Menu

"Ontario's Quiet Revolution"

“Men and women of French origin have played a significant role in the development of Ontario for more than three centuries, beginning with the explorers and fur traders of New France. This role continues today through the Franco-Ontarian community . . . Its strength, vitality, accomplishments and potential are immense. Ontario – indeed all of Canada – is far the richer and stronger for the presence of these French-speaking residents.” John P. Robarts, Premier of Ontario 1961-71 [Source: Ontario Department of Education, Information Branch, “French in Ontario Schools,” An Address by Hon. J.P. Robarts to l’Association Canadienne des Éducateurs de langue-française, Ottawa, 24 August, 1967. Toronto: Queen’s Printer, 1968]

In the 1960s, Ontario’s Quiet Revolution was a period of significant reform related to the rights and opportunities of French speakers in Ontario. On the occasion of the Centennial Year Convention of l’Association Canadienne des Éducateurs de langue-française, meeting in Ottawa on August 24, 1967, Premier Robarts announced the intention of his government to provide, within the public school system of Ontario, secondary schools in which the language of instruction would be French. He declared that, “the potential contribution of Franco-Ontarians to our society is too great to allow them to dissipate their energies and abilities because they are denied adequate opportunities for furthering their education to the utmost of their abilities.” The legislation establishing French-language public elementary and secondary schools was passed by his government and took effect on January 1, 1969.

Read “Ontario’s Quiet Revolution,” by Thomas H.B. Symons, Chairman of the Ontario Heritage Trust – an article from the May 2012 edition of Heritage Matters entitled Understanding the French experience in Ontario

Menu

« La Révolution tranquille de l'Ontario »

« Les hommes et les femmes d’origine française jouent un rôle important dans le développement de l’Ontario depuis plus de trois siècles et l’époque des explorateurs et des commerçants de fourrures de la Nouvelle-France. Ce rôle se poursuit aujourd’hui avec la communauté franco-ontarienne… Sa force, sa vitalité, ses réalisations et son potentiel sont immenses. La présence de ces résidents francophones enrichit et renforce notre province – et, pour tout dire, le Canada dans son ensemble. » John P. Robarts, premier ministre de l'Ontario de 1961 à 1971 [Source : Ontario Department of Education, Information Branch, « French in Ontario Schools », An Address by Hon. J.P. Robarts to l’Association canadienne des Éducateurs de langue française, Ottawa, 24 August, 1967, Toronto, Imprimeur de la reine, 1968.]

Dans les années 1960, la Révolution tranquille de l'Ontario est une période de grandes réformes liées aux droits et aux débouchés des francophones en Ontario. À l’occasion du congrès de l’Association canadienne des Éducateurs de langue française, qui se tient à Ottawa le 24 août 1967, pendant l’année du centenaire, le premier ministre Robarts annonce que son gouvernement a l’intention de créer, au sein du système d’éducation publique de l’Ontario, des écoles secondaires dont la langue d’enseignement est le français. Il déclare que « la contribution potentielle des Franco-Ontariennes et Franco-Ontariens à notre société est trop importante pour que nous les empêchions de mettre à profit leur énergie et leurs compétences en refusant de leur offrir des possibilités adéquates pour approfondir leur éducation au maximum de leurs capacités ». Son gouvernement adopte la loi établissant des écoles publiques élémentaires et secondaires de langue française, qui entre officiellement en vigueur le 1er janvier 1969.

Lisez l'article « La Révolution tranquille de l'Ontario », par le président de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, Thomas H.B. Symons, extrait du numéro spécial de mai 2012 de Questions de patrimoine intitulé Comprendre l'expérience française en Ontario.