C. Thompson and Hambly Properties - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

C. Thompson and Hambly Properties

The C. Thompson and Hambly Properties are located within the Georgian Bluffs region 10 km (6 miles) east of Wiarton on the plateau above Skinner’s Bluffs cliffs. The properties feature amazing views of the turquoise waters of Colpoy’s Bay to the north and the wetlands of the Slough of Despond to the southeast. The 45 hectares (113 acres) of escarpment plateau lands are dominated by hardwood broadleaf forests and host several rare woodland species. Visitors can hike the escarpment cliff for 1.5 km (0.8 miles) on the property.

This property was acquired by the Ontario Heritage Trust as part of a long-standing relationship with the Bruce Trail Conservancy (BTC), with the aim of creating a permanent conservation corridor along the Niagara Escarpment. Since the 1980s, the Trust and the BTC have secured 1,800 hectares (4,447 acres) of environmentally sensitive lands along the Niagara Escarpment – including 116 properties and 15 easements taken by the Trust and transferred to the BTC that host over 130 km (80 miles) of trails.

Heritage value

These properties are part of the provincially significant Skinners Bluff Life Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI) that contains rare plant species – including hart’s-tongue fern, butternut, drooping sedge and roundleaf ragwort. The majority of the property is a cliff ecosystem with a unique, mature red oak-dominated forest community, and unusual species like the leatherwood shrub in the vegetation beneath the forest’s main canopy. Biodiversity on this property is high due to the variable climate, physiography and large number of intact natural areas in the vicinity.

Propriétés C. Thompson et Hambly - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Propriétés C. Thompson et Hambly

Les propriétés C. Thompson et Hambly se situent dans la région de Georgian Bluffs, à 10 km (6 milles) à l’est de Wiarton, sur le plateau surplombant la falaise de Skinner. Elles offrent des vues exceptionnelles sur les eaux turquoise de la baie de Colpoy au nord et sur les zones humides de Slough of Despond au sud-est. Les 45 hectares (113 acres) de terres en plateau de l’escarpement sont peuplés de forêts de feuillus, et abritent aussi plusieurs essences rares. Les visiteurs peuvent se promener à pied sur 1,5 km (0,8 mille), le long des falaises escarpées du domaine.

Ces propriétés ont été achetées par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien dans le cadre de sa relation de longue date avec la Bruce Trail Conservancy (BTC), dans le but de créer un corridor de conservation permanent le long de l’escarpement du Niagara. Depuis les années 1980, la Fiducie et la BTC ont ainsi fait l’acquisition de 1 800 hectares (4 447 acres) de terres écologiquement vulnérables le long de l’escarpement du Niagara, et notamment de 116 propriétés et de quinze servitudes obtenues par la Fiducie puis transférées à la BTC, qui totalisent plus de 130 km (80 milles) de sentiers.

Importance patrimoniale

Ces propriétés font partie de la zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) d’importance provinciale touchant les sciences de la vie de la falaise de Skinner qui abrite des espèces végétales rares, en particulier la scolopendre officinale, le noyer cendré, le carex vert poireau et le séneçon à feuilles obovales. Elles consistent principalement en un écosystème de falaises couvertes d’une communauté forestière singulière dominée par des chênes rouges mûrs et d’espèces inhabituelles telles que le dirca des marais, qui pousse au milieu de la végétation sous le couvert forestier principal. Ces propriétés se distinguent par une importante biodiversité due aux variations climatiques, à la physiographie et au grand nombre d’espaces naturels intacts dans les environs.