2021 artists in residence - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Learn more about the 2021 artists in residence through their own words

The Ontario Heritage Trust is committed to respecting how artists choose to identify themselves and recognizes these as deeply personal decisions. These artist bios are written by the artists in their own words.

Shahrzad Amin – interdisciplinary artist, Oakville

Shahrzad Amin – interdisciplinary artist, Oakville

Shahrzad Amin is an Iranian-Canadian award-winning interdisciplinary artist with more than 12 years of diverse experiences as a sculptor, multimedia and installation artist, model designer, stop-motion artist and potter. Her interest in fundamental social issues – such as democracy, human rights, equality and migration – has informed an art practice that examines social and cultural issues through different artistic mediums. Her body of work includes filmmaking, architectural elements and the use of language. Amin obtained a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree from Tehran University of Art in 2010 and a Master of Fine Arts degree from OCAD University in 2020. She has three public sculptures, more than 20 group exhibitions, and three solo sculpture exhibitions in her professional background.


Aaron Jones – visual and multimedia artist, Pickering

Aaron Jones – visual and multimedia artist, Pickering

Aaron Jones is a multi-disciplinary visual artist based in Toronto. His practice surrounds ideas of self-reflection and character-building as a way of finding peace. Often using found images, videos and lens-based media, Jones works with different forms of collage to build characters and spaces that reflect on the nuances of his own upbringing, as well as current life and the environment. Jones graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from OCAD University in 2018 and is an active, co-founding member of the BAU Collective. His work is included in the collections of the Ryerson Image Centre, Wedge Curatorial Projects and numerous private collections. He was awarded the 2020 Gattuso Prize for his solo exhibition titled “Closed Fist, Open Palm” at Zalucky Contemporary. His recent shows include exhibitions at the Doris McCarthy Gallery (2020), NIA Centre for the Arts (2019) and Mercer Union (2018). Jones’ upcoming exhibitions in 2021 include a site-specific project at Howard365 for Capture Photography Festival in Vancouver and video projection for Nuit Blanche in Toronto.


Cassandra Myers – poet and writer, Toronto

Cassandra Myers – poet and writer, Toronto

Cassandra Myers (they/she) is a queer, trans, crip, mad South Asian-Italian poet, performer, educator and social worker from Toronto. She has performed poetry across the United States and Canada. Her work primarily focuses on performance poetry within histories of oral storytelling, incorporating sonics, choreography and embodied form. Recently, Myers has begun moving towards print for her poetry. Her work often critiques systems of power and incorporates movies and television, facts about the natural world and uncommon histories. A Master of Social Work candidate at York University, Myers is also a crisis intervention counsellor and youth worker, specializing in care for sexual violence survivors and the QTBIPOC community. She is also a Pink Door Fellow and her work can be found in publications such as Overheard, The Shortline Review, UncommonYOU and elsewhere. Her debut collection, “Smash the Headlights,” is forthcoming from Write Bloody North Publishing in 2022.


Alize Zorlutuna – interdisciplinary artist and curator, Toronto

Alize Zorlutuna – interdisciplinary artist and curator, Toronto

Alize Zorlutuna is a queer interdisciplinary artist, writer and educator whose work explores relationships to land, culture and the more-than-human, while thinking through settler-colonialism, history and solidarity. Having moved between Tkarón:to (Toronto) and Anatolia (present-day Turkey) both physically and culturally throughout her life has informed her practice – making her attentive to spaces of encounter. She enlists poetics and a sensitivity to materials in works that span video, installation, printed matter, performance and sculpture. The body and its sensorial capacities are central to her work. Zorlutuna has presented her work across Turtle Island (North America) and internationally. She is currently based in Tkarón:to.


Luce Dumont – visual artist and printmaker, Saint-Fabien, Quebec

Luce Dumont
Photo: Charles Maissoneuve 2019
Luce Dumont, visual artist and printmaker, lives near Rimouski, Quebec. Formerly trained as a botanist, she holds a bachelor’s degree in Fine Arts (from Laval University), and a master’s short program in the study of the artistic practice (from the University of Quebec at Rimouski). Driven by a sense of challenge and curiosity, she resorts to representations of nature as metaphors of human realities. Her practice in drawing and etching embodies her ecological as well as esthetical considerations, and focuses on such notions as duality between life/death, and silence/revolt. Her work has been presented in solo or group exhibitions in Quebec, Manitoba, New Brunswick and Scotland. www.lucedumont.com

Sameer Farooq – interdisciplinary artist, Toronto

Sameer Farooq
Photo: Yuula Benivolski
Sameer Farooq is a Canadian artist of Pakistani and Ugandan Indian descent. His interdisciplinary practice investigates tactics of representation and enlists the tools of sculpture, installation, photography, documentary filmmaking, writing and the methods of anthropology to explore various forms of collecting, interpreting and displaying. The result is often a collaborative work that counterbalances how dominant institutions speak about our lives: a counter-archive, new addition to a museum collection, or a buried history made visible. With exhibitions at institutions around the world – including the Aga Khan Museum (Toronto), the Art Gallery of Ontario (Toronto), The British Library (London), the Institute of Islamic Culture (Paris), the Lilley Museum (Reno), the Vicki Myhren Gallery (Denver), the Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver), Maquis Projects, (Izmir), Trankat (Tétouan, Morocco), the Sol Koffler Gallery (Providence), Artellewa (Cairo), and Sanat Limani (Istanbul) – Farooq has received several awards from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the Toronto Arts Council, and the Europe Media Fund, as well the President’s Scholarship at the Rhode Island School of Design. Reviews and essays dedicated to his work have been included in Canadian Art, The Washington Post, BBC Culture, Hyperallergic, Artnet, The Huffington Post, C Magazine, and others. He was longlisted for the Sobey Art Award in 2017 and 2018. www.sameerfarooq.com

Gabrielle Moser – art historian, writer and curator, Toronto

Gabrielle Moser
Photo: Laura Findlay
Gabrielle Moser is an art historian, writer and curator. She is the author of Projecting Citizenship: Photography and Belonging in the British Empire (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2019) and her writing appears in publications such as Artforum, Canadian Art, Journal of Visual Culture, Photography and Culture, and Prefix Photo. Moser has held fellowships at the Paul Mellon Centre for the Study of British Art, the Ryerson Image Centre, and the University of British Columbia, and was a Fulbright Visiting Scholar at Brown University in 2017. A founding member of EMILIA-AMALIA, Moser holds a PhD from the art history and visual culture program at York University in Toronto and is an Assistant Professor in art history at OCAD University. gabriellemoser.com

Gita Hashemi – artist, curator and writer, Toronto

Artist, curator and writer Gita Hashemi’s experimental transmedia practice spans over 30 years, encompassing work that draws on visual, media, performance, site-specific and live art strategies. Exploring social relations and the interconnections of language and culture, Hashemi’s work centres on marginalized histories and contemporary politics. She has received many art grants, and her work has been exhibited at festivals, galleries and museums nationally and internationally, reviewed extensively, and won local and international awards. Most recently, her project Grounding, produced during an Open Space Lab residency at the Carlton University Art Gallery, was selected as the best exhibition of the year in 2017 by the Ontario Association of Art Galleries. http://gitaha.net


Please note: Terms such as "queer," “crip” and “mad” originated as pejoratives, but are being reclaimed by some members of LGBTQ+ communities, persons with disabilities and by people with mental illnesses. The Trust respects and supports these deeply personal decisions.

2021 artistes en résidence - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Apprenez-en davantage sur les artistes en résidence de 2021, dans leurs propres mots:

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien s’engage à respecter la façon dont les artistes choisissent de s’identifier, et reconnaît qu’il s’agit de décisions profondément personnelles. Ces biographies d’artistes sont rédigées par les artistes eux-mêmes dans leurs propres mots.

Shahrzad Amin - artiste interdisciplinaire, Oakville

Shahrzad Amin - artiste interdisciplinaire, Oakville

Shahrzad Amin est une artiste interdisciplinaire irano-canadienne primée qui compte plus de 12 ans d’expériences diverses en tant que sculptrice, artiste multimédia et d’installation, conceptrice de modèles, artiste de prises de vues image par image et potière. Son intérêt pour les questions sociales fondamentales - telles que la démocratie, les droits de la personne, l’égalité et la migration - a inspiré une pratique artistique qui examine les questions sociales et culturelles à l’aide de différents moyens d’expression artistique. Son œuvre comprend la réalisation de films, des éléments architecturaux et l’utilisation du langage. Shahrzad a obtenu un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université d’art de Téhéran en 2010 et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario (ÉADO) en 2020. Dans son parcours professionnel, elle compte trois sculptures publiques, plus de 20 expositions collectives et trois expositions individuelles de sculpture.


Aaron Jones - artiste visuel et multimédia, Pickering

Aaron Jones - artiste visuel et multimédia, Pickering

Aaron Jones est un artiste visuel multidisciplinaire situé à Toronto. Sa pratique repose sur des idées d’autoréflexion et de formation du caractère comme façon de se recueillir. Utilisant souvent des images, des vidéos et des photographies trouvées, Aaron travaille avec différentes formes de collage pour créer des personnages et des espaces qui reflètent les nuances de sa propre éducation, ainsi que la vie actuelle et l’environnement. Aaron a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts de l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario (ÉADO) en 2018 et est un membre actif et cofondateur du projet BAU Collective. Ses œuvres font partie des collections du Centre de l’image de Ryerson, de Wedge Curatorial Projects et de nombreuses collections privées. Il a reçu le prix Gattuso 2020 pour son exposition individuelle intitulée « Closed Fist, Open Palm » à la galerie d’art Zalucky Contemporary. Il a récemment présenté des expositions à la galerie Doris McCarthy (2020), au Centre Nia pour les arts (2019) et à la Mercer Union (2018). Les prochaines expositions d’Aaron en 2021 comprennent un projet au site Howard365 dans le cadre du Capture Photography Festival à Vancouver et une projection vidéo pour Nuit Blanche à Toronto.


Cassandra Myers - poète et auteure, Toronto

Cassandra Myers (iel/elle) est une poète, artiste de spectacle, éducatrice et travailleuse sociale de Toronto, queer, trans, handicapée, extravagante d’origine sud-asiatique et italienne. Elle a présenté des poèmes à l’échelle des États-Unis et du Canada. Son travail se concentre principalement sur la poésie devant un public dans le cadre de récits de contes oraux, intégrant des sons, des chorégraphies et des formes exprimées. Récemment, Cassandra a commencé à se tourner vers l’imprimé pour sa poésie. Son travail critique souvent les systèmes de pouvoir et intègre le cinéma et la télévision, des faits sur le monde naturel et des histoires peu communes. Candidate à la maîtrise en travail social à l’Université York, Cassandra est également conseillère en intervention de crise et travailleuse auprès des jeunes, se spécialisant dans les soins aux survivants de la violence sexuelle et à la communauté QTBIPOC. Elle est aussi une boursière Pink Door et son travail peut être trouvé dans des publications telles que Overheard, The Shortline Review, UncommonYOU et ailleurs. Son premier recueil, « Smash the Headlights », sera publié par Write Bloody North Publishing en 2021.


Alize Zorlutuna - artiste interdisciplinaire et conservatrice, Toronto

Alize Zorlutuna - artiste interdisciplinaire et conservatrice, Toronto

Alize Zorlutuna est une artiste interdisciplinaire, écrivaine et éducatrice queer dont le travail explore les relations avec la terre, la culture et le monde au-delà de l’humain, tout en réfléchissant au colonialisme, à l’histoire et à la solidarité. Le fait d’avoir déménagé entre Tkarón:to (Toronto) et l’Anatolie (la Turquie actuelle) à la fois physiquement et culturellement tout au long de sa vie a influencé sa pratique - la rendant attentive aux espaces de rencontre. Elle fait appel à la poétique et à une sensibilité aux matériaux dans des œuvres qui allient la vidéo, l’installation, l’impression, le spectacle et la sculpture. Le corps et ses capacités sensorielles sont au cœur de son œuvre. Alize a présenté son travail à l’échelle de l’île de la Tortue (l’Amérique du Nord) et sur la scène internationale. Elle est actuellement à Tkarón:to.


Luce Dumont – artiste visuelle et graveuse, Saint-Fabien (Québec)

Luce Dumont
Photo : Charles Maissonneuve 2019

Luce Dumont, artiste visuelle et graveuse, vit près de Rimouski, au Québec. Après avoir suivi une formation de botaniste, elle a obtenu un baccalauréat en beaux-arts (de l’Université Laval) et terminé un programme court de deuxième cycle en étude de la pratique artistique (à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski). Animée par un sentiment de défi et de curiosité, elle a recours aux représentations de la nature comme des métaphores des réalités humaines. Ses dessins et gravures incarnent ses considérations écologiques ainsi qu’esthétiques, et se concentrent sur des notions comme la dualité entre la vie et la mort, et le silence et la révolte. Ses œuvres ont été présentées lors d’expositions individuelles ou collectives au Québec, au Manitoba, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Écosse. www.lucedumont.com


Sameer Farooq – artiste interdisciplinaire, Toronto

Sameer Farooq
Photo : Yuula Benivolski
Sameer Farooq est un artiste canadien aux origines pakistanaises, ougandaises et indiennes. Dans sa pratique interdisciplinaire, il examine les tactiques de la représentation et fait appel aux outils de la sculpture, de l’installation, de la photographie, du film documentaire, de l’écriture et des procédés anthropologiques pour explorer diverses formes de collecte, d’interprétation et de présentation. Le résultat est souvent des œuvres collaboratives qui font contrepoids au discours institutionnel dominant au sujet de nos vies : une archive factice, un nouvel ajout à une collection muséale ou une histoire enfouie refaisant surface. M. Farooq a participé à des expositions dans des établissements aux quatre coins du globe – notamment le musée Aga Khan (Toronto), le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (Toronto), la British Library (Londres), l’Institut des Cultures d’Islam (Paris), le Lilley Museum (Reno), la Vicki Myhren Gallery (Denver), la Contemporary Art Gallery (Vancouver), Maquis Projects, (Izmir), Trankat (Tétouan, Maroc), la Sol Koffler Gallery (Providence), Artellewa (Caire) et Sanat Limani (Istanbul), et a reçu plusieurs prix du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, du Toronto Arts Council et de l’Europe Media Fund, ainsi que la Bourse du recteur de la Rhode Island School of Design. Des comptes rendus et des essais de ses œuvres ont été publiés dans Canadian Art, The Washington Post, BBC Culture, Hyperallergic, Artnet, The Huffington Post, C Magazine et d’autres. Il a figuré sur la première liste de sélection pour le Prix Sobey pour les arts en 2017 et en 2018. www.sameerfarooq.com

Gabrielle Moser – historienne de l’art, écrivaine et conservatrice, Toronto

Gabrielle Moser
Photo : Laura Findlay
Gabrielle Moser est historienne de l’art, écrivaine et conservatrice. Elle est l’auteure de Projecting Citizenship: Photography and Belonging in the British Empire (The Pennsylvania State University Press, 2019) et ses textes sont publiés entre autres dans Artforum, Canadian Art, Journal of Visual Culture, Photography and Culture et Prefix Photo. Moser a été boursière au Paul Mellon Centre for the Study of British Art, au Ryerson Image Centre et à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et elle a été une chercheuse invitée de Fulbright à l’Université Brown en 2017. Une des membres ayant fondé le groupe de travail EMILIA-AMALIA, Mme Moser est titulaire d’un Ph. D du programme d’histoire de l’art et de culture visuelle de l’Université York de Toronto et est professeure adjointe en histoire de l’art à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario. gabriellemoser.com

Gita Hashemi – artiste, curatrice et écrivaine, Toronto

Gita Hashemi
Photo de Grounding (2017) par Justin Wonnacott
La pratique transmédia expérimental de Gita Hashemi, artiste, curatrice et écrivaine, s’étend sur plus de 30 ans, englobant des œuvres qui s’inspirent de stratégies visuelles, médias, de performance, propres au site et d’art en direct. Explorant les relations sociales et les interconnexions linguistiques et culturelles, le travail de Mme Hashemi est axé sur des histoires marginalisées et des politiques contemporaines. Elle a reçu de nombreuses subventions en art, et ses œuvres ont été exposées à des festivals, des galeries d’art et des musées à l’échelle nationale et internationale, ont fait l’objet de beaucoup de comptes rendus et ont remporté des prix locaux et internationaux. Plus récemment, son projet Grounding, produit durant une résidence à l’Open Space Lab de la Galerie d’Art de l’Université Carleton, a été sélectionné en tant que la meilleure exposition de l’année en 2017 par l’Association ontarienne des galeries d’art. http://gitaha.net

Remarque : Des termes tels que « queer », « handicapé » et « fou » étaient à l’origine péjoratifs, mais ils sont aujourd’hui réappropriés par certains membres des communautés LGBTQ+, par des personnes handicapées et par des personnes atteintes d’une maladie mentale. La Fiducie respecte et soutient ces décisions d’auto-identification profondément personnelles.