2020 artists in residence - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

For 2020, the artists in residence are as follows:

Paulette Phillips – educator and artist, Toronto

Paulette Phillips
Photo: Paulette Phillips
Paulette Phillips is an artist known for her emotionally affective work. Attracted to domestic structures, she uses lens-based strategies informed through philosophy, feminism and forensics to sift through these haunted sites. Her new film, The Quoddy Fold, had recent exhibitions at The Bonavista Biennale in Newfoundland, DOKFest in Kassel, Germany, and at the MSVU Gallery in Halifax in 2020. Phillips has exhibited her work at venues that include the Tate Modern in London, England, the Pompidou Centre in Paris, France and the Musée d’art contemporain in Montreal. She was a 2019 finalist for the Ontario Premier’s Awards for Excellence in the Arts, and her work is in a number of public and private collections including the National Gallery of Canada, the Oakville Galleries, and the Museum of Modern Art, New York. Her work is represented through Danielle Arnaud Contemporary Art in London, England. Phillips teaches time-based and contemporary art practices at OCAD University in Toronto. www.paulette-phillips.ca

Luce Dumont – visual artist and printmaker, Saint-Fabien, Quebec

Luce Dumont
Photo: Charles Maissoneuve 2019
Luce Dumont, visual artist and printmaker, lives near Rimouski, Quebec. Formerly trained as a botanist, she holds a bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts (from Laval University), and a master’s short program in the study of the artistic practice (from the University of Quebec at Rimouski). Driven by a sense of challenge and curiosity, she resorts to representations of nature as metaphors of human realities. Her practice in drawing and etching embodies her ecological as well as esthetical considerations, and focuses on such notions as duality between life/death, and silence/revolt. Her work has been presented in solo or group exhibitions in Quebec, Manitoba, New Brunswick and Scotland. www.lucedumont.com

Sameer Farooq – interdisciplinary artist, Toronto

Sameer Farooq
Photo: Yuula Benivolski
Sameer Farooq is a Canadian artist of Pakistani and Ugandan Indian descent. His interdisciplinary practice investigates tactics of representation and enlists the tools of sculpture, installation, photography, documentary filmmaking, writing and the methods of anthropology to explore various forms of collecting, interpreting and displaying. The result is often a collaborative work that counterbalances how dominant institutions speak about our lives: a counter-archive, new addition to a museum collection, or a buried history made visible. With exhibitions at institutions around the world – including the Aga Khan Museum (Toronto), the Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto), The British Library (London), the Institute of Islamic Culture (Paris), the Lilley Museum (Reno), the Vicki Myhren Gallery (Denver), the Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver), Maquis Projects, (Izmir), Trankat (Tétouan, Morocco), the Sol Koffler Gallery (Providence), Artellewa (Cairo), and Sanat Limani (Istanbul) – Farooq has received several awards from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the Toronto Arts Council, and the Europe Media Fund, as well the President’s Scholarship at the Rhode Island School of Design. Reviews and essays dedicated to his work have been included in Canadian Art, The Washington Post, BBC Culture, Hyperallergic, Artnet, The Huffington Post, C Magazine, and others. He was longlisted for the Sobey Art Award in 2017 and 2018. www.sameerfarooq.com

Gabrielle Moser – art historian, writer and curator, Toronto

Gabrielle Moser
Photo: Laura Findlay
Gabrielle Moser is an art historian, writer and curator. She is the author of Projecting Citizenship: Photography and Belonging in the British Empire (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2019) and her writing appears in publications such as Artforum, Canadian Art, Journal of Visual Culture, Photography and Culture, and Prefix Photo. Moser has held fellowships at the Paul Mellon Centre for the Study of British Art, the Ryerson Image Centre, and the University of British Columbia, and was a Fulbright Visiting Scholar at Brown University in 2017. A founding member of EMILIA-AMALIA, Moser holds a PhD from the art history and visual culture program at York University in Toronto and is an Assistant Professor in art history at OCAD University. gabriellemoser.com

Julie Mannell – prose and poetry author, literary critic, cultural commentator and essayist, Toronto

Julie Mannell
Photo: Sarah Bodri
Julie Mannell is an author of poetry, fiction, non-fiction and criticism. She was the recipient of the Constance Rook and HarperCollins Scholarships, the Mona Adilman Poetry Prize and the Lionel Shapiro Award for Excellence in Creative Writing, and was named on the 2018 CBC Poetry Prize shortlist. In/Words Magazine named her one of the Top 30 Poets Under 30. Mannell's work has appeared in numerous magazines, newspapers and journals. In 2019, she was the Writer-in-Residence at the University of Nebraska. Mannell is a professor of creative writing at George Brown College and an acquisitions editor at Dundurn Press in Toronto. www.juliemannell.com

Kate Barss – writer, Toronto

Kate Barss

Kate Barss is a queer writer living in Toronto. Her work has appeared in Tin House, Catapult, The Hairpin, The Awl, Taddle Creek and others. She has been shortlisted for prizes in Room Magazine, Prism International, Event Magazine and others. One of her short stories appeared on Wigleaf's List of Top 50 Short Fictions of 2018. https://catapult.co/katebarss


Gita Hashemi – artist, curator and writer, Toronto

Gita Hashemi
Grounding (2017) | Photo: Justin Wonnacott
Artist, curator and writer Gita Hashemi’s experimental transmedia practice spans over 30 years, encompassing work that draws on visual, media, performance, site-specific and live art strategies. Exploring social relations and the interconnections of language and culture, Hashemi’s work centres on marginalized histories and contemporary politics. She has received many art grants, and her work has been exhibited at festivals, galleries and museums nationally and internationally, reviewed extensively, and won local and international awards. Most recently, her project Grounding, produced during an Open Space Lab residency at the Carlton University Art Gallery, was selected as the best exhibition of the year in 2017 by the Ontario Association of Art Galleries. http://gitaha.net

2020 artistes en résidence - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Pour 2020, les artistes en résidence sont les suivants :

Paulette Phillips – éducatrice et artiste, Toronto

Paulette Phillips

Photo : Paulette Phillips

Paulette Phillips est une artiste réputée pour ses œuvres affectives. Attirée par les structures domestiques, elle a recours à des stratégies photographiques éclairées par la philosophie, le féminisme et les sciences judiciaires pour passer au crible ces lieux hantés. Son nouveau film, The Quoddy Fold, a été présenté récemment à la Bonavista Biennale de Terre-Neuve et au DOKFest de Kassel, en Allemagne, et le sera à la galerie d’art de l’Université Mount Saint Vincent à Halifax en 2020. Mme Phillips a exposé ses œuvres entre autres au musée Tate Modern de Londres, en Angleterre, au Centre Pompidou de Paris, en France, et au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Elle était une des finalistes de 2019 des prix du Premier ministre pour l’excellence artistique de l’Ontario, et ses œuvres se trouvent dans un certain nombre de collections publiques et privées, notamment le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, les Oakville Galleries et le Museum of Modern Art de New York. Elle est représentée par Danielle Arnaud Contemporary Art à Londres, en Angleterre. Mme Phillips enseigne les pratiques en art contemporain et basé sur le temps à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario à Toronto.:
www.paulette-phillips.ca


Luce Dumont – artiste visuelle et graveuse, Saint-Fabien (Québec)

Luce Dumont
Photo : Charles Maissonneuve 2019

Luce Dumont, artiste visuelle et graveuse, vit près de Rimouski, au Québec. Après avoir suivi une formation de botaniste, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en beaux-arts (de l’Université Laval) et terminé un programme court de deuxième cycle en étude de la pratique artistique (à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski). Animée par un sentiment de défi et de curiosité, elle a recours aux représentations de la nature comme des métaphores des réalités humaines. Ses dessins et gravures incarnent ses considérations écologiques ainsi qu’esthétiques, et se concentrent sur des notions comme la dualité entre la vie et la mort, et le silence et la révolte. Ses œuvres ont été présentées lors d’expositions individuelles ou collectives au Québec, au Manitoba, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Écosse. www.lucedumont.com


Sameer Farooq – artiste interdisciplinaire, Toronto

Sameer Farooq
Photo : Yuula Benivolski
Sameer Farooq est un artiste canadien aux origines pakistanaises, ougandaises et indiennes. Dans sa pratique interdisciplinaire, il examine les tactiques de la représentation et fait appel aux outils de la sculpture, de l’installation, de la photographie, du film documentaire, de l’écriture et des procédés anthropologiques pour explorer diverses formes de collecte, d’interprétation et de présentation. Le résultat est souvent des œuvres collaboratives qui font contrepoids au discours institutionnel dominant au sujet de nos vies : une archive factice, un nouvel ajout à une collection muséale ou une histoire enfouie refaisant surface. M. Farooq a participé à des expositions dans des établissements aux quatre coins du globe – notamment le musée Aga Khan (Toronto), le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (Toronto), la British Library (Londres), l’Institut des Cultures d’Islam (Paris), le Lilley Museum (Reno), la Vicki Myhren Gallery (Denver), la Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver), Maquis Projects, (Izmir), Trankat (Tétouan, Maroc), la Sol Koffler Gallery (Providence), Artellewa (Caire) et Sanat Limani (Istanbul), et a reçu plusieurs prix du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, du Toronto Arts Council et de l’Europe Media Fund, ainsi que la Bourse du recteur de la Rhode Island School of Design. Des comptes rendus et des essais de ses œuvres ont été publiés dans Canadian Art, The Washington Post, BBC Culture, Hyperallergic, Artnet, The Huffington Post, C Magazine et d’autres. Il a figuré sur la première liste de sélection pour le Prix Sobey pour les arts en 2017 et en 2018. www.sameerfarooq.com

Gabrielle Moser – historienne de l’art, écrivaine et conservatrice, Toronto

Gabrielle Moser
Photo : Laura Findlay
Gabrielle Moser est historienne de l’art, écrivaine et conservatrice. Elle est l’auteure de Projecting Citizenship: Photography and Belonging in the British Empire (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2019) et ses textes sont publiés entre autres dans Artforum, Canadian Art, Journal of Visual Culture, Photography and Culture et Prefix Photo. Moser a été boursière au Paul Mellon Centre for the Study of British Art, au Ryerson Image Centre et à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et elle a été une chercheuse invitée de Fulbright à l’Université Brown en 2017. Une des membres ayant fondé le groupe de travail EMILIA-AMALIA, Mme Moser est titulaire d’un Ph. D du programme d’histoire de l’art et de culture visuelle de l’Université York de Toronto et est professeure adjointe en histoire de l’art à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario. gabriellemoser.com

Julie Mannell – prosatrice et poète, critique littéraire, commentatrice culturelle et essayiste, Toronto

Julie Mannell
Photo : Sarah Bodri
Julie Mannell est poète, auteure d’ouvrages de fiction et généraux et critique. Elle a été bénéficiaire des bourses Constance Rooke et HarperCollins, lauréate du prix de poésie Mona Adilman et du prix d’excellence en création littéraire Lionel Shapiro, et a figuré sur la liste de présélection du prix de poésie de la CBC de 2018. In/Words Magazine l’a nommée parmi les 30 meilleurs poètes de moins de 30 ans. Les œuvres de Mme Mannell ont paru dans de nombreux journaux et revues. En 2019, elle était l’écrivaine-résidente à l’Université de Nebraska. Mme Mannell est professeure de création littéraire au George Brown College et responsable des acquisitions à la Dundurn Press de Toronto. www.juliemannell.com

Kate Barss – écrivaine, Toronto

Kate Barss

Kate Barss est une écrivaine allosexuelle qui demeure à Toronto. Ses œuvres ont paru dans Tin House, Catapult, The Hairpin, The Awl, Taddle Creek et autres publications. Elle a figuré sur la liste de présélection de prix dans Room Magazine, Prism International, Event Magazine et d’autres publications. Une de ses nouvelles a figuré sur la liste de Wigleaf des 50 meilleurs recueils de nouvelles de 2018. https://catapult.co/katebarss


Gita Hashemi – artiste, curatrice et écrivaine, Toronto

Gita Hashemi
Photo de Grounding (2017) par Justin Wonnacott
La pratique transmédia expérimental de Gita Hashemi, artiste, curatrice et écrivaine, s’étend sur plus de 30 ans, englobant des œuvres qui s’inspirent de stratégies visuelles, médias, de performance, propres au site et d’art en direct. Explorant les relations sociales et les interconnexions linguistiques et culturelles, le travail de Mme Hashemi est axé sur des histoires marginalisées et des politiques contemporaines. Elle a reçu de nombreuses subventions en art, et ses œuvres ont été exposées à des festivals, des galeries d’art et des musées à l’échelle nationale et internationale, ont fait l’objet de beaucoup de comptes rendus et ont remporté des prix locaux et internationaux. Plus récemment, son projet Grounding, produit durant une résidence à l’Open Space Lab de la Galerie d’Art de l’Université Carleton, a été sélectionné en tant que la meilleure exposition de l’année en 2017 par l’Association ontarienne des galeries d’art. http://gitaha.net