Establishment of Free Rural Mail Delivery, The

It was largely through the efforts of George Wilcox and Joseph Armstrong, residents of South Norwich Township, that the Laurier government, anxious to retain the farm vote, established a system of free rural mail delivery in September 1908.


In front of Springford Hall, County Road 19, Springford

Region: Southwestern Ontario

County/District: County of Oxford

Municipality: Township of Norwich