How to research a heritage property - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

How to research a heritage property

Getting started

Researching a property can seem like a daunting task, but by exploring the holdings of your local library, archives or museum, you might be able to discover important information.

Gather all of the information before writing a history of the building, making sure to cross-reference all of your sources. While researching, be discriminatory; not all sources are created equal. Make sure to write down the source of information (source, title, page number, microfilm reel number, accession number, etc.).

Address changes

The first thing you need to do is to confirm the street name and address of the property. The current address of the property may not be the same as it was in the past. The best way to see if a street name and/or number has changed is to look at the fire insurance plan. If your municipality has a guide to street names (check with your local librarian or archivist), this guide would also be a good place to start.

5 Blackburn Avenue, Ottawa
5 Blackburn Avenue, Ottawa

Where to look

Fire insurance plans: Fire insurance plans provide information about buildings and neighbourhoods. From these plans, which were first created in the late 19th century and continued to be used well into the 20th, you can tell when a building was built or demolished, the kinds of materials it was made of, the position of the building on the lot, and the lot size, shape and number.

Assessment rolls: These records were created for property tax collection and can contain the following information: the name, occupation, salary and religion of the “head of household” (usually men, but sometimes widowed or single women), as well as the description, ownership and assessed value of the property. Look for increases in individual property value from year to year. This change can indicate a new building or addition (but if taxes are higher across the board, it probably means that there was a widespread tax increase).

Municipal directories: These directories give the name and occupation of the “head of household” at a particular address. In most directories, street names and family surnames are listed in separate  sections in alphabetical order (older directories may only have either addresses or surnames, not both). Directories may also have a list of businesses by type. Look for information that indicates when the building first appeared in the directory. Then work forward to compile a list of owners and/or tenants.

Building permits: Building permits can provide information about the owner of a property, building materials, architect, use and costs. It is easier to find a permit by the owner’s name rather than the property’s street name.

Aerial photographs: By viewing the property from above, you can see how the neighbourhood has changed over the years. These photographs also show if rivers and streams have been buried or green space has been built over.

Council proceedings: Municipalities are responsible for maintaining public services (e.g., sidewalks, water mains, sewers, etc.). Council proceedings can indicate the services that were available and reveal clues about what was important to citizens at the time. Proceedings may also provide information about neighbourhood events and issues.

Maps and atlases: Early atlases often provide the landowner’s name, the layout of the lot, the lot itself, concession and other information.

Photographs: A local museum or archives may have a photograph, historic postcard, historic artist’s rendering or other image of the property. Also check at the Archives of Ontario and Library and Archives Canada for images. There may not be an index available for these kinds of images. Consult with the librarian or archivist to determine the best way to look for images of the building.

Newspapers/Periodicals: Check these for articles about the property and/or the neighbourhood. Important events, fires or even crimes can provide helpful clues about the property’s history.

Regional/County land registry: One of the ultimate sources of information on a property is the regional land registry that keeps records on all of the legal instruments for each property, as well as the ownership or title records going back to the date when the property was first defined and granted. Clearing title, as this process is called, is sometimes a difficult and time-consuming task, but it may yield important information about the history of ownership and other capital activities that would otherwise be difficult to obtain or understand.

Sharon Temple, c. 1861, East Gwillimbury
Sharon Temple, c. 1861, East Gwillimbury

Comment faire des recherches sur un bien patrimonial? - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Comment faire des recherches sur un bien patrimonial?

Comment démarrer?

Effectuer des recherches sur un bien peut paraître insurmontable, mais en examinant les collections de la bibliothèque, des archives ou du musée proches de chez vous, vous découvrirez peut-être des renseignements importants.

Rassemblez toutes ces données avant de rédiger l’histoire d’un bâtiment, en prenant soin de croiser les renseignements fournis par toutes vos sources. Faites des choix au cours de vos recherches, car toutes les sources publiées ne se valent pas. Assurez-vous de référencer vos données (source, titre, numéro de page, numéro de bobine de microfilm, numéro d’entrée, etc.).

Changements d’adresse

La première chose à faire est de confirmer le nom de la rue et l’adresse du bien. L’adresse actuelle de la propriété peut ne pas correspondre à l’ancienne. La meilleure façon de vérifier si un nom de rue et/ou un numéro a changé est de consulter le plan d’assurance-incendie. Si votre municipalité dispose d’un guide des noms de rue (demandez à votre bibliothécaire ou archiviste local), celui-ci peut également vous permettre de démarrer dans de bonnes conditions.

5, avenue Blackburn (Ottawa)
5, avenue Blackburn (Ottawa)

Où chercher?

Plans d’assurance-incendie : Les plans d’assurance-incendie fournissent des renseignements sur les bâtiments et sur les quartiers. Créés à la fin du XIXe siècle et toujours en usage une bonne partie du XXe siècle, ces plans peuvent vous apprendre quand un édifice a été construit ou démoli, les matériaux de construction utilisés, l’emplacement du bâtiment dans le terrain, ainsi que les dimensions, la forme et le numéro de la parcelle.

Cadastres : Ces archives créées pour collecter l’impôt foncier peuvent contenir les données suivantes : nom, métier, salaire et religion du « chef de ménage » (généralement des hommes, mais parfois des femmes non mariées ou des veuves), ainsi que la description, le(s) propriétaire(s) et la valeur estimée du bien. Regardez si la valeur des biens individuels s’apprécie au fil des ans : cela peut traduire la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment ou un agrandissement; néanmoins si l’impôt augmente pour tous les biens répertoriés, il s’agit probablement d’une hausse généralisée.

Répertoires municipaux : Ces répertoires précisent le nom et le métier du « chef de ménage » d’une adresse donnée. Dans la majorité d’entre eux, les noms de rue et les noms de famille sont répertoriés par ordre alphabétique dans des sections séparées (les anciens répertoires ne comportent parfois que les adresses ou que les noms de famille, et non les deux). Les répertoires peuvent également dresser la liste des activités triées par secteur. La donnée qui vous intéresse est la date d’apparition du bâtiment dans le répertoire. À partir de là, établissez la liste des propriétaires et/ou des locataires.

Permis de construire : Les permis de construire peuvent fournir des renseignements sur le propriétaire, les matériaux de construction, l’architecte, l’usage et le coût du bâtiment. Il est plusfacile de retrouver un permis à partir du nom du propriétaire qu’à partir du nom de la rue où le bien se situe.

Photographies aériennes : En observant le bien depuis le ciel, vous pouvez suivre la mutation du quartier au fil des ans. Ces photographies montrent en outre si des rivières ou des fleuves ont été comblés, ou si des espaces verts ont été urbanisés.

Comptes rendus du conseil : Les municipalités sont responsables de l’entretien des services publics (p. ex. trottoirs, conduites principales d’eau, égouts, etc.). Les comptes rendus du conseil peuvent ainsi indiquer quels services étaient alors disponibles et révéler ce qui importait aux yeux des citoyens de l’époque. En outre, les comptes rendus contiennent parfois de l’information sur les événements et problèmes du quartier.

Cartes et atlas : Les premiers atlas indiquent souvent le nom du propriétaire du terrain, la configuration de la parcelle, la parcelle elle-même, la concession et d’autres renseignements.

Photographies : Au musée ou dans les archives locales, vous dénicherez peut-être une photographie, une carte postale ancienne, une représentation artistique historique ou d’autres images du bien. Pensez également aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario et à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada pour trouver des images. Un index est parfois disponible pour rechercher ce type de document. Communiquez avec les bibliothécaires ou archivistes pour déterminer la meilleure manière de trouver des images du bâtiment.

Journaux et périodiques : Recherchez-y des articles sur le bien et/ou le quartier. Les événements importants, les incendies ou même les crimes sont susceptibles de fournir des indices utiles sur l’histoire de l’édifice.

Bureau d’enregistrement du comté ou de la région : L’une des dernières sources d’information sur un bien est le bureau d’enregistrement de la région, qui tient un registre de tous les instruments juridiques attachés à chaque bien, ainsi que des propriétaires et des acquisitions de titre par acte d’archives, à compter de la date à laquelle la propriété a été définie pour la première fois et octroyée. La détermination des titres de propriété est un processus parfois long et difficile, mais susceptible de fournir des renseignements importants sur l’historique de la propriété du bien et sur d’autres activités liées aux immobilisations qui seraient complexes à obtenir ou à comprendre sans cela.

Sharon Temple, v. 1861 (Gwillimbury Est)
Sharon Temple, v. 1861 (Gwillimbury Est)