Explore Macdonell-Williamson House this summer - Ontario Heritage Trust

Explore Macdonell-Williamson House this summer

Macdonell Williamson House

Weekends from Saturday, June 29 to Sunday, September 1, 2019 – from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Macdonell-Williamson House(Photo: Carl Bigras)

This National Historic Site in eastern Ontario dates back to the early 1800s when retired fur trader John Macdonell retired here with his wife and children. Macdonell’s home, known as Poplar Villa, is a graceful adaptation of the Palladian style. It served as a centre for his milling, general merchandising, warehousing and freight-forwarding business.

After Macdonell died, the Williamson family bought the house in 1882. The house remained in their family until the 1960s. It was then purchased by the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1978 and is today run as a museum.

This summer, visit Macdonell-Williamson House and learn more about the history of this little-known eastern Ontario site.

Hours:

Open weekends from June 29 to September 1, 2019 from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Tours:

Guided tours for groups of 10 or more are available on request. The cost is $10 per person – which includes admission, guided commentary and a full English tea. To reserve your spot, call 613-676-2228 or email housemw1817@bell.net. Operated in partnership with the Friends of Macdonell-Williamson House.

For more information, visit our website.

Location:

Macdonell-Williamson House
25 Rue des Outaouais
Chute-à-Blondeau, Ontario

Map

Visitez la maison Macdonell-Williamson cet été - Ontario Heritage Trust

Visitez la maison Macdonell-Williamson cet été

Macdonell Williamson House

Les fins de semaine du samedi 29 juin au dimanche 1er septembre 2019, de 11 h à 16 h

Maison Macdonell-Williamson(Photo : Carl Gingras)

Ce lieu historique national dans l’Est de l’Ontario remonte au début des années 1800, alors que John Macdonell, après avoir fait le commerce des fourrures, y a pris sa retraite avec son épouse et ses enfants. La maison Macdonell, connue sous le nom de Villa des peupliers, est une adaptation harmonieuse du style architectural palladien et était le centre d’activités de mouture, de marchandisage général, d'entreposage et de transit.

Après la mort de Macdonell, la famille Williamson fit l’acquisition de la demeure en 1882. Elle resta dans cette famille jusque dans les années 1960. Elle a ensuite été achetée par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en 1978 et elle est aujourd’hui exploitée comme musée.

Cet été, visitez la maison Macdonell-Williamson et apprenez-en davantage sur l'histoire de ce site peu connu de l'Est de l'Ontario.

Horaire :

Ouvert les fins de semaine du 29 juin au 1er septembre 2019, de 11 h à 16 h

Visites :

Des visites guidées pour groupes de 10 personnes ou plus sont offertes sur demande. Le coût de 10 $ par personne comprend l’entrée, les commentaires de visite guidée et un thé anglais complet. Pour réserver votre place, appelez au 613 676-2228 ou envoyez un courriel à housemw1817@bell.net.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez notre site Web.

Lieu :

Maison Macdonell-Williamson
25, rue des Outaouais
Chute-à-Blondeau (Ontario)

Carte