Fleetwood Creek Natural Area - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Fleetwood Creek Natural Area

Fleetwood Creek Natural Area is located on the north slope of the Oak Ridges Moraine within the City of Kawartha Lakes. This 370-hectare (916.4-acre) property features glacial features such as kames, kettles and drumlins that form the headwaters of Fleetwood Creek. The property has 8.2 km (5 miles) of hiking trails, a picnic area and several observation points. The property was purchased in several different parcels by the Ontario Heritage Trust between 1983 and 1985 with funds donated by Hilda Pangman in memory of her mother, Adelaide McLaughlin.

Fleetwood Creek Natural Area is stewarded by Kawartha Conservation, with help from a number of conservation partners – including local landowners, not-for-profit organizations, educational institutions and the general public. In addition to assisting with the stewardship of the property, the stewards have provided an invaluable understanding of the biological values of the site.

Heritage value

Fleetwood Creek Natural Area is recognized as a provincially significant Earth and Life Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI) due to the presence of high-quality glacial features, as well as the large variety of plants, animals and habitat types. It is a river valley system that contains lowland forests, hardwood bush, meadows and steep valleys.

Fleetwood Creek Natural Area is one of the most biologically rich locations on the Oak Ridges Moraine. It contains 11 recognized plant communities, over 250 kinds of plants and 44 types of birds – including wild turkey that were reintroduced into the region during the 1980s. Species at risk have been observed on the property, too, including the red-headed woodpecker, bobolink, snapping turtle, butternut and several others.

There are two registered archaeological sites on this property – the largest one being an ancestral Wendat village dating to early European contact.

Zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood

La zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood se situe sur le versant nord de la moraine d’Oak Ridges dans la ville de Kawartha Lakes. Cette propriété d’une superficie de 370 hectares (916,4 acres) est caractérisée par des éléments glaciaires tels que des kames, des kettles et des drumlins qui forment le cours supérieur du ruisseau Fleetwood. Elle offre 8,2 km (5 milles) de sentiers pédestres, une aire de pique-nique et plusieurs points d’observation. La propriété a été acquise, par parcelles successives, par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien entre 1983 et 1985, grâce aux fonds versés par Hilda Pangman à la mémoire de sa mère, Adelaide McLaughlin.

Kawartha Conservation (en anglais seulement) assure l’intendance de la zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood, avec l’aide d’un certain nombre de partenaires œuvrant pour la conversation, notamment des propriétaires fonciers locaux, des organismes sans but lucratif, des établissements d’enseignement et le grand public. En dehors de leur contribution à l’intendance de la propriété, les partenaires ont apporté un éclairage inestimable sur l’importance biologique du site.

Importance patrimoniale

La zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood est désignée zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) d’importance provinciale touchant les sciences de la terre et de la vie en raison de la présence d’éléments glaciaires de qualité et d’une grande variété de plantes, d’animaux et de types d’habitat. Il s’agit d’un système de vallées fluviales aux parois escarpées où cohabitent des forêts de basse altitude, des massifs de feuillus et des prairies.

La zone naturelle du Ruisseau Fleetwood constitue l’une des parties les plus riches sur le plan biologique de la moraine d’Oak Ridges. Elle abrite onze communautés végétales reconnues, plus de 250 variétés de plantes et 44 espèces d’oiseaux, en particulier le dindon sauvage qui a été réintroduit dans la région dans les années 1980. Des espèces en péril ont également été observées sur le domaine, notamment le pic à tête rouge, le goglu des près, la tortue serpentine et le noyer cendré.

La propriété compte aussi deux sites archéologiques enregistrés, dont le plus grand est un village ancestral des Wendats datant des premiers contacts avec les Européens.