Ontario Heritage Trust celebrates Heritage Week 2020 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Ontario Heritage Trust celebrates Heritage Week 2020

TORONTO – This week, communities across the province will host special events and activities to mark Ontario Heritage Week 2020, which runs from February 17-23. This is the 36th year that Heritage Week has been celebrated in Ontario, providing a chance to explore the rich heritage of the province firsthand.

“Ontario offers the world in one province — whether it’s through touring our museums, visiting our cultural sites or hiking in a nature preserve, there are many wonderful opportunities to experience heritage shared among all Ontarians,” said Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries. “Our history is rich because of the diversity that has built our unique cultural fabric. I encourage Ontarians to experience it this Heritage Week in local communities across the province.”

The Ontario Heritage Trust kicks off Heritage Week 2020 on February 17 with a Family Fun Day event at Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site in Dresden. The event will explore the life of Josiah Henson – the man who founded the Dawn Settlement and helped to inspire Harriet Beecher Stowe’s abolitionist novel Uncle Tom’s Cabin. There will also be a guided tour of the site, arts and crafts for children, food samples, African-themed tattoos and a book signing by renowned chef Patience Chirisa, author of Za & Zoey.

Later in the week, the Trust’s Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards ceremony will take place at Queen’s Park. The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will present 25 individuals, organizations and projects with these prestigious awards for their dedication and leadership in conserving the many varied aspects of Ontario’s heritage.

Ontarians can follow the Trust’s social media accounts and check the calendar of events to learn more about our heritage, as well as the work that the Trust undertakes year-round to enrich life in our province.

“As we look back over more than 10,000 years of human history in Ontario, there is so much to discover and understand,” said Harvey McCue, Chair of the Board of the Ontario Heritage Trust. “Each of us and our communities has places, stories and traditions that we value. This Heritage Week, I encourage you to explore a bit and learn something new about the people and places that have influenced our heritage.”

Learn more

Contact

For more information about Heritage Week and the Ontario Heritage Trust, contact Edward Dodd at 416-325-5074 or Edward.Dodd@heritagetrust.on.ca.

About the Ontario Heritage Trust

The Ontario Heritage Trust (the Trust) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries. The Trust identifies, protects, promotes and conserves Ontario’s heritage. The Trust conserves provincially significant cultural and natural heritage, interprets Ontario’s history, educates Ontarians of its importance in our society and celebrates the province’s diversity. The Trust envisions an Ontario where the places, landscapes, traditions and stories that embody our heritage are reflected, valued and conserved for future generations.

-30-

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien célèbre la Semaine du patrimoine 2020 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien célèbre la Semaine du patrimoine 2020

TORONTO – Cette semaine, des collectivités dans l’ensemble de la province tiendront des activités et des événements spéciaux pour souligner la Semaine du patrimoine 2020 de l’Ontario, laquelle se déroule du 17 au 23 février. C’est la 36e année que l’on célèbre la Semaine du patrimoine en Ontario, et ce sera une belle occasion d’explorer personnellement le riche patrimoine de la province.

« L’Ontario offre le monde entier dans une seule province. Que ce soit en visitant nos musées, nos sites culturels ou en faisant une randonnée dans une réserve naturelle, il existe de nombreuses et merveilleuses possibilités de découvrir le patrimoine partagé par tous les Ontariens », a déclaré Lisa MacLeod, ministre des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture. « Notre histoire est riche en raison de la diversité qui a construit notre tissu culturel unique. J’encourage les Ontariens à la vivre en cette Semaine du patrimoine dans les collectivités locales de toute la province. »

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien lance la Semaine du patrimoine 2020 le 17 février en présentant une journée familiale amusante au Site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom. Dans le cadre de cet événement, on examinera la vie de Josiah Henson – l’homme qui a fondé l’établissement Dawn et qui a inspiré le roman « La Case de l’oncle Tom » de l’écrivaine abolitionniste Harriet Beecher Stowe. Il y aura également une visite guidée du site, des ateliers d’art et d’artisanat pour les enfants, une dégustation d’échantillons alimentaires, des tatouages d’inspiration africaine et la dédicace de livres par Patience Chirisa, auteure de Za & Zoey.

Plus tard au cours de la semaine, les Prix du lieutenant-gouverneur pour les réalisations en matière de conservation du patrimoine ontarien, administrés par la Fiducie, seront remis lors d’une cérémonie qui se tiendra à Queen’s Park. L’honorable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, lieutenante-gouverneure de l’Ontario, remettra à 25 individus, organisations et projets ces prix prestigieux soulignant leur dévouement et leur leadership en matière de conservation des nombreux et différents aspects du patrimoine ontarien.

Les Ontariens peuvent suivre les comptes des médias sociaux de la Fiducie et consulter le calendrier des événements pour en savoir plus au sujet de notre patrimoine et du travail qu’entreprend la Fiducie tout au long de l’année pour enrichir la vie dans notre province.

« En examinant l’histoire de l’humanité en Ontario sur plus de 10 000 ans, force est de constater qu’il y a tellement à découvrir et à comprendre, a souligné Harvey McCue, président du conseil de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Chacun de nous et chacune de nos collectivités ont des histoires, des traditions et des lieux qu’ils privilégient. En cette Semaine du patrimoine, je vous encourage à explorer un peu et à apprendre quelque chose au sujet des gens et des lieux qui ont eu une influence sur notre patrimoine. »

En savoir plus

Contact

Pour obtenir un complément d’information au sujet de la Semaine du patrimoine et de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, communiquez avec Edward Dodd au 416 325-5074 ou à Edward.Dodd@heritagetrust.on.ca.

À propos de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (la Fiducie) est une agence relevant du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture de l'Ontario. La Fiducie identifie, protège, fait connaître et conserve le patrimoine de l'Ontario. La Fiducie conserve le patrimoine culturel et naturel d'importance provinciale, interprète l'histoire de l'Ontario, sensibilise les Ontariens à son importance dans notre société et célèbre la diversité de la province. La Fiducie envisage un Ontario où les lieux, les paysages, les traditions et les histoires qui incarnent notre patrimoine sont reflétés, valorisés et conservés pour les générations futures.

-30-