James Baby, 1763-1833 - Historical background - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

James Baby, 1763-1833 - Historical background

On Tuesday, October 2, 1962, a provincial plaque commemorating James Baby was unveiled on the grounds of his former home (now the Duff-Baby House) at 221 Mill Street in Windsor, Ontario. This was one in a series of plaques erected throughout the province by the Ontario Heritage Trust (formerly the Archaeological and Historic Sites Board of Ontario).

The unveiling ceremony was arranged and sponsored by the Essex County Historical Association; Mr. R. Alan Douglas, President, acted as program host. Participants in the event included: the Reverend J.F. McCaffrey, S.J., Director of the Martyrs' Shrine at Midland, a member of the Archaeological and Historic Sites Board; The Honourable William Murdoch, MPP Essex South and Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Mr. Maurice Belanger, MPP Windsor-Sandwich; His Worship M.J. Patrick, Mayor of Windsor; and Mr. David Botsford, curator of Fort Malden National Historic Park. The plaque was unveiled by Miss Jean Beasley, then-owner of the Baby house.

In 1986, the Ontario Heritage Foundation (now the Ontario Heritage Trust and successor to the Archaeological and Historic Sites Board) and current owner of the Duff-Baby House, replaced the original plaque with a revised bilingual marker that reads:

JAMES BABY 1763-1833

    The first member of Upper Canada's French community to gain prominence in government circles, Baby was born in British-controlled Detroit, the son of a well-established trader. He was educated in Quebec and, after returning to this area, entered the mercantile business. In 1792, through his family's influence, he received lifetime appointments to the Executive and Legislative Councils, Upper Canada's pre-eminent political bodies. Three years later Baby moved from Detroit to the south shore and in 1807 took up residence in this commodious 18th-century house. For his long and loyal government service he was granted the post of Inspector General of Public Accounts in 1815. To attend to the duties of this position, Baby moved to York (Toronto), where he lived until his death.

JAMES BABY 1763-1833

    Premier membre de la communauté française du Haut- Canada à avoir de l'importance dans les milieux gouvernementaux, M. Baby, né à Détroit, alors sous le domination britannique, était le fils d'un commerçant prospère. Après des études à Québec, il retourna dans sa région où il travailla dans le commerce. En 1792, la position influente de sa famille lui valut des nominations à vie aux Conseils exécutif et législatif, les deux organes politiques prédominants du Haut-Canada. Trois ans plus tard, M. Baby quitta Détroit pour la rive sud et, en 1807, emménagea dans cette spacieuse demeure du XVIIIe siècle. Pour ses longs et loyaux services au sein du gouvernement, il obtint, en 1815, le poste d'inspecteur général des comptes publics. Pour remplir ses fonctions, il déménagea à York (Toronto), où il vécut jusqu'à sa mort.

Historical background

Jacques Baby (commonly known as James, the anglicized form he himself preferred) was born in British Detroit on August 25, 1763. His father, Jacques Baby, dit Dupéront, was a well- established Indian agent and trader. After the conquest of New France in 1760, he quickly adjusted to life under the British regime. His loyalty as a British subject, particularly during Pontiac's uprising in 1763, brought him to the fore of the old French settlement. Dupéront was appointed a captain and interpreter in the British Department of Indian Affairs in 1777; two years later, became acting commissary. The Baby family was also well placed in Quebec where Dupéront's brother, François Baby, commanded a good deal of influence as a businessman, militia officer, office holder, politician, seigneur and landowner. Young James Baby was educated at the Sulpician seminary in Montreal and at the seminary at Quebec, graduating in 1782. After a European tour of several years, Baby returned to Detroit where he established himself in the family's commercial enterprises. In time, he amassed considerable personal wealth.

The division of the old province of Quebec into Upper and Lower Canada in 1791, and the subsequent establishment of a new civil administration in Upper Canada, augured well for Baby. Government officials decided that they needed to identify and cultivate a spokesman from the province's large French Roman Catholic community, someone who could ensure the loyalty of the "Canadiens". Sir John Johnson's list of possible appointees to the new province's executive and legislative councils therefore included the caveat "it will be advisable to add one or two Canadians from Detroit". By November 1791, four of the five appointments to the executive council had been chosen. The first lieutenant governor of Upper Canada, John Graves Simcoe, recommended that Baby be named

    to the first vacancy both in the Executive & Legislative Councils, as I understand that he is the most proper Person in that District, from whence it is but Justice that a French Gentleman of undisputable Loyalty should be selected.

James Baby was sworn in as a member of the Executive Council of Upper Canada on July 9, 1792. Three days later, he was made a member of the Legislative Council.

As the first French-Canadian to gain prominence in government circles, Baby met with some opposition in Detroit. In September 1792, a prominent local merchant, John Askin, warned that if Baby were appointed lieutenant-colonel of the Detroit militia, "many People would give up their Commissions … it would Cause some Uneasiness in the Country." Instead, Baby was appointed lieutenant of the County of Kent and, as such, became a member of the new aristocracy being promoted by John Graves Simcoe. As county lieutenant, Baby made recommendations on the appointments of magistrates and militia officers and supervised their activities. Some of the regular officers of the British garrison at Detroit resented the fact that Baby was given such authority, which only compounded the antagonism felt toward him in the region.

In 1794, in the face of hostile movements on the American border, the legislature passed a bill placing each lieutenant at the head of the militia in his county. Baby's actions as colonel of the 1st Regiment of Kent militia at times seemed to have run counter to the self-perceived interests of the Canadien community. For example, when Commodore Grant was unable to secure volunteers to man the ships of the provincial marine, Baby enforced old Canadien laws that had been repealed and sent several Canadiens on board the King's vessels as militiamen. Although he received praise from government officials for his actions, Baby's standing among the Canadiens was diminished.

After the British fort at Detroit was transferred to American control under the terms of Jay's Treaty in 1794, Baby abandoned his business and property in the region and by the fall of 1795 had moved to Sandwich (Windsor), the new seat of government for the western district. His decision to leave Detroit caused him considerable financial hardship. After the death of Indian agent Alexander McKee, he wrote to Simcoe to "implore your credit towards obtaining for myself the vacancy" of the office of deputy superintendent general of Indian affairs. Baby was one of three entrusted with the appointment, but it was withdrawn two months later.

In July 1799, his future brightened somewhat when he received a Crown grant of 3,000 acres of land as a member of the executive council. In 1802, Baby married Elizabeth Abbott and settled in Sandwich, establishing a store and raising a family of six children. In 1807, he purchased the commodious two-storey home of Scottish merchant and fur trade Alexander Duff on Russell Street East at Mill Street. The Baby family lived in this house until about 1815.

In addition to his responsibilities on the executive and legislative councils, Baby attended to the duties of a number of other local posts, including surrogate court judge, justice of the peace and district commissioner for the purchase of merchantable hemp. During the war of 1812, he saw some active service in his capacity as county lieutenant and militia colonel.

In 1815, as a reward for his years of government service, Baby was appointed inspector general of public accounts for Upper Canada. He then moved his family to York (Toronto) where, in the years to follow, he numbered among his friends such like-thinking members of the "family compact" as John Strachan, Thomas Clark and John Beverley Robinson, among others.

Although a minor figure politically, Baby remained a symbol of the loyal Canadien, attending to his duties regularly and conscientiously. He received other appointments over the years, including that of arbitrator for Upper Canada in its customs dispute with Lower Canada in 1822. Baby was a strong adherent of the Roman Catholic faith; he acted at times as Bishop Alexander Macdonell's mediator with the Maitland administration, and spearheaded the drive to build St Paul's Church, the first Roman Catholic church in York.

James Baby died at York on February 19, 1833, the oldest legislative and executive councillor in the province. John Strachan wrote in tribute of his friend:

    It is with extreme concern that we announce to the public the loss of so valuable and respected a member of this society as the Honourable James Baby. He was a Christian without guile, affable and polished in his manners, courteous in his conversations, dignified in his deportment, warm in his affections, steady in his friendships and unshaken in his principles. The great object of his life was usefulness and the spring of all his actions was of the religious. A great blank has been made in our circle and one of the most worthy of our elders has been gathered to his fathers.

Duff-Baby House was acquired by the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1979 and has since been restored.

© Ontario Heritage Trust, 1962, 1992, 2011

James Baby, 1763-1833 - Historique - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

James Baby, 1763-1833 - Historique

Le mardi 2 octobre 1962, une plaque provinciale destinée à célébrer le souvenir de James Baby a été dévoilée sur les terres de son ancienne demeure (aujourd’hui la maison Duff-Baby), au 221, rue Mill, à Windsor (Ontario). Cette plaque faisait partie d’une série de plaques installées dans toute la province par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (autrefois la Commission des sites archéologiques et historiques de l’Ontario).

La cérémonie de dévoilement a été organisée et parrainée par la Essex County Historical Association, dont le président, M. R. Alan Douglas, était le maître de cérémonie. Parmi les participants, citons le révérend J.F. McCaffrey, S.J., directeur du Sanctuaire des martyrs canadiens de Midland et membre de la Commission des sites archéologiques et historiques de l’Ontario; l’honorable William Murdoch, député provincial d’Essex-Sud et président de l’Assemblée législative; M. Maurice Belanger, député provincial de Windsor—Sandwich; monsieur le maire de Windsor M.J. Patrick; et M. David Botsford, conservateur du parc historique national du Fort-Malden. La plaque a été dévoilée par mademoiselle Jean Beasley, propriétaire de la maison de James Baby.

En 1986, la Fondation du patrimoine ontarien (qui a succédé à la Commission des sites archéologiques et historiques de l’Ontario, actuelle Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien) et le propriétaire actuel de la maison Duff-Baby ont remplacé la plaque initiale par une plaque bilingue révisée, qui porte la mention suivante :

JAMES BABY 1763-1833

    Premier membre de la communauté française du Haut- Canada à avoir de l'importance dans les milieux gouvernementaux, M. Baby, né à Détroit, alors sous le domination britannique, était le fils d'un commerçant prospère. Après des études à Québec, il retourna dans sa région où il travailla dans le commerce. En 1792, la position influente de sa famille lui valut des nominations à vie aux Conseils exécutif et législatif, les deux organes politiques prédominants du Haut-Canada. Trois ans plus tard, M. Baby quitta Détroit pour la rive sud et, en 1807, emménagea dans cette spacieuse demeure du XVIIIe siècle. Pour ses longs et loyaux services au sein du gouvernement, il obtint, en 1815, le poste d'inspecteur général des comptes publics. Pour remplir ses fonctions, il déménagea à York (Toronto), où il vécut jusqu'à sa mort.

JAMES BABY 1763-1833

    The first member of Upper Canada's French community to gain prominence in government circles, Baby was born in British-controlled Detroit, the son of a well-established trader. He was educated in Quebec and, after returning to this area, entered the mercantile business. In 1792, through his family's influence, he received lifetime appointments to the Executive and Legislative Councils, Upper Canada's pre-eminent political bodies. Three years later Baby moved from Detroit to the south shore and in 1807 took up residence in this commodious 18th-century house. For his long and loyal government service he was granted the post of Inspector General of Public Accounts in 1815. To attend to the duties of this position, Baby moved to York (Toronto), where he lived until his death.

Historique

Jacques Baby (plus connu sous le prénom anglicisé de James, qu'il préférait) est né le 25 août 1763 à Détroit, qui était alors sous domination britannique. Son père, Jacques Baby dit Dupéront, était bien établi en tant que négociant et agent auprès des Indiens. Après la conquête de la Nouvelle-France en 1760, il s’adapte rapidement à la vie sous le régime britannique. Sa loyauté en tant que sujet britannique, notamment pendant le soulèvement de Pontiac de 1763, le porte à l’avant-scène de l’ancienne colonie française. En 1777, Dupéront est nommé capitaine et interprète au service britannique des Affaires indiennes. Deux ans plus tard, il devient commissaire intérimaire. La famille Baby est également bien placé au Québec : le frère de Dupéront, François Baby, y occupe en effet une position influente en tant qu’homme d’affaires, officier de milice, fonctionnaire, homme politique, seigneur et propriétaire foncier. Jeune, James Baby est éduqué au séminaire de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal et au séminaire de Québec. Il termine ses études en 1782. Après un voyage en Europe de plusieurs années, Baby revient à Détroit où il travaille dans les entreprises commerciales de sa famille. Au cours de cette période, il se constitue une fortune considérable.

La division de l’ancienne province du Québec entre le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada en 1791, ainsi que la mise en place d’une nouvelle administration civile au sein du Haut-Canada, sont de bon augure pour James Baby. Les représentants du gouvernement décident qu’ils ont besoin d’établir des relations avec un porte-parole issu de la communauté française catholique de la province, c’est-à-dire une personne capable d’assurer la loyauté des Canadiens français. La liste des candidats aux Conseils exécutif et législatif de la nouvelle province, dressée par Sir John Johnson, porte la mise en garde suivante : « il sera recommandé d’ajouter un ou deux Canadiens de Détroit ». En novembre 1791, quatre des cinq membres du Conseil exécutif sont déjà choisis. Le premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, John Graves Simcoe, préconise de nommer James Baby

    « au premier poste vacant des Conseils exécutif et législatif, car je sais qu’il est la personne la plus convenable de ce district; par conséquent, ce n’est que justice que soit choisi un gentilhomme français d’une loyauté indiscutable ».

Admis en tant que membre du Conseil exécutif du Haut-Canada, James Baby prête serment le 9 juillet 1792. Trois jours plus tard, il devient membre du Conseil législatif.

Premier Canadien français à se hisser dans les milieux gouvernementaux, James Baby se heurte à une certaine opposition à Détroit. En septembre 1792, un commerçant influent, John Askin, prononce une mise en garde contre la désignation de James Baby en tant que lieutenant-colonel de la milice de Détroit : « Plusieurs personnes abandonneraient leurs Commissions... cela provoquerait un mal-être dans le pays ». En fait, James Baby est nommé lieutenant du comté de Kent et devient ainsi membre de la nouvelle aristocratie promue par John Graves Simcoe. En tant que lieutenant de comté, James Baby formule des recommandations sur les désignations de magistrats et d’officiers de milice, et supervise leurs activités. Certains des officiers réguliers de la garnison britannique de Détroit ressentent de l’amertume à l’égard de l’autorité conférée à James Baby, ce qui accroît les tensions ressenties à son égard dans la région.

En 1794, confrontée à des mouvements hostiles à la frontière américaine, l’Assemblée législative adopte un projet de loi visant à placer chaque lieutenant à la tête de la milice de son comté. Les actions de James Baby en tant que colonel du 1st Regiment of Kent semblent parfois aller contre les intérêts de la communauté canadienne, du moins tels qu’elle les perçoit. À titre d’exemple, lorsque le commodore Grant ne parvient pas à trouver des volontaires pour constituer l’équipage des navires de la marine provinciale, James Baby fait appliquer d’anciennes lois canadiennes abrogées, puis détache plusieurs Canadiens français sur des navires du roi en tant que miliciens. Salué par les représentants du gouvernement pour ses actions, James Baby voit sa considération diminuer chez les Canadiens français.

Après le transfert du fort britannique de Détroit aux mains des Américains en vertu du traité de Jay de 1794, James Baby abandonne son entreprise et sa propriété de la région. Dès l’automne 1795, il s’installe à Sandwich (Windsor), nouveau siège du gouvernement du district de l’Ouest. Sa décision de quitter Détroit le place dans une situation financière très difficile. Après la mort d’Alexander McKee, agent auprès des Indiens, il implore Simcoe « d’user de [son] influence afin d’obtenir la vacance » du poste de surintendant général adjoint des Affaires indiennes. James Baby figure parmi les trois personnes nommées, mais se voit retirer la fonction deux mois plus tard.

En juillet 1799, son avenir s’éclaire quelque peu lorsqu’il se voit octroyer une dotation royale de 3 000 acres de terres grâce à sa fonction de membre du Conseil exécutif. En 1802, Baby épouse Elizabeth Abbott, s’installe à Sandwich, fonde un magasin et élève une famille de six enfants. En 1807, il fait l’acquisition de la spacieuse maison à deux étages du marchand et négociant de fourrures écossais Alexander Duff, située rue Russell Est, à hauteur de la rue Mill. La famille Baby vit dans cette maison jusqu’aux environs de l’année 1815.

Outre ses responsabilités aux Conseils exécutif et législatif, James Baby occupe plusieurs autres postes locaux, notamment celui de juge de la Cour des successions, juge de paix et commissaire de district pour l’acquisition de chanvre marchand. Au cours de la guerre de 1812, il est en service actif en tant que lieutenant de comté et colonel de milice.

En 1815, à titre de récompense pour ses années au service du gouvernement, James Baby est nommé inspecteur général des comptes publics pour le Haut-Canada. Il s’installe alors à York (Toronto) où, dans les années qui suivent, il compte parmi ses amis des membres du « Pacte de famille » comme John Strachan, Thomas Clark ou encore John Beverley Robinson.

Figure politique mineure, James Baby reste le symbole du Canadien français loyal, remplissant ses fonctions assidûment et consciencieusement. Au fil des années, il reçoit d’autres titres, notamment en 1822 celui d’arbitre du Haut-Canada sur les litiges douaniers avec le Bas-Canada. James Baby était un fervent catholique : il a agi plusieurs fois en tant que médiateur de l’évêque Alexander Macdonell auprès de l’administration de Maitland et a été le fer de lance du mouvement de construction de l’église Saint-Paul, première église catholique de York.

James Baby meurt à York le 19 février 1833, devenu le plus vieux conseiller législatif et exécutif de la province. John Strachan écrit en hommage à son ami :

    « C’est la mort dans l’âme que nous annonçons au public la perte du membre si estimé et si respecté de cette société que fut l’honorable James Baby. Il était un Chrétien sans malice, affable et poli, courtois de conversation, digne de comportement, chaleureux dans ses affections, régulier dans ses amitiés et inébranlable dans ses principes. L’objet ultime de sa vie était l’utilité et la source de toutes ses actions était religieuse. Un vide immense a été laissé autour de nous et l’un de nos aînés les plus estimables s’en est allé rejoindre ses pères. »

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien achète la maison Duff-Baby en 1979. Elle a depuis été restaurée.

© Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, 1962, 1992, 2011