Background - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Background

The province's wetlands, woodlands, grasslands and geological land formations are treasures that enrich our natural heritage. The Trust holds in trust for the people of Ontario a portfolio of more than 160 natural properties. It protects habitat for 60 out of 202 species at risk. Deciduous and mixed forest covers the majority of the natural heritage properties in the Trust’s owned-property portfolio.

Protected land includes the habitats of endangered species, rare Carolinian forests, wetlands, sensitive features of the Oak Ridges Moraine, nature reserves on the Canadian Shield, properties on the spectacular Niagara Escarpment, and land for the Bruce Trail.

The Trust acquires natural properties and conservation easements through donation. We promote innovative ways of protecting natural heritage, encourage good stewardship, help communities with local natural conservation projects, and work with conservation authorities, the Bruce Trail Conservancy, the Niagara Escarpment Commission, Indigenous communities, local land trusts, and government at the municipal and provincial levels.

The Trust protects natural areas and raises public awareness about conservation. In all, we have helped to protect 6,126 hectares (15,050 acres) of wetlands, Carolinian forests and flower-studded tall-grass prairies, rugged wild areas on the Canadian Shield, the spectacular Niagara Escarpment and the sensitive features of the Oak Ridges Moraine.

Historique - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Historique

Les marécages, les forêts, les prairies et les formations géologiques de la province sont autant de trésors qui enrichissent notre patrimoine naturel. La Fiducie détient en fiducie pour la population de l'Ontario un portefeuille de plus de 160 domaines du patrimoine naturel. Elle protège l’habitat de 60 espèces sur les 202 qui sont menacées. Les forêts mixtes et de feuillus recouvrent la majeure partie des biens du patrimoine naturel détenus par la  Fiducie.

Les zones protégées incluent des terres habitées par des espèces menacées d'extinction, des forêts caroliniennes exceptionnelles, des marécages, des parties vulnérables de la moraine d'Oak Ridges, des réserves naturelles sur le Bouclier canadien, des propriétés sur le spectaculaire escarpement du Niagara, et des terres pour le sentier Bruce.

La Fiducie acquiert par donation des biens du patrimoine naturel et des servitudes protectrices. Nous soutenons les initiatives en matière de protection du patrimoine naturel et encourageons sa bonne gestion; nous favorisons les projets communautaires locaux de préservation de la nature et collaborons avec les offices de protection de la nature, la Bruce Trail Conservancy, la Commission de l'escarpement du Niagara, les communautés autochtones, les fiducies foncières locales et les instances gouvernementales, provinciales et municipales.

La Fiducie protège les zones naturelles et sensibilise le public à la conservation. Au total, nous avons contribué à la protection de 6 126 hectares (15  050 acres) de marais, de forêts caroliniennes et de prairies d’herbes hautes parsemées de fleurs, de zones sauvages au terrain accidenté du Bouclier canadien, du spectaculaire escarpement du Niagara et de caractéristiques vulnérables de la moraine d'Oak Ridges.