Heritage Matters Live with Edward Burtynsky - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Heritage Matters Live with Edward Burtynsky

Join us for a free virtual talk and Q-and-A with award-winning Canadian photographer Edward Burtynsky

The Ontario Heritage Trust presents Heritage Matters Live with Edward Burtynsky – a free virtual talk featuring the renowned Canadian photographer and filmmaker, whose stunning photos explore large-scale social, political and economic issues affecting our planet.

In this eye-opening talk, drawn from all he has witnessed during his 40 years bearing witness to the planet’s changing landscapes, Burtynsky discusses – and demonstrates in his incredible, large-scale photographs – that we’ve reached an unprecedented moment in history. Join Burtynsky as he asks us to consider what drives us as a species and about our planet’s future. The talk is followed by a question-and-answer session hosted by Nahlah Ayed (CBC’s Ideas).

Heritage Matters Live with Edward Burtynsky will be available online for streaming any time from November 9 to December 9.


About Edward Burtynsky

Edward Burtynsky is regarded as one of the world’s most accomplished contemporary photographers. His remarkable depictions of global industrial landscapes represent more than 40 years of his dedication to bearing witness to the impact of human beings on our planet. Burtynsky’s works are included in the collections of more than 60 major museums around the world. Learn more

What is the Anthropocene Epoch?

The term Anthropocene – from “anthropos” for human and “cene” for recent – is a term that describes the most recent period in Earth’s history when human activity started to have a significant impact on the planet’s climate and ecosystems. Learn more

Anthropocene Education Program

Are you an educator? Augment your classroom’s viewing experience with free online resources and educational toolkits from The Anthropocene Project’s Education Program, a collaboration with Canadian Geographic Education and the Royal Canadian Geographical Society. Learn more

Our commitment to natural heritage

The Ontario Heritage Trust is committed to the conservation of the natural environment, and works with partners from across the province to ensure that wetlands, woodlands, grasslands and geological land formations are protected in perpetuity.

This year, the Trust is exploring the importance of the environment, both in terms of the context of our history as Ontarians (including that of the Indigenous peoples) and in terms of the biophysical features and natural heritage that give Ontario its unique attributes (like the Niagara Escarpment), and provide us with such rich resources like clean water and fertile soils. Learn more


Sponsored by

Questions de patrimoine en direct avec Edward Burtynsky - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Questions de patrimoine en direct avec Edward Burtynsky

Joignez-vous à nous pour une séance de discussion et une foire aux questions virtuelles gratuites avec le photographe primé Edward Burtynsky

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien présente Questions de patrimoine en direct avec Edward Burtynsky, une discussion virtuelle gratuite avec le photographe et cinéaste canadien réputé, qui explore à travers ses photos à couper le souffle les grands enjeux sociaux, politiques et économiques auxquels le monde est confronté.

Dans cette discussion édifiante, M. Burtynsky, qui a été témoin des paysages changeants du globe dans ses 40 années de carrière, parle – et montre avec ses photographies grand format – du moment sans précédent que nous avons atteint dans notre histoire. Joignez-vous à lui pour discuter de nos facteurs de motivation en tant qu’espèce et pour le futur de notre planète. La discussion est suivie d’une foire aux questions animée par Nahlah Ayed (animatrice de l’émission Ideas sur CBC).

La séance Questions de patrimoine en direct avec Edward Burtynsky sera accessible en continu à toute heure du 9 novembre au 9 décembre.


À propos d’Edward Burtynsky

Edward Burtynsky est considéré comme l’un des photographes contemporains les plus accomplis au monde. Ses clichés remarquables de paysages industriels mondiaux témoignent du dévouement dont il fait preuve depuis plus de 40 ans pour montrer l’impact des humains sur la planète. Les photos de M. Burtynsky sont présentées dans plus de 60 grands musées dans le monde. En savoir plus

Qu’est-ce que l’Anthropocène?

Le terme Anthropocène – formé des mots « anthropos » (humain) et « kainos » (récent) – désigne la période la plus récente de l’histoire de la Terre où l’activité humaine a commencé à influer significativement sur le climat et les écosystèmes de la planète. En savoir plus

Programme d’éducation sur l’Anthropocène

Êtes-vous un éducateur? Rehaussez l’expérience de visionnement de votre classe grâce à des ressources en ligne et des trousses d’éducation du Programme d’éducation sur l’Anthropocène, mené en partenariat par Canadian Geographic Éducation et la Société géographique royale du Canada. En savoir plus

Notre engagement envers le patrimoine naturel

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien s’engage envers la conservation de l’environnement et travaille avec des partenaires de partout dans la province pour veiller à la protection à perpétuité des milieux humides, des régions boisées, des prairies et des formations géologiques.

Cette année, la Fiducie étudie l’importance de l’environnement d’un point de vue historique pour les Ontariens (et les Autochtones), et du point de vue des caractéristiques biophysiques et du patrimoine naturel qui confèrent à l’Ontario ses attributs uniques (comme l’escarpement du Niagara) et des ressources riches telles que l’eau propre et des sols fertiles. En savoir plus

Parrainé par