Provincial plaque commemorates Le Droit newspaper

OTTAWA – Today, the Ontario Heritage Trust and Le Droit unveiled a provincial plaque commemorating the daily French-language newspaper for its significant role in Franco-Ontarian history.

The provincial plaque reads as follows:

Le Droit

In 1912, members of the Association canadienne-française d’éducation de l’Ontario and the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate – a religious order of the Catholic Church – gathered in Ottawa to discuss the founding of a newspaper to protest Regulation 17, which – until it was no longer enforced in 1927 – severely restricted the teaching of French in Ontario schools. That initial meeting led to the establishment of Le Droit, a Catholic French-language daily newspaper. The first six-page edition of 10,000 copies was published near this location, on March 27, 1913, with Father Charles Charlebois as its editor-in-chief. Over time, Le Droit became a mainstream daily newspaper serving the French-Canadian community in Ontario. In 1997, the newspaper campaigned successfully with the Franco-Ontarian community against the closing of the Ottawa Hôpital Montfort – the only French-language teaching hospital in the province. Le Droit continues actively to support and defend Franco-Ontarian rights and aspirations.


“Le Droit has served as an advocate and a voice for Ontario’s Francophone community for over 100 years. The Trust is proud that this provincial plaque will commemorate Le Droit for its role in preserving French culture and language, and recognize the support it has provided, and continues to provide, to French-speakers across Ontario.” – Harvey McCue, Chair, Ontario Heritage Trust

“As a champion for the rights of Ontario’s francophone community, Le Droit is well deserving of a provincial plaque commemorating its place in our history. Since 1913, Le Droit has been a key figure in preserving and promoting our Franco-Ontarian heritage and for being a strong voice for this vibrant community.” - Daiene Vernile, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport

“For over 100 years, the history of Le Droit and Franco-Ontarian history have been tightly intertwined. Today, we are honoured to have the Ontario Heritage Trust salute our newspaper for its contribution to the vitality of that vibrant community, whose aspirations we will continue to support.” - Martin Cauchon, Executive Chairman, Groupe Capitales Médias

Quick facts

  • The Ontario Heritage Trust has unveiled 57 provincial plaques commemorating Franco-Ontarian history, including one to L’École Guigues and Regulation 17.
  • The Trust’s Provincial Plaque Program commemorates provincially significant people, places and events in Ontario’s history. Since 1956, 1,282 provincial plaques have been unveiled.

Learn more

  • Find out more about the Provincial Plaque Program, including how to submit an application.
  • Search the Ontario Heritage Trust’s Plaque Database to learn more about provincial plaques located across the province.
  • Explore stories related to Franco-Ontarian history in the Trust’s online exhibit Snapshots of Franco-Ontarian heritage.


  • Catrina Colme, Ontario Heritage Trust, 416-325-5074 (office), 416-278-0442 (cell),
  • Martin Cauchon, Executive Chairman, Groupe Capitales Médias, 613 562-7507
  • Pierre-Paul Noreau, President and Publisher, Le Droit, 613 562-7507

The Ontario Heritage Trust is an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario’s heritage.

The Trust gratefully acknowledges the Ontario Ministry of Francophone Affairs for its assistance and the Department of Canadian Heritage for its financial contribution to this provincial plaque through the Canada-Ontario Agreement on French-Language Services.

- 30 -