolat et ses conseils.

Faits en bref

  • La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien administre des programmes de reconnaissance de l'excellence en matière de patrimoine, notamment les Prix du lieutenant-gouverneur pour réalisations en matière de conservation du patrimoine ontarien et les prix des jeunes leaders du patrimoine, qui ont récompensé 4 891 personnes depuis 2000.
  • Auparavant, le travail professionnel des individus au cours de leur carrière n'était pas admissible aux programmes de reconnaissance de la Fiducie. Ce nouveau prix comble une lacune dans le Programme des prix de la Fiducie et dans le secteur plus large du patrimoine en Ontario.

En savoir plus

Personne-ressource

Pour un complément d'information sur le prix Thomas Symons pour l'engagement en faveur de la conservation, contactez David Leonard au 416 314-3586 ou à David.Leonard@heritagetrust.on.ca.

À propos de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (la Fiducie) est une agence relevant du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture de l'Ontario. La Fiducie identifie, protège, fait connaître et conserve le patrimoine de l'Ontario. La Fiducie conserve le patrimoine culturel et naturel d'importance provinciale, interprète l'histoire de l'Ontario, sensibilise les Ontariens à son importance dans notre société et célèbre la diversité de la province. La Fiducie envisage un Ontario où les lieux, les paysages, les traditions et les histoires qui incarnent notre patrimoine sont reflétés, valorisés et conservés pour les générations futures.

-30-