Ontario Heritage Trust launches the Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) Internship for Indigenous Youth - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Ontario Heritage Trust launches the Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) Internship for Indigenous Youth

TORONTO – The Ontario Heritage Trust is pleased to announce the creation of the Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) Internship for Indigenous Youth. The internship will provide opportunities, mentorship and support to young Indigenous persons interested in the fields of heritage conservation, education or culture. Applications will open in fall 2021, with the first internship placement beginning in 2022.

The program is named in honour of Harvey McCue, former Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust. McCue is an educator and consultant who launched Canada’s first Indigenous Studies program at Trent University in 1969. His work over the past 50 years has been instrumental in shaping the teaching of Indigenous history and culture across Canada, and has empowered students and youth.

“To this day, Harvey McCue’s leadership and commitment to bettering Indigenous education has had an enduring impact across Canada,” said John Ecker, Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust. “It’s only fitting that an internship to support the next generation of Indigenous leaders in heritage conservation, education and culture would be named to celebrate his contributions.”

The program will provide a 16-week paid internship to a recipient each year. Interns will work directly with Trust staff and other professionals to gain work experience in a variety of heritage conservation disciplines such as archaeology, education, interpretation and commemoration, and community development.

“We look forward to providing opportunities to young Indigenous leaders through the internship,” said Trust Board Secretary Bob Taylor-Vaisey, who was an undergrad student with McCue at Trent University. “The internship program is a fine tribute to an educator who I have always admired and respected.”

“I’m delighted and pleased that the OHT has created this internship program for Indigenous youth as it will increase awareness among Indigenous youth of the importance of heritage and offer them the opportunity to engage in meaningful heritage work in Ontario,” said Harvey McCue. “To establish the program in my name is a generous and thoughtful recognition of my association with the Trust.”

The Trust is accepting donations in support of the Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) Internship for Indigenous Youth.

About Harvey McCue

Harvey McCue (Waubageshig), an Anishinabe from the Georgina Island First Nation, is a consultant specializing in aboriginal issues in the areas of health, education, self-governance, gaming, public relations and economic development. McCue helped found and develop the Native Studies Department at Trent University, where he taught for 14 years. He was Director of Education Services for the Cree School Board in northern Quebec for five years, and was the first First Nations Director General of Indian Education at Indian and Northern Affairs Canada in Ottawa. McCue joined the Ontario Heritage Trust’s Board of Directors in 2009, was appointed Vice-Chair in 2015 and served as Chair from 2017-20.

Learn more

  • Find out more about the Ontario Heritage Trust and its programs.

Contact

Patricia Njovu, Senior Marketing and Communications Specialist, Ontario Heritage Trust. Patricia.Njovu@heritagetrust.on.ca, 437-248-1439

About the Ontario Heritage Trust

The Ontario Heritage Trust (the Trust) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries. The Trust conserves, interprets and shares Ontario’s heritage. The Trust conserves provincially significant cultural and natural, tangible and intangible heritage, interprets Ontario’s history, celebrate its diversity and educates Ontarians of its importance in our society. The Trust envisions an Ontario where we conserve, value and share the places and landscapes, histories, traditions and stories that embody our heritage, now and for future generations.  

-30-

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien lance le Programme de stages Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) pour les jeunes Autochtones - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien lance le Programme de stages Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) pour les jeunes Autochtones

TORONTO – La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien est heureuse d'annoncer la création du Programme de stages Harvey McCue (Waubageshig) pour les jeunes Autochtones. Ce programme offrira des possibilités, du mentorat et du soutien aux jeunes autochtones qui s’intéressent aux domaines de la conservation du patrimoine, de l'éducation ou de la culture. Les demandes ouvriront à l'automne 2021, et le premier stage débutera en 2022.

Le programme est nommé en l'honneur de Harvey McCue, ancien président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, qui a lancé le premier programme d'études autochtones du Canada à l'Université Trent en 1969. Le travail qu'il a accompli au cours des cinquante dernières années a contribué à façonner l'enseignement de l'histoire et de la culture autochtones dans tout le Canada, et a donné des moyens d’agir aux étudiants et aux jeunes.

« À ce jour, le leadership et l'engagement de Harvey McCue pour améliorer l'éducation autochtone ont eu un impact durable dans tout le Canada, a déclaré John Ecker, président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Il est tout à fait approprié qu'un stage visant à soutenir la prochaine génération de leaders autochtones en matière de conservation du patrimoine, d'éducation et de culture soit nommé pour célébrer ses contributions. »

Le programme offrira chaque année un stage rémunéré de 16 semaines à un bénéficiaire. Les stagiaires travailleront directement avec le personnel de la Fiducie et d'autres professionnels afin d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle dans diverses disciplines de la conservation du patrimoine telles que l'archéologie, l'éducation, l'interprétation et la commémoration, ainsi que le développement communautaire.

« Nous nous réjouissons d’offrir des possibilités à de jeunes leaders autochtones grâce au programme de stages, a déclaré Bob Taylor-Vaisey, secrétaire du Conseil de la Fiducie, qui était un étudiant de premier cycle avec McCue à l’Université Trent. Le programme de stages est un bel hommage à un éducateur que j’ai toujours admiré et respecté. »

« Je suis ravi et heureux que la FPO ait créé ce programme de stages pour les jeunes autochtones, car il permettra de sensibiliser les jeunes autochtones à l’importance du patrimoine et leur offrira la possibilité de participer à l’important travail patrimonial en Ontario. La création du programme en mon nom est une reconnaissance généreuse et attentionnée de mon association avec la Fiducie. »

Toute personne souhaitant faire un don pour soutenir le Programme de stages Harvey McCue pour les jeunes Autochtones.

À propos de Harvey McCue

Harvey McCue (Waubageshig), un Anishinabe de la Première Nation de Georgina Island, est un consultant spécialisé dans les questions autochtones dans les domaines de la santé, de l'éducation, de l'autonomie gouvernementale, du jeu, des relations publiques et du développement économique. M. McCue a contribué à la création et au développement du département d'études autochtones de l'Université Trent, où il a enseigné pendant 14 ans. Il a été directeur des services éducatifs de la Commission scolaire crie dans le Nord du Québec pendant cinq ans, et a été le premier directeur général de l'éducation des Premières Nations au ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien à Ottawa. M. McCue s'est joint au conseil d'administration de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en 2009, a été nommé vice-président en 2015 et a occupé le poste de président de 2017 à 2020.

En savoir plus

Personne-ressource

Patricia Njovu, spécialiste principale du marketing et des communications, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Patricia.Njovu@heritagetrust.on.ca, 437 248-1439

À propos de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (la Fiducie) est un organisme relevant du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture de l’Ontario. La Fiducie conserve, interprète et partage le patrimoine de l’Ontario. La Fiducie conserve le patrimoine culturel et naturel d’importance provinciale, interprète l’histoire de l’Ontario, sensibilise les Ontariens à son importance dans notre société et célèbre la diversité de la province. La Fiducie envisage un Ontario où les lieux, les paysages, les traditions et les histoires qui incarnent notre patrimoine sont conservés, valorisés et partagés pour les générations actuelles et futures.

-30-