Lyndhurst Bridge, The - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Lyndhurst Bridge, The

Reputedly the oldest bridge in existence in Ontario, this structure was built in 1856-57. It was designed by John Roddick, then an employee of a prominent local mill owner, and erected by contractors Miles Fulford and Simon Ransom. A fine example of masonry arch construction, the picturesque three-span bridge was built of local field stone, laid in random courses, and is unadorned except for the sandstone wall caps and arch surrounds. It is distinguished by the curved flare of its end walls and by the slightly oblique shape of two if its arches. In 1986 the Lyndhurst Bridge was strengthened with the erection of a reinforced concrete interior frame and completely restored to its original exterior appearance. It remains in regular use today.

Location

Beside the bridge, in a small park on the Gananoque River, County Road 2, Lyndhurst - off Highway 15 north of Gananoque

Region: Eastern Ontario

County/District: United Counties of Leeds and Grenville

Municipality: Township of Leeds and the Thousand Islands

Themes