Menu

Shingwauk Hall

Le 30 septembre 2022, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien a dévoilé une plaque révisée consacrée à Shingwauk Hall dans la Bibliothèque Arthur A. Wishart, sur le campus de l’Université Algoma. La nouvelle plaque a ensuite été installée à titre permanent à côté de la chapelle commémorative de l’évêque Fauquier, sur le domaine de l’Université Algoma.

Voici le texte de la plaque dans quatre langues, l’anishinaabemowin, le cri des marais, le français et l’anglais :

SHINGWAUK HALL

    Owi Shingwauk Anishinaabe Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading agii bimibide maampii onji 1875 apiinish 1970 aawong bezhig newen Gaanada Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading Wiigaaman zhichigewin. Owa Anglican Mekodekooniyed, E.F. Wilson agii waawiindaan maanda gikonomaadi gamig owa onji Ogimaa Shingwaukonse (Little Pine). Shingwaukonse agii waabmdaan owi gikinomaadii wiigwaaman zhiwe Anishinaabe miinwaa abi shki digoshinajig Gaanada binoojiinig adaa gikinomaadiwog ado inaadiziwiniwaan. Apii 1935, Shingwauk Wiigwaam agii azhichigaademigad awii meshkodising owi gikinomaage wiigwaam, agaa azhi gikenjigaademigag Shingwauk Nakiiwin Wiigwaam. Owi nigo naagoziwin Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading agaa maajitaachigaademigag owi Shingwaakonse ado noziwin gaawii agii dibishkoosidosiimigad ado waabmdamiwin owi aazhidesemigag inaadiziwin gikinomaadiwin. Owi apii maanji shpaamigag, nigodwaag shi naanimidina Anishinaabeg, Wiisaakode miinwaa Inuit binoojiinig agii bamigaaziwog endaawaad ensa biboon, gegaa gwa gikino mamaanjigonigaaziwaad, miinwaa ginamaagiwaaziwaad awii nikaaziwaad ado iniwewiniwaan. Gikinomaagewin memdage agii aawan wiiyaw anakiiwin maage wiigwaam naagidowenjigaadeg ankiiwin, Zhaagnaashiimiwin miinwaa aname gagiikwewin miinwaa agii nikaazam awii binaajichigaademigag inaadiziwin, iniwewin miinwaa inodewiziwin wiijiindiwin, niibna n’ching bakebijigaaziwaad odowemaawiniwaa. Owi nigokaan zhiwe digosinoon nigo kamigaaziwaad woshme nigodwaak shi niishtana agaa gikinomaagaazijig miinwaa enkiitaagejig, niibna yaa-aabi gikinwaajisigaadesinag. Apii agaa kwa gibaakogaademigag owi Maamwidaan Enji Gikinomaading apii 1970, agaa Zhaabwiijig agii maajiishkatonaa-aa owi Binoojiinig owi Shingwauk Agaa Zhaajig Wiijii-ewin, enkiimigag awii zhiibenjigaadeg Shingwauk Wiigwaam owi aazhidesemigag inaadiziwin gikinomaadiwin owi gegeti agaazhi waabmdang Ogimaa Shingwaukonse miinwaa noojimowin newen odenwinan newen maanaajidodamowinan newen Maamwidaan Enji Gikinomaading.

SHINGWAUK HALL

ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐧᐊᐢᑲᐃᑲᐣ

    ᐅᑕ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᒋᒪᑌᐤ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᑕᔑᑫᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᒣᐧᑲᐨ 1875 ᐱᓂᐡ 1970 ᑲ ᑭ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ ᐁᐧᑲᓂᒪ ᐯᔭᐠ ᐊᓂᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐧᑲ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᑕᔑᑫᒋᐠ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᐅᑕ ᑲᓇᑕᐢᑭᐠ᙮ ᐊᑲᓇᔑᐧᐃ ᐊᔭᒥᐁᐧᐃᑭᒪᐣ ᐃ ᐁᑊ ᐧᐃᓪᓯᐣ (E.F. Wilson) ᐅᑭᒪᑲᐣ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᓀᓯ (ᒥᓇᐃᑯᐡ) ᑭ ᐃᔑᓂᑲᑕᑦ ᐅᒣᓂᐤ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᓂᐤ᙮ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᐣᓯ ᑭ ᐃᑌᓂᑕᒧᐸᐣ ᒥᐧᑲᒥᐠ ᑭᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᐅᑎᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ᙮ 1935 ᑲ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ, ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐧᐊᐢᑲᐃᑲᐣ ᑭ ᐅᔑᑕᓂᐧᐊᐣ ᑭᒋ ᒥᐡᐧᑲᒋᐢᑭᑕᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᑲᔭᐡ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐊᐸᑎᓯᐧᐃ ᑕᔑᑫᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᑲ ᐃᒋᑲᑌᑭᐸᐣ ᑲᔭᐡ᙮ ᒧᓇ ᐅᒋ ᐃᑭᓂᓂᐤ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑌᓂᑕᒧᑯᐸᓀ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᓀᓯ ᑭᒋ ᒪᒪᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᓱᓇᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᑲᑭᓇᐤ ᐃᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓇ᙮ 150 ᑭ ᐃᑕᔑᐧᐊᐠ ᒪᐧᐊᐨ ᐁ ᒥᒉᑎᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ, ᐊᐱᑕᐤ ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᐧᐃ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᐡᑭᒣᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ, ᑕᑐ ᐱᐳᐣ ᐊᑐᐢᑲᑦ ᐁ ᑭ ᐅᑎᓂᒋᐠ ᐧᐃᑭᐧᐊᐠ ᐅᒋ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐁᑲ ᐁ ᐅᒋ ᐸᑭᑎᓂᒋᐠ ᑭᒋ ᐊᔭᒧᐧᐊᑫᒋᐠ ᐅᑎᔑᑭᔑᐧᐁᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ᙮ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑫᐧᐃᐣ ᑭ ᐊᐸᑕᐣ ᐁ ᐊᐸᒋᐃᒋᐠ, ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᒧᐧᐃᐣ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᔭᒥᐁᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑫᐧᐃᐣ ᑭ ᐊᐸᑕᐧᓇ ᐁ ᐱᑯᓂᑲᑌᓂᐠ ᐅᑎᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ, ᐃᔑᑭᔑᐧᐁᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐅᐯᔭᑯᑌᐧᐃᓯᐧᐃ ᐧᐊᑯᒥᑐᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᐢᑲᐤ ᐁ ᐸᑲᓂᐱᑎᒋᐠ ᐧᐃᒋᔕᓂᒥᑐᐧᐊᐠ᙮ ᐊᐧᐊᓯᑌ 120 ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐅᑕᐸᑎᓯᐧᐊᐠ ᑭᓇᐃᑲᐧᐊᑲᓂᐧᐊᐧᓇᐠ ᑭᔓᐧᐊᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᒥᒉᐟ ᐁᑲ ᐁ ᐅᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐧᐊᑕᓯᓇᐃᑲᑌᐠ ᐊᐧᐁᓂᑲᐣ ᐊᐣᑕ ᑲ ᓇᐃᑲᐟ᙮ ᐊᐢᐱᐣ ᑲ ᑭᐸᐃᑲᑌᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ 1970 ᑲ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ, ᑲ ᑭ ᐸᐢᐱᑐᑕᑭᐠ ᑭ ᐅᔑᑕᐧᐊᐠ ᒪᒧᐧᐃᐃᑐᐧᐃᓂᓂᐤ ᐅᑕᐧᐊᔑᒥᔑᐧᐊᐧᐊ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑕᒋᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᒪᒧᐧᐃᐃᑐᐧᐃᐣ ᐁ ᑭ ᐃᔑᓂᑲᑕᑭᐠ ᐁ ᑭᐢᑭᓯᑐᒋᑲᑌᐠ ᐯᐡᑭᐡ ᐁ ᐊᑐᐢᑲᒋᑲᑌᐠ ᐅᒧᐢᑌᔦᓂᑕᒧᐧᐃᐣ ᐅᑭᒪᑲᐣ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᐣᓯ ᑲᑭᓇᐤ ᐃᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓇ ᑭᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑲᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᒥᐧᓇᒋᐃᒋᐠ ᐊᓂᑭ ᑲ ᑭ ᐊᑯᐃᑯᒋᐠ ᒣᐧᑲᐨ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑕᒋᐠ᙮

SHINGWAUK HALL

    Le pensionnat indien de Shingwauk, intégré au système canadien des pensionnats autochtones, accueille des élèves sur ce site entre 1875 et 1970. Le pasteur anglican E. F. Wilson nomme l’école en hommage au chef Shingwaukonse (Little Pine), qui souhaite créer des wigwams d’enseignement où les enfants anishinaabe et ceux des pionniers pourraient s’enrichir de leurs cultures respectives. En 1935, Shingwauk Hall est érigé à la place de l’ancien bâtiment scolaire, le Shingwauk Industrial Home. Ce pensionnat d’assimilation, pourtant créé au nom de Shingwaukonse, faillit à l’idéal d’enseignement interculturel porté par le chef. Au plus fort de son activité, 150 enfants des Premières Nations, métis et inuits sont chaque année retirés de leur foyer, le plus souvent de force, et se voient interdits de communiquer dans leur langue maternelle. L’enseignement, axé sur les travaux manuels et ménagers, l’anglais et l’instruction religieuse, vise à annihiler les liens avec la culture, la langue et la famille, et brise de nombreuses fratries. Le cimetière du site accueille les sépultures de plus de 120 élèves et membres du personnel, dont beaucoup sont anonymes. Après la fermeture du pensionnat en 1970, les survivants créent la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, qui œuvre pour faire de Shingwauk Hall un centre d’enseignement interculturel fidèle au souhait du chef Shingwaukonse et un lieu où les communautés pourront guérir des séquelles laissées par les pensionnats.

SHINGWAUK HALL

    The Shingwauk Indian Residential School operated on this site from 1875 to 1970 as part of the Canadian Residential Schools system. An Anglican minister, E.F. Wilson, named this school for Chief Shingwaukonse (Little Pine). Shingwaukonse had a vision of creating teaching wigwams where Anishinaabe and settler children would learn from each other’s cultures. In 1935, Shingwauk Hall was built to replace the former school building, known as the Shingwauk Industrial Home. The assimilationist Residential School created in Shingwaukonse’s name did not fulfil his vision for cross-cultural education. At its peak, 150 First Nation, Métis and Inuit children were removed from their homes every year, most of them forcibly, and forbidden to speak their languages. Education focused on physical or domestic labour, English language and religious instruction and was meant to break cultural, linguistic and familial ties, often separating siblings. The cemetery on site includes burials for over 120 students and staff, with many remaining unmarked. Since the closure of the Residential School in 1970, Survivors have formed the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, which works to dedicate Shingwauk Hall to cross-cultural education in the true vision of Chief Shingwaukonse and the healing of communities from the harms of Residential Schools.

Historique

L’histoire du site de Shingwauk Hall ne commence ni à l’endroit où il se dresse aujourd’hui, ni avec le premier directeur de l’école, le révérend Edward Francis Wilson. Elle commence avec le chef Shingwaukonse (Petit Pin) et son implacable détermination à obtenir des droits et des possibilités pour son peuple.

Signataire du traité Robinson-Huron en 1850, Shingwaukonse défend sa communauté contre les avancées prédatrices des colons et des gouvernements, en quête de ressources sans contrepartie, en usant à la fois de stratégie militaire et de diplomatie1.

Shingwaukonse, convaincu que les enfants anishinaabe devraient bénéficier, par voie de traité, du droit à l’éducation, a la vision de wigwams d’enseignement où ces enfants pourraient apprendre les us et coutumes des nouveaux venus afin de protéger leur communauté et de s’épanouir dans un monde en pleine évolution2. Les wigwams d’enseignement seraient des lieux où les enfants anishinaabe et ceux des colons apprendraient ensemble. Pour Shingwaukonse, un wigwam s’entend d’un bâtiment ou d’une structure. Dans un wigwam d’enseignement, les enfants acquerraient le meilleur des connaissances des colons et des Anishinaabe selon un modèle éducatif interculturel.

Shingwaukonse ne veut pas que son peuple soit tenu à l’écart du savoir ou des concepts des colons, qui ont un impact sur leurs communautés locales, mais souhaite au contraire qu’il soit à même de côtoyer les colons et de rivaliser avec eux au gré de l’évolution de la société, tout en conservant son identité anishinaabe. Il souhaite que les Anishinaabe s’instruisent.

Au décès du chef Shingwaukonse, en 1854, son fils Augustine Shingwauk fait sienne la mission de doter son peuple d’un wigwam d’enseignement. Garden River, ou Gitigaan-ziibi, le premier emplacement où le chef Shingwaukonse avait tenté de fonder une école, se situe sur les terres traditionnelles saisonnières des Anishinaabe à l’embouchure de la rivière Garden, où elle conflue avec la rivière Ste-Marie. À la suite de son voyage de Garden River à Toronto, dans les années 1830, Augustine est une nouvelle fois poussé à se rendre dans le Sud de l’Ontario, à Sarnia, Brantford et Toronto, pour implorer l’évêque de l’Église anglicane de donner de l’argent pour une école et un missionnaire-éducateur3. Après l’échec d‘une tentative de construction d’une école à Garden River, le révérend E. F. Wilson construit Shingwauk Home en 1875, sur la propriété où se dresse aujourd’hui Shingwauk Hall4. Il nomme l’école d’après Shingwaukonse eu égard à la relation étroite qu’il entretient avec la famille et à la part prise par Shingwaukonse et ses fils aux efforts de collecte de fonds pour introduire l’éducation à Garden River. L’école est baptisée à titre commémoratif. Le site originel de Shingwaulk compte 36,6 hectares (90,5 acres)5. Le terrain est choisi pour son accès à la rivière, nombre des premiers élèves arrivant en bateau. Il est détenu en fiducie par l’Église anglicane aux fins de l’éducation des Autochtones6.

Alors que la vision de Shingwaukonse promet une éducation de qualité aux enfants anishinaabe, c’est une assimilation qui est mise en œuvre par le premier directeur de l’école, E. F. Wilson. Sous sa houlette, Shingwauk Home est un lieu de discipline et de travail manuel7. À cette époque, elle est réservée aux garçons. Les filles fréquentent Wawanosh Home, qui porte le nom d’un chef du sud de la Huronie dont le révérend Wilson avait fait la connaissance durant sa mission à Sarnia. Elles ne sont pas logées à Shingwauk Home avant la construction de l’aile des filles, en 1900.

Les filles et les garçons ont des règles, des corvées, des tâches et des programmes distincts. Les élèves de Shingwauk sont encouragés à se dénoncer au moyen d’un système de boutons que les garçons gagnent ou perdent s’ils s’entendent parler leurs langues autochtones. Les garçons possédant le plus de boutons à la fin de la semaine reçoivent des collations spéciales8. Désireux d’ouvrir une école afin d’offrir aux élèves « tous les avantages dont bénéficient leurs frères blancs9 » [traduction libre], le révérend Wilson leur apprend avant tout à parler et à obéir à des ordres en anglais10. Sous son administration, Shingwauk Home adopte un système éducatif diamétralement opposé à la vision du chef Shingwaukonse. Il quitte l’établissement en 1893.

Conçu par l’architecte Roland Orr pour avoir une apparence institutionnelle et séparer les élèves selon leur sexe, le bâtiment Shingwauk Hall actuel ouvre en 193511. Bien que le programme ait toujours mêlé travaux manuels, apprentissage de l’anglais et instruction religieuse12, cette version de Shingwauk Hall rapproche l’établissement du système des pensionnats qu’on trouve aux quatre coins du Canada tout au long du 20e siècle13. Les élèves travaillent la moitié de la journée et reçoivent un enseignement l’autre moitié. Les travaux manuels incluent tout ce qui doit être fait à l’école : l’entretien du bâtiment et de la ferme, les tâches agricoles, la cuisine, le ménage, la lessive, le raccommodage des vêtements, etc. Répartis en fonction du sexe, ils sont chose courante dans chaque pensionnat. De nombreux élèves de Shingwauk Hall ont le sentiment de ne recevoir qu’une « demi-éducation14 » [traduction libre]. Jusqu’à la fermeture de Shingwauk Hall, en 1970, les élèves fréquentent les classes d’écoles locales de Sault Ste. Marie en compagnie d’enfants non autochtones, tout en travaillant et en résidant à Shingwauk Hall après les cours.

Les survivants de Shingwauk Hall font le récit de mauvais traitements, de négligence et de décès parmi les élèves15. Au total, 85 communautés sont touchées par le pensionnat de Shingwauk Hall16. On estime à 120 le nombre d’élèves et de membres du personnel enterrés dans le cimetière du site. De nombreuses tombes sont anonymes et le manque de diligence dans la tenue des dossiers porte à croire que le site pourrait comporter beaucoup plus de sépultures17. Les survivants confient avoir assisté à des inhumations hors des limites du cimetière actuel18.

Occupant la seconde place après l’Institut Mohawk de Brantford, le pensionnat indien de Shingwauk est un des pensionnats ayant fonctionné le plus longtemps en Ontario. Il s’agit en outre d’un des rares édifices ayant servi de pensionnats qui subsistent et qui sont toujours en usage au Canada19.

L’importance de Shingwauk Hall à l’échelle provinciale réside dans son héritage en tant que lieu d’éducation et de guérison. Après sa fermeture en 1970, le bâtiment accueille l’Algoma University College en 1971. En plus de l’Université Algoma, dont la mission spéciale consiste à « [c]ultiver l’apprentissage interculturel entre les communautés autochtones et les autres communautés, en accord avec l’histoire de l’Algoma University College et son emplacement géographique20 » [traduction libre], il abrite la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association (association des enfants et anciens élèves de Shingwauk) et le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (centre d’interprétation des pensionnats Shingwauk). La première est un groupe constitué de survivants de Shingwauk Hall et de leurs descendants, qui œuvre à instruire et à guérir les communautés des survivants depuis la première Shingwauk Reunion, en 198121. Cette réunion a vu plus de 400 élèves ainsi que des membres de leurs familles, du personnel et de la communauté se rassembler sur le site pour parler de leurs expériences collectives. Les documents, photographies et objets apportés par les participants à cette réunion ont contribué à la fondation de l’actuel Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre22, qui offre chaque année des programmes éducatifs culturellement authentiques à des milliers de visiteurs23. En 2018, l’entrée principale du bâtiment, jadis utilisée par les membres du personnel, les invités officiels (représentants du gouvernement ou de l’église) et pour prendre les photographies scolaires officielles, a été transformée en vue d’accueillir l’exposition permanente Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall24 (la réappropriation de Shingwauk Hall). Cette dernière, qui ne cesse de s’étoffer, commémore différents aspects de l’histoire et de l’expérience des élèves du site, en plus de donner des renseignements connexes25. Patrie de la Communauté métisse historique de Sault Ste. Marie, Shingwauk Hall se trouve au sein du territoire traditionnel visé par le traité Robinson-Huron de la Première Nation anishinaabe de Garden River.


La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien tient à exprimer sa gratitude à Skylee-Storm Hogan pour le travail de recherche effectué dans le cadre de la rédaction de cet article.

© Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, 2022


1 Janet Elizabeth Chute, The Legacy of Shingwaukonse: A Century of Native Leadership, Toronto (Ontario), University of Toronto Press, 1998, p. 4-5.

2 James R. Miller, Shingwauk’s Vision: A History of Native Residential Schools, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 2012, p. 6.

3 Augustine Shingwauk, Little Pine’s Journal: The Appeal of a Christian Chippeway Chief on Behalf of His People, Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario), Algoma University College, 1991, p. 4.

4 Miller, p. 7.

5 Krista McCracken et Skylee-Storm Hogan, « Reimagining Archival Practice and Place-Based History at the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre », Cybercartography in a Reconciliation Community: Engaging Intersecting Perspectives, sous la direction de Stephanie Pyne et D. R. F. Taylor, Amsterdam, Elsevier, 2019, p. 101-112, 104.

6 « About », Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig, 17 mai 2021 (en anglais seulement).

7 Edward F. Wilson, Missionary Work among the Ojebway Indians, New York, E. & J. B. Young, 1886, p. 156.

8 Edward F. Wilson, « The fourth Annual Report of the Shingwauk Industrial Home for Indian Boys », Our Indian Homes, Sault Ste. Marie, Shingwauk Home, 1878, p. 20.

9 Wilson, p. 161.

10 John Sheridan Milloy et Mary Jane Logan McCallum, A National Crime: The Canadian Government and the Residential School System, 1879 to 1986, Winnipeg (Manitoba, Canada), University of Manitoba Press, 2017, p. 43.

11 Magdalena Milosz, « Instruments as Evidence: An Archive of the Architecture of Assimilation », Journal de la Société pour l’étude de l’architecture au Canada, 11 avril 2020, p. 7.

12 Wilson, p. 157-158.

13 Jane Sims, « Susie Jones Was Taken from Her Family and Transferred to a Residential School », London Free Press, 11 mars 2015 (en anglais seulement).

14 Donald John Wilshere, « The Experiences of Seven Alumni Who Attended Shingwauk Residential School as Children, 1929-1964 », dissertation, Faculté d’éducation de l’Université Lakehead, 1999, p. 23.

15 Frank Rupnik, « ‘You Can’t Go Back and Redact the Parts of History You Don’t like,’ Says Residential School Survivor », SooToday, 22 juin 2021 (en anglais seulement).

16 https://northernontario.ctvnews.ca/ontario-providing-200k-to-the-children-of-shingwauk-alumni-association-1.587227,
https://nationtalk.ca/story/ontario-providing-indian-residential-school-supports-to-the-children-of-shingwauk-alumni-association (en anglais seulement); d’après les recherches menées par le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre et la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association.

17 Extrait du registre des sépultures du cimetière Shingwauk, reproduit en 1977, originellement constitué de 1876 à 1977, 2015-050-001, Shingwauk Cemetery Series, Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre, Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario).

18 « What You May Not Know about Shingwauk Indian Residential School in Sault Ste. Marie », CBC Windsor, 5 juin 2021 (en anglais seulement).

19 Laura Hanrahan, « Here’s What Ontario’s Former Residential Schools Are Used for Today », Urbanized, Daily Hive, 18 juin 2021 (en anglais seulement).

20 « Our Special Mission », sous Special Mission, Université Algoma, consulté le 8 mars 2022 (en anglais seulement).

21 « Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association », sous Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, Shingwauk Residential School Centre, consulté le 27 mars 2022 (en anglais seulement).

22 McCracken et Hogan, p. 103.

23 Ibid., p. 104.

24 Lynne Brown, « ‘Teaching Wigwam’ The Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall Project Continues to Build Archive Collection », The Toronto Star, 10 février 2021 (en anglais seulement).

25 « Healing & Reconciliation Through Education », sous Future Galleries, Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall, consulté le 27 mars 2022 (en anglais seulement).

Menu

Shingwauk Hall

On September 30, 2022, the Ontario Heritage Trust unveiled an updated plaque to Shingwauk Hall at the Arthur A. Wishart Library on the campus of Algoma University. The new plaque was then permanently installed beside Bishop Fauquier Chapel on the grounds of Algoma University.

The plaque reads as follows in four languages – Anishinaabemowin, Swampy Cree, English and French:

SHINGWAUK HALL

    Owi Shingwauk Anishinaabe Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading agii bimibide maampii onji 1875 apiinish 1970 aawong bezhig newen Gaanada Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading Wiigaaman zhichigewin. Owa Anglican Mekodekooniyed, E.F. Wilson agii waawiindaan maanda gikonomaadi gamig owa onji Ogimaa Shingwaukonse (Little Pine). Shingwaukonse agii waabmdaan owi gikinomaadii wiigwaaman zhiwe Anishinaabe miinwaa abi shki digoshinajig Gaanada binoojiinig adaa gikinomaadiwog ado inaadiziwiniwaan. Apii 1935, Shingwauk Wiigwaam agii azhichigaademigad awii meshkodising owi gikinomaage wiigwaam, agaa azhi gikenjigaademigag Shingwauk Nakiiwin Wiigwaam. Owi nigo naagoziwin Maamwidaang Enji Gikinomaading agaa maajitaachigaademigag owi Shingwaakonse ado noziwin gaawii agii dibishkoosidosiimigad ado waabmdamiwin owi aazhidesemigag inaadiziwin gikinomaadiwin. Owi apii maanji shpaamigag, nigodwaag shi naanimidina Anishinaabeg, Wiisaakode miinwaa Inuit binoojiinig agii bamigaaziwog endaawaad ensa biboon, gegaa gwa gikino mamaanjigonigaaziwaad, miinwaa ginamaagiwaaziwaad awii nikaaziwaad ado iniwewiniwaan. Gikinomaagewin memdage agii aawan wiiyaw anakiiwin maage wiigwaam naagidowenjigaadeg ankiiwin, Zhaagnaashiimiwin miinwaa aname gagiikwewin miinwaa agii nikaazam awii binaajichigaademigag inaadiziwin, iniwewin miinwaa inodewiziwin wiijiindiwin, niibna n’ching bakebijigaaziwaad odowemaawiniwaa. Owi nigokaan zhiwe digosinoon nigo kamigaaziwaad woshme nigodwaak shi niishtana agaa gikinomaagaazijig miinwaa enkiitaagejig, niibna yaa-aabi gikinwaajisigaadesinag. Apii agaa kwa gibaakogaademigag owi Maamwidaan Enji Gikinomaading apii 1970, agaa Zhaabwiijig agii maajiishkatonaa-aa owi Binoojiinig owi Shingwauk Agaa Zhaajig Wiijii-ewin, enkiimigag awii zhiibenjigaadeg Shingwauk Wiigwaam owi aazhidesemigag inaadiziwin gikinomaadiwin owi gegeti agaazhi waabmdang Ogimaa Shingwaukonse miinwaa noojimowin newen odenwinan newen maanaajidodamowinan newen Maamwidaan Enji Gikinomaading.

SHINGWAUK HALL

ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐧᐊᐢᑲᐃᑲᐣ

    ᐅᑕ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᒋᒪᑌᐤ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᑕᔑᑫᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᒣᐧᑲᐨ 1875 ᐱᓂᐡ 1970 ᑲ ᑭ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ ᐁᐧᑲᓂᒪ ᐯᔭᐠ ᐊᓂᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐧᑲ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᔑ ᑕᔑᑫᒋᐠ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᐅᑕ ᑲᓇᑕᐢᑭᐠ᙮ ᐊᑲᓇᔑᐧᐃ ᐊᔭᒥᐁᐧᐃᑭᒪᐣ ᐃ ᐁᑊ ᐧᐃᓪᓯᐣ (E.F. Wilson) ᐅᑭᒪᑲᐣ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᓀᓯ (ᒥᓇᐃᑯᐡ) ᑭ ᐃᔑᓂᑲᑕᑦ ᐅᒣᓂᐤ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᓂᐤ᙮ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᐣᓯ ᑭ ᐃᑌᓂᑕᒧᐸᐣ ᒥᐧᑲᒥᐠ ᑭᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᐅᑎᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ᙮ 1935 ᑲ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ, ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐧᐊᐢᑲᐃᑲᐣ ᑭ ᐅᔑᑕᓂᐧᐊᐣ ᑭᒋ ᒥᐡᐧᑲᒋᐢᑭᑕᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᑲᔭᐡ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᐠ ᐊᐸᑎᓯᐧᐃ ᑕᔑᑫᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ ᑲ ᐃᒋᑲᑌᑭᐸᐣ ᑲᔭᐡ᙮ ᒧᓇ ᐅᒋ ᐃᑭᓂᓂᐤ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑌᓂᑕᒧᑯᐸᓀ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᓀᓯ ᑭᒋ ᒪᒪᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᓱᓇᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᑲᑭᓇᐤ ᐃᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓇ᙮ 150 ᑭ ᐃᑕᔑᐧᐊᐠ ᒪᐧᐊᐨ ᐁ ᒥᒉᑎᒋᐠ ᐃᓂᓂᐧᐃ, ᐊᐱᑕᐤ ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᐧᐃ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᐡᑭᒣᐧᐃ ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ, ᑕᑐ ᐱᐳᐣ ᐊᑐᐢᑲᑦ ᐁ ᑭ ᐅᑎᓂᒋᐠ ᐧᐃᑭᐧᐊᐠ ᐅᒋ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐁᑲ ᐁ ᐅᒋ ᐸᑭᑎᓂᒋᐠ ᑭᒋ ᐊᔭᒧᐧᐊᑫᒋᐠ ᐅᑎᔑᑭᔑᐧᐁᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ᙮ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑫᐧᐃᐣ ᑭ ᐊᐸᑕᐣ ᐁ ᐊᐸᒋᐃᒋᐠ, ᐧᐁᒥᐢᑎᑯᔑᒧᐧᐃᐣ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᔭᒥᐁᐧᐃ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑫᐧᐃᐣ ᑭ ᐊᐸᑕᐧᓇ ᐁ ᐱᑯᓂᑲᑌᓂᐠ ᐅᑎᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ, ᐃᔑᑭᔑᐧᐁᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐤ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐅᐯᔭᑯᑌᐧᐃᓯᐧᐃ ᐧᐊᑯᒥᑐᐧᐃᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐊᐢᑲᐤ ᐁ ᐸᑲᓂᐱᑎᒋᐠ ᐧᐃᒋᔕᓂᒥᑐᐧᐊᐠ᙮ ᐊᐧᐊᓯᑌ 120 ᐊᐧᐊᔑᔕᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᐅᑕᐸᑎᓯᐧᐊᐠ ᑭᓇᐃᑲᐧᐊᑲᓂᐧᐊᐧᓇᐠ ᑭᔓᐧᐊᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᒥᒉᐟ ᐁᑲ ᐁ ᐅᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐧᐊᑕᓯᓇᐃᑲᑌᐠ ᐊᐧᐁᓂᑲᐣ ᐊᐣᑕ ᑲ ᓇᐃᑲᐟ᙮ ᐊᐢᐱᐣ ᑲ ᑭᐸᐃᑲᑌᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᐠ 1970 ᑲ ᐊᐢᑭᐧᐊᐠ, ᑲ ᑭ ᐸᐢᐱᑐᑕᑭᐠ ᑭ ᐅᔑᑕᐧᐊᐠ ᒪᒧᐧᐃᐃᑐᐧᐃᓂᓂᐤ ᐅᑕᐧᐊᔑᒥᔑᐧᐊᐧᐊ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑕᒋᐠ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᒪᒧᐧᐃᐃᑐᐧᐃᐣ ᐁ ᑭ ᐃᔑᓂᑲᑕᑭᐠ ᐁ ᑭᐢᑭᓯᑐᒋᑲᑌᐠ ᐯᐡᑭᐡ ᐁ ᐊᑐᐢᑲᒋᑲᑌᐠ ᐅᒧᐢᑌᔦᓂᑕᒧᐧᐃᐣ ᐅᑭᒪᑲᐣ ᔑᐣᐧᐊᑯᐣᓯ ᑲᑭᓇᐤ ᐃᑕᐢᑲᓀᓯᐧᐃᓇ ᑭᒋ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑲᓂᐧᐊᐠ ᓀᐢᑕ ᒥᐧᓇᒋᐃᒋᐠ ᐊᓂᑭ ᑲ ᑭ ᐊᑯᐃᑯᒋᐠ ᒣᐧᑲᐨ ᑭᐢᑭᓄᐊᒪᑐᐧᐃᑲᒥᑯᐠ ᑲ ᑭ ᐃᑕᒋᐠ᙮

SHINGWAUK HALL

    The Shingwauk Indian Residential School operated on this site from 1875 to 1970 as part of the Canadian Residential Schools system. An Anglican minister, E.F. Wilson, named this school for Chief Shingwaukonse (Little Pine). Shingwaukonse had a vision of creating teaching wigwams where Anishinaabe and settler children would learn from each other’s cultures. In 1935, Shingwauk Hall was built to replace the former school building, known as the Shingwauk Industrial Home. The assimilationist Residential School created in Shingwaukonse’s name did not fulfil his vision for cross-cultural education. At its peak, 150 First Nation, Métis and Inuit children were removed from their homes every year, most of them forcibly, and forbidden to speak their languages. Education focused on physical or domestic labour, English language and religious instruction and was meant to break cultural, linguistic and familial ties, often separating siblings. The cemetery on site includes burials for over 120 students and staff, with many remaining unmarked. Since the closure of the Residential School in 1970, Survivors have formed the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, which works to dedicate Shingwauk Hall to cross-cultural education in the true vision of Chief Shingwaukonse and the healing of communities from the harms of Residential Schools.

SHINGWAUK HALL

    Le pensionnat indien de Shingwauk, intégré au système canadien des pensionnats autochtones, accueille des élèves sur ce site entre 1875 et 1970. Le pasteur anglican E. F. Wilson nomme l’école en hommage au chef Shingwaukonse (Little Pine), qui souhaite créer des wigwams d’enseignement où les enfants anishinaabe et ceux des pionniers pourraient s’enrichir de leurs cultures respectives. En 1935, Shingwauk Hall est érigé à la place de l’ancien bâtiment scolaire, le Shingwauk Industrial Home. Ce pensionnat d’assimilation, pourtant créé au nom de Shingwaukonse, faillit à l’idéal d’enseignement interculturel porté par le chef. Au plus fort de son activité, 150 enfants des Premières Nations, métis et inuits sont chaque année retirés de leur foyer, le plus souvent de force, et se voient interdits de communiquer dans leur langue maternelle. L’enseignement, axé sur les travaux manuels et ménagers, l’anglais et l’instruction religieuse, vise à annihiler les liens avec la culture, la langue et la famille, et brise de nombreuses fratries. Le cimetière du site accueille les sépultures de plus de 120 élèves et membres du personnel, dont beaucoup sont anonymes. Après la fermeture du pensionnat en 1970, les survivants créent la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, qui œuvre pour faire de Shingwauk Hall un centre d’enseignement interculturel fidèle au souhait du chef Shingwaukonse et un lieu où les communautés pourront guérir des séquelles laissées par les pensionnats.

Historical background

The history of the Shingwauk Hall site does not start with where it stands today, nor does it begin with the school’s first principal, Reverend Edward Francis Wilson. The history of Shingwauk Hall starts with Chief Shingwaukonse (Little Pine) and his fierce determination to secure rights and opportunities for his people.

Shingwaukonse, a signatory to the 1850 Robinson-Huron Treaty, defended his community with military strategy and diplomacy from predatory advances by settlers and governments who were seeking resources with no reciprocity.1

Shingwaukonse, who was determined that Anishinaabe children should have the treaty right to education, had a vision of creating teaching wigwams where Anishinaabe children could learn the ways of the newcomers in order to protect their community and thrive in a changing world.2 Teaching wigwams would be places where settler children and Anishinaabe children would learn together. Shingwaukonse understood a wigwam as a building or structure and, within a teaching wigwam, children would learn the best from both settler and Anishinaabe knowledge in a model of cross-cultural education.

Shingwaukonse did not want his people to be kept away from settler knowledge or concepts that were impacting their local communities, and Shingwaukonse wanted his people to be able to participate and compete with settlers as society changed, while retaining their identities as Anishinaabe. Shingwaukonse wanted Anishinaabe to learn.

After Chief Shingwaukonse died in 1854, his son, Augustine Shingwauk, took up the mission of bringing a teaching wigwam to his people. The first location at which Chief Shingwaukonse attempted to establish a school was at Garden River, or Gitigaan-ziibi, which is on the traditional lands used seasonally by the Anishinaabe at the mouth of the Garden River where it meets the St. Marys River. After his journey from Garden River to Toronto in the 1830s, Augustine was inspired again to go to Southern Ontario, to Sarnia, Brantford and Toronto, to implore the Bishop of the Anglican Church to donate money for a school and an educating missionary.3 After a failed attempt at a school at Garden River, Reverend E.F. Wilson built the Shingwauk Home in 1875 on the current property where Shingwauk Hall stands today.4 Wilson named the school after Shingwaukonse because of the close relationship he had with the family, and because Shingwaukonse and his sons had participated in fundraising efforts for education in Garden River. The school was named as a memorial. The original Shingwauk site encompassed 36.6 hectares (90.5 acres).5 The land was chosen for its access to the river, as many of the early students arrived by boat. The land for the Shingwauk site was held in trust by the Anglican Church for the purposes of Indigenous education.6

While Shingwaukonse’s vision promised a good education for Anishinaabe children, what was enacted by the school’s first principal, E.F. Wilson, was assimilation. The Shingwauk Home under Wilson was a place of discipline and manual labour.7 At this time, the Shingwauk Home was only for boys. Girls were attending the Wawanosh Home – named for a chief from the south of Huron who Wilson knew from his time working as a missionary in Sarnia. They were separated from the Shingwauk Home until the girls’ wing was built in 1900.

Girls and boys had separate rules, chores, duties and curriculums. Students at Shingwauk were encouraged to report on each other with a system of buttons that boys would gain or lose if they heard each other speaking their Indigenous languages. The boys with the most buttons at the end of the week would receive special snacks.8 Wilson focused on his pupils’ learning to speak and obey commands in English9 and wanted to open a school to offer students “all the advantages which their white brethren enjoyed.”10 Wilson’s administration of the Shingwauk Home was a wholly contrary system of education to the vision of Chief Shingwaukonse. Wilson departed the Shingwauk Home in 1893.

The Shingwauk Hall building that stands today was opened in 1935 and was designed by architect Roland Orr.11 It was designed to feel institutional and to keep students separated by gender. While the curriculum always focused on a mixture of manual labour, English and religious instruction,12 this version of Shingwauk Hall became an institution closer to the residential school system seen across Canada throughout the 20th century.13 Students worked half of the day and received educational instruction for the other half. The manual labour comprised anything that needed to be done at the school – building and farm maintenance, farm chores, cooking, cleaning, laundry, mending clothing, etc. The work was divided along gender lines and was common at every residential school. Many students at Shingwauk Hall felt that they only received “half an education.”14 Before the closure of Shingwauk Hall in 1970, students attended classes at local Sault Ste. Marie schools with non-Indigenous children while working and residing at Shingwauk Hall after classes.

Survivors of Shingwauk Hall share stories of abuse, neglect and student deaths.15 A total of 85 communities were impacted by the residential school at Shingwauk Hall.16 The onsite Shingwauk cemetery has an estimated 120 students and staff buried within its boundaries. Many of the burials are unmarked, and the lack of diligent record-keeping means that there could be many more burials on the site.17 Survivors have reported witnessing burials outside of the boundaries of the current cemetery.18

The Shingwauk Indian Residential School was one of the longest-operating residential schools in Ontario, second to the Mohawk Institute in Brantford. Additionally, Shingwauk Hall is one of the few residential school buildings in Canada that is still standing and in use.19

Shingwauk Hall’s provincial significance lies in its legacy as a site for education and healing. After its closure in 1970, the building became home to Algoma University College in 1971. In addition to Algoma University’s special mission to “[c]ultivate cross-cultural learning between Aboriginal communities and other communities, in keeping with the history of Algoma University College and its geographic site,”20 this place is home to the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association and the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre. The Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association is a group of Shingwauk Hall survivors and their descendants who have been working to educate and heal survivor communities since the first Shingwauk Reunion in 1981.21 The 1981 reunion saw over 400 students, their families, staff and community members gathered on the site to talk about their collective experiences. The documents, photographs and artifacts that these reunion participants brought with them contributed to the founding of what is now the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre,22 which provides culturally informed educational programming to thousands of visitors every year.23 The main entrance for the building, once used for staff, formal guests (such as government or church officials) and formal school photographs, was converted into a permanent exhibition space in 2018, titled Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall.24 Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall is an exhibition that continues to expand, and commemorates and educates different aspects of the site’s history and student experience.25 The Shingwauk Hall site is situated within the traditional territory of Garden River Anishinaabe in Robinson-Huron Treaty territory and is also home to the Historic Sault Ste. Marie Métis Community.


The Ontario Heritage Trust gratefully acknowledges the research of Skylee-Storm Hogan in preparing this paper.

© Ontario Heritage Trust, 2022


1 Janet Elizabeth Chute, The Legacy of Shingwaukonse: A Century of Native Leadership (Toronto, ON: Univ. of Toronto Press, 1998), pp. 4-5.

2 James R. Miller, Shingwauk's Vision: A History of Native Residential Schools (Toronto: Univ. of Toronto Press, 2012), p. 6.

3 Augustine Shingwauk, Little Pine's Journal: The Appeal of a Christian Chippeway Chief on Behalf of His People (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.: Algoma University College, 1991), p. 4.

4 Miller, p. 7.

5 Krista McCracken and Skylee-Storm Hogan, “Reimagining Archival Practice and Place-Based History at the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre,” in Cybercartography in a Reconciliation Community: Engaging Intersecting Perspectives, ed. Stephanie Pyne and Taylor D R F. (Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2019), pp. 101-112, 104.

6About,” Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig, May 17, 2021.

7 Edward F. Wilson, Missionary Work among the Ojebway Indians (New York: E. & J.B. Young, 1886), p. 156.

8 Edward F. Wilson, “The fourth Annual Report of the Shingwauk Industrial Home for Indian Boys,” in Our Indian Homes (Sault Ste. Marie: Shingwauk Home, 1878), p. 20.

9 John Sheridan Milloy and Logan McCallum Mary Jane, A National Crime: The Canadian Government and the Residential School System, 1879 to 1986 (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada: University of Manitoba Press, 2017), p. 43.

10 Wilson, p. 161.

11 Magdalena Milosz, “Instruments as Evidence: An Archive of the Architecture of Assimilation,” Journal of the Society for the Study of Architecture in Canada, April 11, 2020, . p. 7.

12 Wilson, pp. 157-158.

13 Jane Sims, “Susie Jones Was Taken from Her Family and Transferred to a Residential School,” London Free Press, March 11, 2015.

14 Donald John Wilshere, “The Experiences of Seven Alumni Who Attended Shingwauk Residential School as Children, 1929-1964” (dissertation, Lakehead University Faculty of Education, 1999), p. 23.

15 Frank Rupnik, “'You Can't Go Back and Redact the Parts of History You Don't like,' Says Residential School Survivor,” SooToday, June 22, 2021.

16 https://northernontario.ctvnews.ca/ontario-providing-200k-to-the-children-of-shingwauk-alumni-association-1.58722, https://nationtalk.ca/story/ontario-providing-indian-residential-school-supports-to-the-children-of-shingwauk-alumni-association; According to research undertaken by the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre and the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association.

17 Shingwauk cemetery burial register extract. Reproduced 1977, originally created 1876-1977, 2015-050-001, Shingwauk Cemetery Series, Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario.

18 “What You May Not Know about Shingwauk Indian Residential School in Sault Ste. Marie,” CBC Windsor, June 5, 2021.

19 Laura Hanrahan, “Here's What Ontario's Former Residential Schools Are Used for Today,” Urbanized (Daily Hive, June 18, 2021).

20Our Special Mission,” Special Mission (Algoma University, March 8, 2022).

21 “Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association,” Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association (Shingwauk Residential School Centre), accessed March 27, 2022.

22 McCracken and Hogan, p. 103.

23 Ibid, p. 104.

24 Lynne Brown, “‘Teaching Wigwam’ The Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall Project Continues to Build Archive Collection,” The Toronto Star, February 10, 2021.

25 “Future Galleries,” Healing & reconciliation through education (Reclaiming Shingwauk Hall), accessed March 27, 2022.