Ellis Property - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Ellis Property

The Ellis Property is located 1 km (0.6 miles) north of Ball’s Falls Conservation Area, just west of the Jordan Historical Museum in the Town of Lincoln. Twenty Mile Creek traverses this 23-hectare (58-acre) property, which contains a variety of escarpment cliff features, two large ponds, diverse Carolinian species, Lake Ontario plain forest and several archaeological sites. The Ellis Property was generously donated to the Ontario Heritage Trust by Art Ellis in 1984.

Heritage significance

The Ellis Property lies within the Jordan Escarpment Valley, which is a provincially significant Life Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI) within the deep-incised valley of Twenty Mile Creek. This property is also recognized as an Environmentally Significant Area (ESA) and designated as an Escarpment Natural Area under the Niagara Escarpment Plan.

The property is dominated by broadleaf forests with smaller stands of mixed and successional forests. It also contains excellent examples of diverse Carolinian flora and fauna. There are 13 provincially rare, eight regionally rare and 20 locally rare flora species present on the Ellis Property. Rare flora and fauna observed on the property include Nebraska sedge, pignut hickory, eastern spiny softshell turtles, barn owls and many others.

As of 2006, six archaeological sites have been registered: five historical and one Indigenous (Woodland period, 900 BC to AD 1500).

La propriété Ellis - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La propriété Ellis

La propriété Ellis est située à 1 km (0,6 mille) au nord de la zone de protection de la nature de Ball’s Falls, immédiatement à l’ouest du Jordan Historical Museum dans la ville de Lincoln. Le ruisseau Twenty Mile traverse cette propriété de 23 hectares (58 acres), qui abrite différents reliefs escarpés, deux grands étangs, diverses espèces caroliniennes, la forêt de la plaine du lac Ontario et plusieurs sites archéologiques. La propriété Ellis a été offerte généreusement à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien par Art Ellis en 1984.

Importance patrimoniale

La propriété Ellis se trouve dans la Jordan Escarpment Valley, qui est une importante zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) des sciences de la vie dans la province, au sein de la vallée profondément encaissée du ruisseau Twenty Mile. Cette propriété est également reconnue comme une zone importante et sensible sur le plan environnemental (ZISE), et désignée comme une zone naturelle de l’escarpement en vertu du Plan d’aménagement de l’escarpement du Niagara.

La propriété est dominée par des forêts de feuillus, avec des étendues plus restreintes de forêts mixte et de succession. Elle abrite également d’excellents exemples de la diversité de la faune et de la flore caroliniennes. On compte 13 espèces végétales rares à l’échelon provincial, 8 à l’échelon régional et 20 à l’échelon local présentes dans la propriété Ellis. Les espèces rares de la faune et de la flore observées dans la propriété incluent notamment le carex du Nebraska, le caryer glabre, la tortue molle à épines et l’effraie des clochers.

En 2006, six sites archéologiques avaient été enregistrés : cinq sites historiques et un site autochtone (période sylvicole, de 900 avant J.-C. à 1500 après J.-C.).