Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Due to COVID-19, Uncle Tom's Cabin Historic Site will be closed for the 2020 tourism season. We are creating new digital programming of our museum exhibits and capturing our story, which you can find by exploring here on the website. Please contact us by email at utchs@heritagetrust.on.ca for any inquiries.

Book your virtual guided tour of Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site today!

After escaping slavery in 1830, Josiah Henson, with the help of other abolitionists, sought ways to provide refugees with the education and skills needed to become self-sufficient in Upper Canada (now Ontario). In 1841, they purchased 121 hectares (300 acres) of land in present-day Dresden and established the British American Institute, one of the first schools in Canada to emphasize vocational training. The community of Dawn developed around the Institute. The stories of these freedom seekers and how they contributed to the establishment of a significant Black community in this part of the province is told at Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site.

Designed for educators, this 45-minute live tour of Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site brings the history of the Underground Railroad to life through artifacts, a walking tour of the historical buildings, interactive activities and incredible storytelling. A brief question-and-answer session will follow each tour.

An estimated 30,000 Black refugees from slavery in the United States fled to Canada along the silent tracks of the Underground Railroad – a network of people who aided these refugees as they followed the North Star to freedom. One of these freedom seekers was abolitionist, Underground Railroad conductor and former slave   Josiah Henson. He became known as Uncle Tom through his connection to Harriet Beecher Stowe’s 1852 anti-slavery novel, Uncle Tom’s Cabin.

Josiah Henson’s story is told at Uncle Tom’s Cabin Historic Site in Dresden, Ontario. Your live-streaming experience incorporates a tour of the museum and two-hectare (five-acre) property, including the Interpretive Centre, three historical buildings – including the Josiah Henson House – a sawmill, two cemeteries and numerous artifacts that have been preserved as a legacy to those freedom seekers. 

Topics discussed include:

  • an overview of the trans-Atlantic slave trade
  • slavery in Ontario
  • a discussion on the life of Josiah Henson
  • the Underground Railroad
  • early Black settlements in Ontario

Book your live virtual guided tour today to meet a descendant of some of these courageous Underground Railroad freedom seekers and learn about the early Black presence in Ontario!


Note:

  • For an optimal viewing experience, a stable internet connection capable of streaming high-definition videos on one or more devices is recommended.
  • You’ll be able to live-stream this tour using any standard web browser. For an optimal experience, we recommend that you use the latest version of your browser.
  • Portions of the tour discuss the harsh reality of slavery in a sensitive and honest manner and may not be suitable for all ages.

Le Site historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Le Site historique de la Case de l'oncle Tom est maintenant fermé pour la saison.

Réservez dès aujourd’hui votre visite guidée virtuelle du Site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom!

Après avoir échappé à l’esclavage en 1830, Josiah Henson cherche à offrir aux réfugiés l’éducation et les compétences nécessaires pour devenir autosuffisants dans le Haut-Canada (l’actuel Ontario), avec l’aide d’autres abolitionnistes. En 1841, ils font l’acquisition de 121 hectares (300 acres) de terres dans la ville actuelle de Dresden et fondent le British American Institute, une des premières écoles mettant l’accent sur la formation professionnelle au Canada. La collectivité de Dawn se développe autour de l’institut. L’histoire de ces personnes éprises de liberté et de leur collaboration pour établir une importante collectivité noire dans cette partie de la province est contée sur le Site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom.

Conçue pour le personnel éducatif, cette visite en direct de 45 minutes du Site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom fait vivre l’histoire du chemin de fer clandestin au travers d’objets, d’une visite pédestre des bâtiments historiques, d’activités interactives et d’un fabuleux récit. Chaque visite sera suivie d’une brève séance de questions et réponses.

On estime à 30 000 le nombre de réfugiés noirs qui ont fui l’esclavage sévissant aux États-Unis pour gagner le Canada en longeant les rails silencieux du chemin de fer clandestin, un réseau de personnes venant en aide à ces réfugiés qui suivaient l’étoile du Nord vers la liberté. L’une de ces personnes en quête de liberté était l’abolitionniste, conducteur du chemin de fer clandestin et ancien esclave Josiah Henson. Il est devenu connu sous le surnom de l’oncle Tom en raison de son lien avec le roman anti-esclavagiste publié en 1852 par Harriet Beecher Stowe, La case de l’oncle Tom.

L’histoire de Josiah Henson est contée sur le Site historique de la Case de l’oncle Tom, à Dresden, en Ontario. Diffusée en direct et en continu, votre expérience inclura une visite du musée et du domaine de deux hectares (cinq acres), comprenant le centre d’interprétation, trois bâtiments historiques dont la maison de Josiah Henson, une scierie, deux cimetières et de nombreux objets préservés en hommage à ces personnes éprises de liberté. 

Voici les sujets qui seront abordés :

  • le commerce transatlantique d’esclaves (aperçu)
  • l’esclavage en Ontario
  • la vie de Josiah Henson (discussion)
  • le chemin de fer clandestin
  • les premiers établissements noirs en Ontario

Réservez dès aujourd’hui votre visite guidée virtuelle pour faire la rencontre d’une personne descendant de ces courageux esclaves en quête de liberté ayant emprunté le chemin de fer clandestin, et apprenez-en davantage quant aux prémices de la présence des Noirs en Ontario!


Remarque :

  • Pour garantir une expérience de visionnage optimale, nous recommandons une connexion Internet stable à même de diffuser en continu des vidéos haute définition sur un ou plusieurs appareils.
  • Vous pourrez diffuser cette visite en continu et en direct à l’aide de n’importe quel navigateur Web standard. Pour garantir une expérience optimale, nous vous recommandons d’utiliser la version la plus récente de votre navigateur.
  • Certaines parties de la visite abordent la dure réalité de l’esclavage avec sensibilité et honnêteté, et pourraient ne pas convenir aux élèves de tous âges.