Archaeology - Frequently asked questions - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Archaeology – Frequently asked questions

What is archaeology?

Archaeology is the scientific study of the human past through investigations of physical remains and material cultural (e.g., artifacts, fragments, features and structures).

What is an archaeological site?

An archaeological site is any property that contains an artifact or any other physical evidence of past human use or activity that is of cultural heritage value or interest (see Ontario Regulation 170/04).

What is an archaeological artifact?

An archaeological artifact is any object, material or substance that is made, modified, used, deposited or affected by human action and is of cultural heritage value or interest (see Ontario Regulation 170/04).

Inge Va Plate
Plate from Inge-Va, Perth

What is archaeological fieldwork?

Archaeological fieldwork is any activity carried out on, above or under land or water for the purpose of obtaining and documenting data, recovering artifacts and remains, or altering an archaeological site. Activities may include monitoring, assessing, exploring, surveying, recovering and excavating (see Ontario Regulation 170/04).

Why is archaeology important?

Archaeology is important in documenting the vast majority of Ontario’s past and in emphasizing the significance of Aboriginal communities in shaping Ontario’s heritage. Archaeology studies human behaviour – it chronicles the evolution of cultures as well as understands their histories. It provides us with information about recent and past cultures that would otherwise be unavailable. Knowledge of the past helps us to know where we come from. In many cases, the only information we have about a people, an event or a past way of life is through the archaeological record because of the absence of a written record. The interpretation of archaeological resources is dependant on the integrity of the immediate context. It is vital that archaeological investigation be undertaken by trained and experienced professionals before a site is disturbed. Archaeological resources are fragile records of the past. Unlicensed alterations through land use activities or site looting can destroy them and are prohibited under Section 48(1) of the Ontario Heritage Act.

What is the role of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport?

Archaeology is mandated under Part VI of the Ontario Heritage Act and the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport is authorized to issue archaeological licenses to undertake archaeological fieldwork as specified under Ontario Heritage Act Section 48(1) and Ontario Regulation 8/06. Under Section 65 of the Ontario Heritage Act, as required by the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, licensees must file project reports. The Ministry reviews the reports to determine whether the report complies with the Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists that are issued by the Minister and that form part of the terms and conditions of the license issued under Part VI of the act. When the report is accepted by the Ministry, the report is entered into the Ontario Public Register of Archaeological Reports.

What are archaeological assessments?

The technical requirements for archaeological fieldwork and Stage 1 to 4 assessment is specified in the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport’s Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists. The purpose of the first three stages is to identify sites, to assess the cultural heritage value or interest of identified archaeological sites, and to recommend the most appropriate strategies for those archaeological sites where mitigation of impacts will be necessary. The stages are outlined as follows:

Stage 1 – Background Study and Property Inspection: A review of the geography, land use and historic information for the project is conducted and often supplemented by a property inspection.

Stage 2 – Property Assessment: A survey of the property that includes strategies employed, depending on the nature of the property (e.g., walking a ploughed field, test-pitting, etc.).

Stage 3 – Site-specific Assessment: Larger excavation units are employed to assist in determining the spatial extent of an identified archaeological site. The development of strategies to mitigate development impacts are also addressed during this stage.

Stage 4 – Mitigation of Development Impacts: A determination of implementing long-term protection strategies for archaeological sites is included in this stage. If preservation of the archaeological site is not viable, thorough archaeological excavation is conducted to document the site and remove artifacts prior to construction.

Offset awl from Thomson-Walker property, near Medonte
Offset awl from Thomson-Walker property, near Medonte

Who can request an archaeological assessment in Ontario?

An owner could request an archaeological assessment for a particular property. No assessment can be undertaken on a property without the consent of an owner. An approval authority may ask for an archaeological assessment as a condition of a Planning Act, Cemeteries Act (Revised), Aggregate Resource Act, Environmental Assessment Act or Ontario Heritage Act application – or any other form of site alteration that might otherwise impact a known archaeological site or an area of recognized archaeological potential.

Who approves archaeological assessments in Ontario?

The approval authority who requests the assessment is the approving body, but because archaeology is licensed by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, all archaeological reports are submitted to the Ministry for license review and, where applicable, development review. The Ministry issues letters of acceptance for reports that meet the Ministry’s Standards and Guidelines for Consultant Archaeologists.

What is the difference between research archaeology and development mitigation archaeology?

Research archaeology is solely undertaken to achieve a research objective. Development mitigation archaeology – often called consulting archaeology versus academic-based research archaeology – is undertaken as a condition of a site alteration or development proposal.

Where can I find a licensed archaeologist?

The following organizations may be of assistance in finding a licensed archaeologist:

What is a registered archaeological site?

A registered archaeological site is an archaeological site that has been issued a Borden number and entered into the database of archaeological sites maintained by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport.

What is a Borden number?

A Borden number is a unique alpha-numeric identifier for each registered archaeological site discovered in Canada. It was created by Charles E. Borden (1905-1978) in the early 1950s at the University of British Columbia. It is based on the geospatial grid that applies to all of Canada. Borden numbers for Ontario are issued by the Ministry of Tourism Culture and Sport.

For example: AjGu-41

The first four alphabetical characters (formatted as uppercase, lowercase, uppercase, lowercase) reference the specific geographical grid (each square is approximately 16 km / 8.7 miles by 16 km / 8.7 miles area) in which the site is located. The number following the hyphen is the order in which the site was discovered in that grid. All registered archaeological sites have Borden numbers and common site names. For instance, for the Borden number AjGu-41 this is the forty-first archaeological site found and registered in the grid area known as AjGu; the site is known as the Parliament site.

What is archaeological potential?

Based on the land-use history of a property or its physical characteristics, it is possible to determine if certain lands are likely to possess significant archaeological resources, even if there is no known or registered archaeological site on that property.

Where can I get more information on the archaeology of my community?

Many organizations can provide you with this information, including your local Municipal Heritage Committee, local museums, the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport, the Ontario Archaeological Society and the Ontario Heritage Trust.

Where can I go to school for archaeology?

There are many universities in Ontario that have programs related to archaeology: the University of Toronto, the University of Windsor, the University of Western Ontario, McMaster University, Trent University, Wilfrid Laurier University, Lakehead University and Laurentian University.

Who do I contact if I want to volunteer on an archaeological site?

Contact the Ontario Archaeological Society for information regarding other programs across the province.

Macdonell Archaeological Dig
Archaeological dig at Macdonell-Williamson House, Chute-à-Blondeau

Archéologie – Foire aux questions​ - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Archéologie – Foire aux questions

Qu’est-ce que l’archéologie?

L’archéologie est l’étude scientifique du passé humain fondée sur la recherche de vestiges physiques et du patrimoine culturel matériel (p. ex. artefacts, fragments, éléments et structures).

Qu’est-ce qu’un site archéologique?

Un site archéologique est un bien où se trouvent des artefacts ou d’autres preuves tangibles d’un usage humain passé ou d’une activité humaine passée qui ont une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel (voir Règlement de l’Ontario 170/04).

Qu’est-ce qu’un artefact archéologique?

Un artefact archéologique est un objet, un matériau ou une substance façonné(e), modifié(e), utilisé(e), déposé(e) ou transformé(e) par l’action humaine et ayant une valeur ou un caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel (voir Règlement de l’Ontario 170/04).

Assiette de Inge-Va (Perth)
Assiette de Inge-Va (Perth)

Que sont les travaux archéologiques sur le terrain?

Les travaux archéologiques sur le terrain désignent une activité exercée à la surface, audessous ou au-dessus du sol ou de l’eau en vue d’obtenir et de documenter des données, de récupérer des artefacts et des vestiges ou de modifier un site archéologique, y compris la surveillance, l’évaluation, l’exploration, l’arpentage, la récupération et les fouilles (voir Règlement de l’Ontario 170/04).

Pourquoi l’archéologie est-elle importante?

L’archéologie est importante pour documenter la majeure partie du passé de l’Ontario et souligner l’empreinte des communautés autochtones dans la construction du patrimoine ontarien. L’archéologie s’intéresse au comportement humain en retraçant l’évolution des cultures tout en cernant leur histoire. Elle fournit des renseignements sur les cultures récentes et passées, qui nous seraient sans cela inaccessibles. La connaissance du passé nous aide à savoir d’où nous venons. Bien souvent, tout ce que nous savons d’un peuple, d’un événement ou d’un mode de vie passé provient des archives archéologiques, du fait de l’absence de traces écrites.

L’interprétation des ressources archéologiques dépend de l’intégrité de l’environnement immédiat. Il est crucial que les fouilles archéologiques soient menées par des professionnels formés et expérimentés avant que le site ne soit dégradé. Les ressources archéologiques constituent des vestiges fragiles du passé. Les transformations d’un site sans licence à des fins d’aménagement du territoire, ou le pillage d’un site, peuvent entraîner la destruction de ces vestiges, et sont interdit en vertu du paragraphe 48(1) de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario.

Quel est le rôle du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture?

Les activités archéologiques sont mandatées aux termes de la partie VI de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario, et le ministre des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture est autorisé à délivrer des licences archéologiques pour effectuer des travaux archéologiques sur le terrain conformément au paragraphe 48(1) de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario et au Règlement de l’Ontario 8/06. En vertu de l’article 65 de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario, les titulaires d’une licence doivent déposer des rapports sur leurs projets, à la demande du ministre des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture. Le ministère examine les rapports pour évaluer leur conformité aux Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils publiées par le ministère, qui font partie des conditions de la licence délivrée aux termes de la partie VI de la loi. Quand le rapport est accepté par le ministère, il est consigné au Registre public ontarien des rapports sur les sites archéologiques.

Qu’est-ce qu’une évaluation archéologique?

Les exigences techniques relatives aux travaux archéologiques sur le terrain et les quatre stades de l’évaluation sont précisés dans les Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture. Le but des trois premiers stades est de repérer les sites archéologiques, d’évaluer leur valeur ou leur caractère sur le plan du patrimoine culturel et de recommander les stratégies qui conviennent le mieux pour les sites archéologiques nécessitant des mesures d’atténuation des effets de l’aménagement. L’évaluation se déroule de la manière suivante :

Stade 1 – Étude préliminaire et inspection du bien : Examen de l’information sur les aspects géographiques, historiques et de l’utilisation du sol se rapportant au projet, souvent accompagné d’une inspection du bien.

Stade 2 – Évaluation du bien : Prospection du bien, en précisant les strategies mises en oeuvre en fonction de sa nature (p. ex. parcourir un terrain labouré, effectuer des sondages, etc.).

Stade 3 – Évaluation spécifique des sites : Excavation d’unités de fouille plus importantes afin de déterminer l’étendue spatiale du site archéologique repéré. C’est aussi à ce stade que sont formulées les stratégies d’atténuation des effets de l’aménagement.

Stade 4 – Atténuation des effets de l’aménagement : Détermination de la mise en oeuvre des stratégies de protection à long terme des sites archéologiques. Si la préservation du site archéologique n’est pas une solution viable, des fouilles archéologiques exhaustives sont effectuées pour établir un dossier sur le site et en retirer les artefacts avant le début des travaux de construction.

Alène coudée du propriété Thomson-Walker (près de Medonte)
Alène coudée du propriété Thomson-Walker (près de Medonte)

Qui peut faire une demande d’évaluation archéologique en Ontario?

Tout propriétaire est habilité à formuler une demande d’évaluation archéologique d’un bien donné. Aucun bien ne sera évalué sans le consentement d’un propriétaire. Une autorité approbatrice peut demander une évaluation archéologique conformément aux conditions d’application de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire, de la Loi sur les cimetières (révisée), de la Loi sur les ressources en agrégats, de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale ou de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario, ou en vertu d’un autre type de transformation susceptible d’avoir des incidences sur un site archéologique connu ou sur une zone dont le potential archéologique est reconnu.

Qui approuve les évaluations archéologiques en Ontario?

Une évaluation est approuvée par l’autorité approbatrice qui en a fait la demande, mais dans la mesure où les activités archéologiques requièrent une licence du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture, l’ensemble des rapports archéologiques est soumis au ministère à des fins d’examen de la licence et, le cas échéant, d’un examen du projet. Le ministère délivre des lettres d’approbation pour les rapports conformes à ses Normes et directives à l’intention des archéologues-conseils.

Quelle est la différence entre la recherché archéologique et les activités archéologiques d’atténuation des effets de l’aménagement?

La recherche archéologique sert uniquement à satisfaire un objectif de recherche scientifique. Les activités archéologiques d’atténuation des effets de l’aménagement, dévolues à ce qu’on appelle souvent des archéologues-conseils par opposition aux chercheurs, sont conditionnelles à tout projet de transformation ou d’aménagement d’un site.

Où trouver des archéologues titulaires d’une licence?

Les organismes suivants sont susceptibles de vous aider à trouver des archéologues professionnels :

Qu’est-ce qu’un site archéologique enregistré?

Un site archéologique enregistré est un site inscrit dans la base de données des sites archéologiques gérée par le ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture. Il est désigné par un numéro Borden.

Qu’est-ce qu’un numéro Borden?

Un numéro Borden est un identificateur alphanumérique unique assigné à chaque site archéologique enregistré découvert au Canada. Ce numéro a été créé par Charles E. Borden (1905 – 1978) au début des années 1950 à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Il repose sur un quadrillage géospatial qui couvre l’ensemble du Canada. Les numéros Borden correspondant à l’Ontario sont délivrés par le ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture.

Exemple : AjGu-41

Les quatre premières lettres (formats bas de casse, haut de casse, bas de casse, haut de casse) font référence à la case spécifique du quadrillage géographique (chaque case fait environ 16 km/8.7 milles sur 16 km/8.7 milles) sur laquelle se trouve le site. Le nombre après le trait d’union représente l’ordre de découverte des sites dans le quadrillage. Tous les sites archéologiques enregistrés portent un numéro Borden et un nom courant. Par exemple, le numéro Borden AjGu-41 correspond au 41e site archéologique trouvé et inscrit au registre dans la zone du quadrillage identifiée comme AjGu; ce site est connu sous le nom de « Parliament site » (site du Parlement).

Qu’est-ce que le potentiel archéologique?

En s’appuyant sur l’histoire de l’utilisation du sol d’un bien ou sur ses caractéristiques physiques, on peut déterminer la probabilité qu’un territoire donné renferme d’importantes ressources archéologiques, même si aucun site archéologique n’est connu ou enregistré à cet endroit.

Où puis-je obtenir des renseignements sur l’archéologie dans ma collectivité?

De nombreuses organisations peuvent vous donner ces renseignements, notamment votre comité municipal du patrimoine, les musées locaux, le ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture, la Société ontarienne d’archéologie et la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien.

Où puis-je étudier l’archéologie?

L’Ontario compte beaucoup d’universités qui proposent des programmes liés à l’archéologie : Université de Toronto, Université de Windsor, Université Western Ontario, Université McMaster, Université Trent, Université Wilfrid Laurier, Université Lakehead et Université Laurentienne.

Avec qui communiquer pour être bénévole sur un site archéologique?

Vous pouvez communiquer avec la Société ontarienne d’archéologie pour obtenir des renseignements sur les autres programmes organisés dans la province.

Fouille archéologique à la maison Macdonell-Williamson (Chute-à-Blondeau)
Fouille archéologique à la maison Macdonell-Williamson (Chute-à-Blondeau)