Westover - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Westover

The Westover property is located on the west side of Isthmus Bay in the community of Lions Head on the northern Bruce Peninsula. The 7.6-hectare (18-acre) property hosts 300 metres (nearly 1,000 feet) of Bruce Trail main trail, which passes through a treed talus forest community along a cobble beach shoreline of Georgian Bay and a 950-metre (3,100-foot) Bannisters Hills side trail loop that makes its way up the escarpment through mixed and deciduous forest. This property also features four ancient caves created by ancient sea wave action.

This property was protected in 2008 by the Bruce Trail Conservancy and the Ontario Heritage Trust through the Natural Spaces Land Acquisition and Stewardship Program. This acquisition was part of a long-standing relationship between both organizations aimed at creating a permanent conservation corridor along the Niagara Escarpment.

Heritage value

This property is part of the Lion’s Head Earth Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI) due to its provincially significant geological features. The most significant features on the Westover property are four distinct sea caves created by wave action that extend into the main escarpment bluff among massive blocks of dolostone. The main cave is considered a tourist attraction and is eight metres (26 feet) high, seven metres (22 feet) wide and 14 metres (45 feet) deep, with a prominent natural stone pillar rising along the back wall of the cave.

Westover - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Westover

La propriété de Westover est située du côté ouest de la baie Ishtmus, dans la communauté de Lion’s Head, dans la Northern Bruce Peninsula. La propriété de 7,6 hectares (18 acres) abrite 300 mètres (près de 1 000 pieds) du sentier principal du sentier Bruce, qui traverse un escarpement boisé le long d’une plage de galets de la baie Georgienne, et une boucle de 950 mètres (3 100 pieds) du sentier secondaire Bannisters Hills, qui remonte l’escarpement à travers une forêt mixte et à feuilles caduques. Cette propriété comprend également quatre anciennes grottes créées par l’ancienne action des vagues de la mer.

Cette propriété a été protégée en 2008 par la Bruce Trail Conservancy et la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien par l’intermédiaire du Programme d’acquisition et d’intendance des terres dans le cadre du programme Espaces naturels de la Fiducie. Cette acquisition s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une relation de longue date entre les deux organisations visant à créer un corridor de conservation permanent le long de l’escarpement du Niagara.

Importance patrimoniale

Cette propriété fait partie des zones d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINC) de Lion’s Head (science de la terre) en raison de ses caractéristiques géologiques d’importance provinciale. Les caractéristiques les plus importantes de la propriété de Westover sont quatre grottes marines distinctes créées par l’action des vagues qui s’étendent dans la falaise de l’escarpement principal parmi des blocs massifs de dolomie. La grotte principale est considérée comme une attraction touristique et mesure huit mètres (26 pieds) de hauteur, sept mètres (22 pieds) de largeur et 14 mètres (45 pieds) de profondeur, avec un pilier de pierre naturelle proéminent qui s’élève le long de la paroi arrière de la grotte.