Founding of Cornwall, The

During the 1780s, disbanded loyalist soldiers and their families began to settle at the site of Cornwall, then called New Johnstown. The construction of the Cornwall Canal between 1834 and 1842 accelerated the community's development into an industrial centre.


In Lamoureux Park, at the foot of Augustus Street, Cornwall

Region: Eastern Ontario

County/District: United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry

Municipality: City of Cornwall