The Ontario Heritage Trust announces the 2021 Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence participants - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

The Ontario Heritage Trust announces the 2021 Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence participants

TORONTO – Four Canadian artists, whose skills span a wide range of practices, will be the 2021 artists in residence of the Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence Program.

Run by the Ontario Heritage Trust and supported by the RBC Foundation, the residency program provides professional artists from across Canada space to live and work at the former home and studio of renowned Canadian artist Doris McCarthy.

For 2021, the artists are:

  • Shahrzad Amin, Interdisciplinary Artist, Oakville, Ontario
  • Aaron Jones, Visual and Multimedia Artist, Pickering, Ontario
  • Cassandra Myers, Poet and Writer, Toronto, Ontario
  • Alize Zorlutuna, Interdisciplinary Artist and Curator, Toronto, Ontario

In 1988, McCarthy donated her residence, Fool’s Paradise, to the Ontario Heritage Trust for heritage and artistic activities. Her vision was for other artists to have the opportunity to live and work at the site that inspired her own artistic expression.

“Our vision for the residency program at Fool’s Paradise is that it contributes to the artistic and cultural legacy of Doris McCarthy by demonstrating the inspirational value of the landscape and promoting excellence in Canadian art, music and writing,” said John Ecker, Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust. “We are delighted to welcome these four artists and hope that they will be able to draw inspiration from this remarkable home, just as McCarthy once did.”

“As a long-standing supporter of the arts, we are thrilled to partner with the Ontario Heritage Trust to foster the work of artists through the Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence program,” said Karen Eastwood, Regional Vice President, East Toronto, RBC Royal Bank. “Being able to promote an initiative that honours Doris’ vision is something we are proud to be a part of.”

Since the program began in 2014, 40 artists have completed residencies. Applications for 2022 residencies will open this spring, with an application deadline of September 30, 2021.

This program is supported generously by the RBC Foundation’s Emerging Artists Project.

For more information:

Contact:

Patricia Njovu, Senior Marketing & Communications Specialist, Ontario Heritage Trust. Patricia.Njovu@heritagetrust.on.ca, 437-248-1439

Fazleena Ansar, Regional Manager, Citizenship & Social Impact, Greater Toronto Region, RBC Royal Bank. Fazleena.Ansar@rbc.com, 416-974-0751

About the Ontario Heritage Trust

The Ontario Heritage Trust (the Trust) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Heritage, Sport, Tourism and Culture Industries. The Trust conserves, interprets and shares Ontario’s heritage. The Trust conserves provincially significant cultural and natural, tangible and intangible heritage, interprets Ontario’s history, celebrate its diversity and educates Ontarians of its importance in our society. The Trust envisions an Ontario where we conserve, value and share the places and landscapes, histories, traditions and stories that embody our heritage, now and for future generations. 

-30-

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien annonce les participants au Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy 2021 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien annonce les participants au Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy 2021

TORONTO - Quatre artistes canadiens, dont les compétences relèvent de disciplines diversifiées, seront les artistes en résidence du Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy de 2021.

Géré par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien et soutenu par la Fondation RBC, le programme de résidence offre aux artistes professionnels de partout au Canada un logement et un espace de travail dans l’ancienne demeure de la célèbre artiste canadienne Doris McCarthy, où se trouvait son atelier.

Voici les artistes pour 2021:

  • Shahrzad Amin, artiste interdisciplinaire, Oakville (Ontario)
  • Aaron Jones, artiste d’art visuel et multimédia, Pickering (Ontario)
  • Cassandra Myers, poétesse et écrivaine, Toronto (Ontario)
  • Alize Zorlutuna, artiste interdisciplinaire et conservatrice, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

En 1988, Doris a fait don de sa résidence, le « paradis d’une folle », à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien à des fins d’activités patrimoniales et artistiques. Elle souhaitait que d’autres artistes aient la possibilité de vivre et de travailler à l’endroit qui a inspiré sa propre expression artistique.

John Ecker, président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, a déclaré, « Ce que nous attendons du programme de résidence à Paradis d’une folle est qu'il contribue à l'héritage artistique et culturel de Doris McCarthy en démontrant la valeur inspiratrice du paysage et en promouvant l'excellence dans l'art, la musique et l'écriture canadiens. Nous sommes ravis d'accueillir ces quatre artistes et nous espérons qu'ils pourront s'inspirer de cette remarquable maison, à l’instar de McCarthy ».

Karen Eastwood, vice-présidente régionale, Toronto Est, Banque royale du Canada (RBC), a déclaré : « À titre de partisans de longue date des arts, nous sommes fiers de nous associer à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien pour appuyer le travail des artistes grâce au Programme d'artiste en résidence Doris McCarthy. Nous sommes ravis de contribuer à une initiative qui honore la vision de Doris ».

Puisque le programme a commencé en 2014, 40 artistes ont terminé leur résidence. Les demandes visant les résidences de 2022 seront ouvertes ce printemps, la date limite des demandes étant fixée au 30 septembre 2021.

Ce programme est généreusement soutenu par le Projet artistes émergents de la Fondation RBC.

Pour en savoir plus :

Personnes-ressources : 

Patricia Njovu, spécialiste principale Marketing et Communications, Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. Patricia.Njovu@heritagetrust.on.ca, 437 248-1439

Fazleena Ansar, directrice régionale, Citoyenneté et Impact social, région du Grand Toronto, Banque Royale RBC. Fazleena.Ansar@rbc.com, 416 974-0751

À propos de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien 

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (la Fiducie) est un organisme du ministère du Patrimoine, des Sports, du Tourisme et des Industries culturelles de l'Ontario. La Fiducie conserve, interprète et partage le patrimoine de l'Ontario. La Fiducie conserve le patrimoine culturel et naturel, matériel et immatériel, d'importance provinciale, interprète l'histoire de l'Ontario, célèbre sa diversité et sensibilise les Ontariens à son importance dans notre société. La Fiducie conçoit une province d’Ontario où nous conservons, valorisons et partageons les lieux et les paysages, les histoires, les traditions et les récits qui incarnent notre patrimoine, aujourd'hui et pour les générations futures.

-30-