Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards presentation

Friday, February 17, 2017 at 4 p.m.

Join the Ontario Heritage Trust and the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell as the 2016 Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards are presented at a special ceremony at Queen’s Park.

Each year, the Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards celebrate individuals, groups and communities for exceptional contributions to cultural and natural heritage conservation, environmental sustainability and biodiversity.


Lifetime Achievement

  • Linda Coutts (Grimsby)
  • A. Ross Wark (Oakville)

Youth Achievement – Individuals (also recipients of the Young Heritage Leaders scholarship)

  • Justin Nicholls (St. Catharines)
  • Marica Pinnock (Oakville)

Youth Achievement – Groups

  • Harriet Tubman Public School Grade 5 students and Lockview Public School Grade 2 students (St. Catharines)

Excellence in Conservation

  • Andrew Pruss of ERA Architects and the project team for the conservation and revitalization of the Broadview Hotel (Toronto)
  • Art Gallery of Hamilton and the Art Gallery of Ontario for conservation-on-view of Trans Am Apocalypse No. 3 by John Scott (Toronto)
  • Barriefield Village Association for the 200th anniversary of Barriefield interpretive and commemorative activities (Kingston)
  • Thames Talbot Land Trust for conservation of Hawk Cliff Woods (Central Elgin)
  • Township of Oro-Medonte for the Oro African Church Preservation Project

Community Leadership

  • Township of Oro-Medonte, Oro African Church Preservation Project

Background information:

The Lieutenant Governor’s Ontario Heritage Awards are administered by the Ontario Heritage Trust, an agency of the Government of Ontario dedicated to identifying, preserving, protecting and promoting Ontario’s heritage.


Grand Staircase, Legislative Building
Queen’s Park
Toronto, Ontario

Google map

Details: Media are advised to carry photo identification and arrive at the South Entrance by 3:45 p.m.