Guidelines for signs on cultural heritage easement properties - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Guidelines for signs on cultural heritage easement properties

Signs have always played a key role on commercial streets and on public and private buildings. Historically, most signs were customdesigned to match the architecture and style of a building, and sometimes were fully incorporated into the decoration. Sign makers used a limited range of materials, applying known and respected patterns and methods. Signs – using scale, media, illumination technology and intensity – were carefully incorporated into the architecture or became part of the building’s design from the beginning, as opposed to being an afterthought. The result was a visually coordinated and effective form of communication and branding that enhanced, rather than detracted from, the architectural context. Where possible, these principles should be used when contemplating new signs on heritage properties.

The following are guidelines for introducing new exterior commercial-style signs on heritage properties:

1. Signs should not overwhelm the other elements on a building’s façade.

2. Signs should be tasteful and as simple as possible.

3. Signs should not obscure heritage features (except, possibly, historical signs).

4. Where documentary evidence exists, the reconstruction of a period sign style formerly found on the property may be an appropriate approach in the design of a new sign.

5. Located above the display window(s) and below the storefront’s cornice, storefront signs should harmonize with the rest of the façade, and should only span one storefront.

6. Where the architectural style or building type is not designed for signs, a pedestal or other form of stand-alone sign is preferable to fastening a new sign to the building.

7. When fastening a sign to a building, it is a best practice to use stainless steel hardware to connect to heritage fabric (i.e., the historical building envelop or structure). Where possible, on masonry buildings, mortar joints should be used if these are wide enough to accommodate the fasteners.

8. Signs should be compatible with their heritage context in both size and scale. For example, on a typical commercial city street in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the characters in a sign band were often limited to 12 to 15 inches (approximately 30 to 38 cm) in height. On typical commercial heritage properties, signs should be limited to the sign band area of the building’s façade.

9. A projecting sign, such as a banner, should be limited to 6 inches to 1 foot (approximately 15 to 30 cm) from the face of the building. Where a pedestal sign is used, a person of average height should be able to reach the top of the sign (to a maximum height of 6 foot 6 inches, or 1.98 m). The average height of the text band should be around eye level, thus ensuring optimum human scale.

Peel County Courthouse, Brampton
Peel County Courthouse, Brampton

10 Signs should be compatible with their heritage context in choice of materials. For example, one should avoid fabricating a sign from materials that are not already present on the building or landscape. Materials consistent with the era of the building, and which are not present, may be appropriate.

11. Signs should be compatible with their heritage context in style. For example, a sign might take motifs or imagery present in the architecture and incorporate it into a new sign.

12. Signs should be compatible with their heritage context in colour. Generally, historical buildings have colour schemes that are carefully composed. Body, accent and harmonizing colours were specifically selected from a particular palette to complement one another and to enhance the interpretation of the architecture. The colours selected for a sign should relate to those already present on the building in palette, warmth and saturation. Modern colour intensities/saturations and finishes may not be appropriate for some heritage buildings.

13. Signs should be compatible with their heritage context in their illumination. Lighting for signs should be coordinated with the lighting of the property and building itself in order to create a balanced composition and a balanced nighttime interpretation of the historical property.

14. Most signs (especially on buildings built prior to 1925) should be illuminated from an external source, such as a ground-mounted spotlight, gooseneck light or floodlight.

15. Individual letters applied to, or painted on, the face of the signboard are, as a rule, more attractive and consequently preferable than sign boxes (i.e., fluorescent backlighting).

16. Unless the building dates from the second half of the 20th century, modern animated or other digital media signs should be avoided as they detract from the heritage character of the place.

17. Although the choice of lettering should reflect the business’s image, it should also reflect the overall design and historical period of the storefront.

18. Where a historical sign exists and is part of the architecture, it should be preserved. It might be overlaid by a new sign, but it should not be removed from the building if it has heritage value.

19. Way-finding and other smaller-scaled signs should also be designed for the heritage context as outlined above. It is generally preferable for these signs not to be affixed to the heritage buildings, but to be free standing.

20. For large sites – or collections of buildings that are part of a shared campus or site – it is preferable to develop an overall sign plan to ensure consistency in approach and to facilitate heritage approvals.

21. Sign approval should always be coordinated with municipal heritage designation bylaws and sign bylaws.

59-63 King Street West, Hamilton
59-63 King Street West, Hamilton

Lignes directrices relatives à l’installation d’enseignes sur les biens protégés par une servitude protectrice du patrimoine culturel - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Lignes directrices relatives à l’installation d’enseignes sur les biens protégés par une servitude protectrice du patrimoine culturel

Depuis toujours, les enseignes jouent un role important dans les rues commerçantes, qu’elles soient installées sur des bâtiments publics ou privés. Auparavant, la plupart des enseignes étaient spécialement conçues pour s’adapter à l’architecture et au style d’un édifice. Dans certains cas, elles faisaient même partie intégrante de l’ornementation. Les fabricants d’enseignes utilisaient un éventail restreint de matériaux et employaient des formes et des méthodes connues et éprouvées. La taille, le support, la technologie d’éclairage et l’intensité lumineuse des enseignes étaient soigneusement pensés pour s’intégrer à l’architecture ou prévus dès la conception du bâtiment, et non après coup. On obtenait ainsi une forme de communication et de valorisation de la marque efficace et harmonieuse sur le plan visuel, qui rehaussait le cadre architectural au lieu de le ternir. Dans la mesure du possible, ces principes doivent être mis en pratique lorsque l’installation de nouvelles enseignes est envisagée sur des édifices patrimoniaux.

Les lignes directrices suivantes s’appliquent à l’installation de nouvelles enseignes commerciales extérieures sur des édifices patrimoniaux :

1. Les enseignes ne doivent pas être démesurées par rapport aux autres éléments en façade.

2. Les enseignes doivent être de bon goût et aussi simples que possible.

3. Les enseignes ne doivent pas masquer des caractéristiques patrimoniales (à l’exception, éventuellement, d’enseignes historiques).

4. Lorsque des preuves documentaires existent, la reproduction du style des enseignes d’époque retrouvées sur la propriété peut s’avérer une demarche adaptée pour la conception d’une nouvelle enseigne.

5. Situées entre la vitrine et la corniche de la devanture, les enseignes de magasin doivent s’intégrer harmonieusement à la façade et couvrir la longueur d’une seule vitrine.

6. Lorsque l’intégration d’une enseigne ne convient pas au style architectural ou au type d’édifice, il est préférable d’installer une enseigne autonome (sur pilier, par exemple) au lieu d’apposer une nouvelle enseigne sur l’édifice.

7. Si une enseigne doit être fixée à un édifice, la pratique exemplaire consiste à utiliser du matériel en acier inoxydable pour realiser la jonction avec les matériaux de l’édifice historique (enveloppe ou structure). Dans la mesure du possible, sur les ouvrages de maçonnerie, il convient d’appliquer des joints de mortier si leur largeur est suffisante pour l’insertion des fixations.

8. La taille et l’échelle des enseignes doivent être en accord avec le cadre patrimonial. Par exemple, dans les rues commerçantes typiques d’une ville à la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle, il était frequent que la hauteur des caractères d’une enseigne soit limitée à 12-15 pouces (30-38 cm environ). Sur les édifices patrimoniaux typiques accueillant des commerces, les enseignes ne doivent pas dépasser du bandeau prévu à cet effet sur la façade.

9. Une enseigne projective, telle qu’une bannière, doit dépasser de 6 pouces à 1 pied maximum (15 à 30 cm environ) par rapport à la façade de l’édifice. Dans le cas d’une enseigne autonome, une personne de taille moyenne doit être capable de toucher son sommet (ce dernier doit donc se situer à une hauteur maximale de 6 pieds 6 pouces, soit 1,98 m). En moyenne, le texte doit se situer à hauteur d’yeux, assurant ainsi un ordre de grandeur optimal à l’échelle individuelle.

Palais de justice du comté de Peel (Brampton)
Palais de justice du comté de Peel (Brampton)

10. Les matériaux des enseignes doivent être en accord avec le cadre patrimonial. Par exemple, il convient d’éviter l’emploi de matériaux absents de l’édifice ou du cadre environnant pour la fabrication d’une enseigne. Le recours à des matériaux en accord avec l’époque de l’édifice peut s’avérer adapté, même si ces derniers ne sont pas présents.

11. Le style des enseignes doit être en accord avec le cadre patrimonial. Par exemple, une nouvelle enseigne peut reproduire et intégrer des motifs ou des thèmes choisis presents dans l’architecture.

12. La couleur des enseignes doit être en accord avec le cadre patrimonial. En règle générale, l’arrangement de couleurs des édifices historiques est pensé avec minutie. Les coloris de l’enveloppe, du réchampissage et de la palette coordonnée ont été choisis avec soin pour mettre en valeur l’interprétation de l’architecture. L’enseigne doit être en accord avec la palette, la chaleur et la saturation des couleurs d’origine de l’édifice. Les intensités/saturations de couleur ainsi que les finitions modernes peuvent ne pas convenir à certains édifices patrimoniaux.

13. L’éclairage des enseignes doit être en accord avec le cadre patrimonial. Il doit être coordonné avec l’éclairage de la propriété et de l’édifice lui-même, afin de créer une composition harmonieuse et un équilibre dans l’interprétation nocturne de l’édifice historique.

14. La plupart des enseignes (en particulier celles apposées sur des bâtiments datant d’avant 1925) doivent être éclairées par une source lumineuse extérieure, telle qu’un projecteur au sol, un projecteur à bras articulé ou un réflecteur.

15. En principe, les lettres posées en applique ou peintes sur le panneau de l’enseigne ont un effet plus plaisant que les caissons lumineux (à rétroéclairage fluorescent) et sont donc préférables.

16. À moins que l’édifice date de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, il convient d’éviter les enseignes modernes animées ou à support numérique, car elles nuisent au caractère patrimonial du lieu.

17. Le choix des caractères utilisés doit refléter l’image de marque de l’établissement, mais aussi le style général et la période historique de la devanture.

18. Toute enseigne historique intégrée à l’architecture doit être préservée. Une nouvelle enseigne peut la recouvrir, mais l’ancienne ne doit pas être retirée de l’édifice si elle revêt une valeur patrimoniale.

19. La conception des panneaux de direction et autres panonceaux de moindre taille doit également prendre en compte le cadre patrimonial, conformément aux lignes directrices susmentionnées. En règle générale, il convient de ne pas fixer ce type de panneau aux édifices patrimoniaux et de préférer une installation autonome.

20. Pour les sites d’envergure ou les ensembles d’édifices faisant partie d’un même campus ou site, il est préférable de concevoir un plan général afin de garantir l’homogénéité des enseignes et de faciliter l’obtention de permis.

21. Les permis doivent toujours être délivrés en accord avec les règlements municipaux régissant la désignation patrimoniale, d’une part, et les enseignes, d’autre part.

59-63, rue King Ouest (Hamilton)
59-63, rue King Ouest (Hamilton)