Menu

About us

The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre (EWG) is owned and operated by the Ontario Heritage Trust. It is a century-old theatre and National Historic Site. It is also the last operating vaudeville-era double-decker theatre in the world.

Part of the vibrant Toronto theatre scene, the EWG is also home to three annual major theatrical and cinematic productions: Opera Atelier, Ross Petty Productions and the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). The Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre also hosts a variety of other events and occasions, including: award shows, concerts, dance, fashion shows, film and television location shoots, film premieres, fundraisers, lecture series and stand-up comedy.

Mission

Rescued by the Ontario Heritage Trust and restored to its original grandeur, the EWG is a prime example of the Ontario Heritage Trust’s mandate at work. The Centre’s operation exists to serve the people of Ontario by:

  • conserving, stewarding and interpreting this unique national historic landmark
  • undertaking sensitive adaptations to ensure continued use as safe, viable and sustainable contemporary theatres while protecting the heritage value
  • providing unique places of assembly to complement the cultural infrastructure and serve the public’s interest
  • delivering a variety of performing arts and film programming by leading entertainment practitioners
  • offering an official provincial government location and gathering place to celebrate Ontario’s artists, people, achievements and history

Qui sommes nous? | Le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden

Menu

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien exploite le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden (EWG), dont elle est propriétaire. Ce lieu historique national centenaire, qui date de l’époque du vaudeville, est le dernier théâtre à salles superposées encore exploité au monde.

Outre qu’il contribue au dynamisme de la scène théâtrale torontoise, le Centre EWG héberge deux productions théâtrales et cinématographiques annuelles d’envergure : Ross Petty Productions et le Festival international du film de Toronto (TIFF). Le Centre des salles de théâtre Elgin et Winter Garden accueille également diverses autres activités et manifestations, comme des cérémonies de remise de prix, des concerts, des spectacles de danse, des défilés de mode, le tournage de films et d’émissions de télévision, la première de films, des collectes de fonds, des séries de conférences et des humoristes.

Mission

Sauvé par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, qui lui a redonné sa grandeur d’antan, le Centre EWG est un exemple de choix du travail réalisé par la Fiducie. La population de l’Ontario bénéficie de l’exploitation de ce centre puisque :

  • ce lieu national historique unique est préservé et interprété, et sa gérance est assurée;
  • des adaptations bien pensées qui, tout en protégeant la valeur patrimoniale de ces théâtres, les rendent sécuritaires, viables et durables, et font en sorte qu’ils peuvent être utilisés dans le monde d’aujourd’hui sont apportées;
  • ce centre offre des lieux de rassemblement uniques qui complètent l’infrastructure culturelle et servent l’intérêt du public;
  • divers films et spectacles sur scène, par des artistes de tout premier ordre, y sont présentés;
  • il fournit un emplacement officiel pour le gouvernement provincial et un lieu de rassemblement où mettre à l’honneur les artistes, les gens, les réalisations et l’histoire de l’Ontario.