Bay of Quinte Loyalist Settlement, 1784 - Ontario Heritage Trust


Bay of Quinte Loyalist Settlement, 1784

Following the American Revolution, Loyalist refugees and discharged soldiers took up land grants in five new townships in the Bay of Quinte region. Iroquois loyalists settled lands granted to them on the north shore of the bay at the same time. These and other loyalist settlements west of the Ottawa River led to the establishment of the separate province of Upper Canada in 1791.


In the park beside the ferry dock west of Adolphustown on Highway 33

Region: Eastern Ontario

County/District: County of Lennox and Addington

Municipality: Town of Greater Napanee