Great Manitou Island Property - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Great Manitou Island Property

Great Manitou Island – owned by the Ontario Heritage Trust – is the largest island in the Manitou Islands Provincial Nature Reserve. This nature reserve is composed of four islands that form a 2.25-km (1-mile) circle in Lake Nipissing, 10 km (6 miles) southwest of North Bay. The reserve was established to ensure the long-term protection of the outstanding colonial nesting habitat for great blue heron and osprey, as well as a variety of plant communities and a unique geological and archaeological history. The entire reserve is designated as a non-operational provincial park, which means that there are no facilities or services on the islands.

Great Manitou Island is 84 hectares (210 acres) in total. It includes a small beach area and is suitable for day use only (no camping is allowed) and water-based recreation like swimming, boating or walking along the beach. Great Manitou Island was purchased in 1979 by the Nature Conservancy of Canada with funds donated by Hilda Pangman in remembrance of Peter Pangman, a founder of the North West Company. The Ontario Heritage Trust acquired the property in 1981.

Ontario Parks manages the Manitou Islands, including Great Manitou Island, on behalf of the Ontario Heritage Trust. The long-term protection of this nature reserve was originally facilitated by the Nature Conservancy of Canada and local naturalist clubs. The heron and osprey populations are monitored to determine their optimum nesting ecology and population dynamics.

Heritage value

This island is home to 50 species of breeding birds, including a great blue heron colony and osprey nesting sites. The island is forested with tree species such as basswood, black ash, white birch, white cedar, bur oak and silver maple. Thickets of poison ivy, striped maple, chokecherry and ground hemlock are common.

The unique geological history of the Manitou Islands complex dates back to the lower Cambrian period 2.5 billion years ago when the majority of Lake Nipissing bedrock was formed. The limestone bedrock that composes the island is around 565 million years old. Glaciation was active in the area between 45,000 and 9,000 years ago, scouring and reshaping the surface of Great Manitou Island.

Archaeological investigations in 1984 identified two sites – a small Middle Woodland Eastern Laurel site (c. 200 BC to 400 AD) and a Middle Woodland site (c. AD 600 to 800). Both sites contribute to our knowledge of Ontario’s cultural history. There are also historical records that indicate that the North West Company may have used the island as a refuge on its trade routes.

Île Great Manitou - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Île Great Manitou

L’île Great Manitou, propriété de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, est la plus grande île de la réserve naturelle provinciale des Îles-Manitou. Cette réserve naturelle est composée de quatre îles qui forment un cercle de 2,25 km (1 mille) sur le lac Nipissing, à 10 km (6 milles) au sud-ouest de North Bay. La réserve a été créée pour assurer la protection à long terme de l’habitat de nidification exceptionnel du grand héron et du balbuzard pêcheur qui y vivent en colonie, mais aussi d’une variété de communautés végétales et d’une histoire géologique et archéologique singulière. Toute la réserve est désignée parc provincial non opérationnel, ce qui signifie qu’il n’y a aucune installation et aucun service sur les îles.

L’île Great Manitou, d’une superficie totale de 84 hectares (210 acres), est agrémentée d’une petite plage et elle se prête particulièrement aux loisirs d’eaux tels que la baignade ou la navigation de plaisance et à la marche, le long de la plage. Son accès est réservé aux activités diurnes (aucun camping n’y est autorisé). L’île Great Manitou a été achetée par Conservation de la nature Canada en 1979, grâce aux fonds versés par Hilda Pangman à la mémoire de Peter Pangman, un des fondateurs de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien a, quant à elle, acquis la propriété en 1981.

Parcs Ontario assure la gestion des îles Manitou, en particulier de l’île Great Manitou, au nom de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien. La protection à long terme de cette réserve naturelle a été facilitée initialement par Conservation de la nature Canada et par des clubs de naturalistes locaux. Les populations de hérons et de balbuzards pêcheurs font l’objet d’une surveillance afin de déterminer leur écologie de nidification optimale et la dynamique de leurs populations.

Importance patrimoniale

Cette île abrite 50 espèces d’oiseaux nicheurs, et en particulier une colonie de grands hérons et des sites de nidification des balbuzards pêcheurs. L’île est plantée d’essences tels que le tilleul, le frêne noir, le bouleau blanc, le cèdre blanc, le chêne à gros fruits et l’érable argenté, et les fourrés de sumacs vénéneux, d’érables de Pennsylvanie, de cerisiers de Virginie et d’ifs du Canada y sont particulièrement répandus.

L’histoire géologique singulière des îles Manitou remonte à la période du Cambrien inférieur, il y a 2,5 milliards d’années, lors de la formation de la majeure partie du substrat rocheux du lac Nipissing. La roche calcaire de fond qui compose l’île date d’environ 565 millions d’années. Les périodes glaciaires se sont succédées dans la région il y a entre 9 000 et 45 000 ans, en creusant et en refaçonnant la surface de l’île Great Manitou.

Des recherches archéologiques menées en 1984 ont mis en évidence deux sites, un petit site laurellien oriental du Sylvicole Moyen (vers 200 avant J.-C. à 400 apr. J.-C.) et un autre site du Sylvicole Moyen (vers 600 à 800 apr. J.-C.). Les deux sites contribuent à éclairer nos connaissances sur l’histoire culturelle de l’Ontario. Des documents historiques indiquent, par ailleurs, que la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest pourrait avoir utilisé cette île comme refuge sur ses routes commerciales.